Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citation Style (7th edition)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary definition (print, no author)  (Sec. 9.12 APA Publication Manual, p. 289)

  • If the author element is missing leave it out and use Title. (Date). Source as order of elements. Title in this case is the dictionary entry (Table 9.1, p.284, APA Publication Manual 7th ed.)
Format

Title of definition. (date). In A. A. Editor (Ed.), Title of reference work (Edition). Publisher.

Reference Example

Quality function deployment (2014). In The lean healthcare dictionary: An illustrated guide to using the language of lean management in healthcare. Routledge.

In-text Example

("Quality function deployment," 2014)

____________________________________________________________________________________

Dictionary definition (print with author) (Sec. 10.3 #47, #48 APA Publication Manual, pp 326-329)

Format

Author, A.A. (date). Title of definition. In Title of book: Subtitle information (edition). Publisher.

Reference
Example

De Wolf, G. T. (1997). Evidence. In Gage Canadian dictionary (Rev. and expanded.). Gage Educational.

In-text
Example

(De Wolf, 2005)

____________________________________________________________________________________

Dictionary definition (group author same as the publisher) (Sec. 10.3 #47, APA Publication Manual, pp 326-329)

  • When the group author is also the publisher, it is not necessary to indicate the publisher separately. 
Format

Author, A.A. (date). Title of definition. In Title of book: Subtitle information (edition)

Reference
Example

Merriam-Webster. (2004). Aspirational. In The Merriam-Webster dictionary (11th ed.).

In-text
Example

(Merriam-Webster, 2004)

____________________________________________________________________________________

Dictionary definition (electronic with author, no date or continuously updated) (Sec. 10.3 #47, #48 APA Publication Manual, pp 326-329)

  • When an online reference work is continuously updated and not archived use "n.d" and include retrieval date (10.3 #47, also see 9.16 for retrieval dates).
Format

Author, A.A. (date). Title of definition. In A.A. Editor (Ed.), Title of resource (edition). Retrieved date from URL.

Reference Example

Cambridge University Press. (n.d.). Upcycling. In Cambridge dictionary. Retrieved April 8, 2020 from https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/upcycling

In-text Example

(Cambridge University Press, n.d.)

____________________________________________________________________________________

Encyclopedia entry (print with author) (Sec. 10.3 #48 APA Publication Manual, p. 328)

Format

Author, A.A. (date). Title of entry. In A.A. Editor (Ed.), Title of encyclopedia (edition, Volume, pp.). Publisher.

Reference Example

Kerӓnen, L. (2014). Biopreparedness and biosecurity. In T. L. Thompson (Ed.), Encyclopedia of health communication (Vol. 1, pp. 113-116). Sage Reference.

In-text Example

(Kerӓnen, 2014)

____________________________________________________________________________________

Encyclopedia entry (electronic with author) (Sec. 10.3 , #48 APA Publication Manual, p 328)

Format

Author, A.A. (date). Title of entry. In Title of encyclopedia. URL

Reference Example

Moore, C. F. (2006). Noise. In The encyclopedia of human development. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3466300456/GVRL?u=vict10540&sid=GVRL&xid=7e17afe0

In-text Example

(Moore, 2006)

____________________________________________________________________________________

Wikipedia entry (Sec. 10.3 #49 APA Publication Manual, p. 329)

  • Cite the archived version of the page so that readers can retrieve the version you used. Access the archived version on Wikipedia by selecting "View history" tab and then the time and date of the version you used. If a wiki does not provide permanent links to archived versions of the page, include the URL for the entry and the retrieval date.
Format

Title of entry. (year, month day). In Wikipedia. URL

Reference Example

Grizzly bear. (2020, April 10). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Grizzly_bear&oldid=950216664

In-text
Example

("Grizzly Bear," 2020)

____________________________________________________________________________________