Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Troubleshooting library e-resources

Tips for accessing Camosun Library e-resources such as e-journals, e-books, databases, streaming videos on or off campus.

Remote access

The off campus login for library resources is the same as your Camosun domain account login (also used for D2L).

You can reset your Camosun domain password at https://password.camosun.ca.

For other problems accessing library resources off campus, please submit a trouble report.

Library databases

Accessing library databases

Remote access

Camosun Library databases and other digital resources are licensed for use by current students and employees. To access library e-resources off campus you will need to log in or authenticate via EZproxy.

Single Search

You can begin searching Camosun's Single Search discovery tool in guest mode, however you will need to log in to access the full text of any articles, ebooks or other licensed content. Click the link on the yellow banner at the top of the screen that says, "Hello, Guest...".

Databases A-Z

Access library databases from the customized links on our Databases A-Z page. If you are on campus, you should be connected automatically. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in via EZproxy.

On campus

When you are logged in to the Camosun network on campus you should be able to connect to library databases without signing in.

Troubleshooting

If you do not see the EZproxy login screen or receive an error message when you try to log in, please contact the library. Provide as much detail as possible, including:

  • title or type of resource you are trying to access
  • browser and version
  • error message
  • screenshots

Common EZproxy errors

Common EZproxy errors and possible causes

If you see this... Try this...
Secure Login to Camosun Library page with red banner across the top: "Oops! Something went wrong."
  • enter your password again
    • check for typos
    • use a zero and not the letter o in your C#
  • clear your browser cache and cookies
  • try a different browser
    • If you are using Chrome, try Firefox or Safari
  • disable any browser extensions
    • password managers, form auto-fill
  • use a private or incognito window
    • available for Firefox or Chrome
  • change your Camosun domain password
    • also changes your D2L password
Oops! It looks like you have attempted to view a page that has not been configured for access.

If you are a library patron...

Please contact your library and provide the name of the resource you were trying to access and the Host line below so the library can work with you to correct this error.

Host cbc.ca
  • remove libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url= from the start of the URL and try to access the website directly
    • e.g. http://cbc.ca
  • report the problem to library staff

Camosun VPN

What is a VPN?

A VPN (Virtual Private Network) provides secure access from your computer to Camosun resources, e.g., a computer lab workstation, files, and applications. Using a VPN allows you to access Camosun resources as if you were on campus. 

You do not need to connect to the VPN to access library resources.

Troubleshooting

If you have difficulty accessing library resources while connected to Camosun's VPN, disconnect from the VPN, refresh your browser, clear cookies, and try again. You should be prompted to authenticate via the Camosun secure login (EZproxy) page.

If you continue to experience problems, please submit details using our trouble report form and library staff will follow up.