Troubleshooting library eresources

The Camosun Library proxy URL has changed! 

On Wednesday, December10, 2025 Camosun ITS updated the URL for the library's proxy server. The server name was changed from <libsecure.camosun.bc.ca> to <libsecure.camosun.ca>

The Camosun Library proxy prefix is now:  

https://libsecure.camosun.ca/login?url=

We are in the process of updating all library links affected by this change. If you encounter broken links or security warnings, please let us know! 

Instructors

If you have library permalinks in D2L, reading lists, or other course material, you will need to update them. Links should be tested on and off campus!

Questions?

If you have questions, please reach out to your Subject librarian or email bryang@camosun.ca

Report a broken link using our Trouble report form.

About permalinks

Permalinks (also called persistent links or stable URLs) point to specific articles, journals, ebooks, or search results within library research databases. They allow authorized Camosun users to access licensed resources, even when they are off campus. Permalinks can be used within teaching materials, SharePoint, D2L, email or reference lists.

Basic permalink elements

[Camosun proxy prefix] + [database URL] + [unique resource ID or search string]

Example

https://libsecure.camosun.ca/login?url=https://canadacommons.ca/artifacts/1874020/spotted-owls/2623017/

*Not all databases provide persistent links in the same, or even the correct, format. Be sure to TEST permalinks on and off campus before sharing them!  Please contact the library if you have questions.

Changes to EBSCO permalinks (August 2024)

As of August 14, 2024, browser URLs for articles, ebooks, or searches Single Search - the main search box on the Camosun Library website - and other EBSCO research databases are stable. This means you can easily copy, bookmark, or share browser links. The URL will start with: https://research.ebsco.com/c/vsabqu

https://research.ebsco.com/c/vsabqu

IMPORTANT! this only applies to EBSCO URLs, not those in external sources found through Full Text Finder links or other databases. See our ‘Best practices’ box or ask a librarian for help.

Recommended guidelines for creating permalinks:

• links to articles, ebooks, streaming media or other licensed library resources should always begin with the Camosun Library proxy prefix:
  • https://libsecure.camosun.ca
• create links that bring users as close to the full text as possible.
  • Example: You discover an article while searching Single Search (the library's central search box), but the link to the full article leads you into ScienceDirect. In this case, use the ScienceDirect link.
• the basic structure of a permalink should be:
  • [Camosun proxy prefix] + [database URL] + [unique resource ID or search string]
• avoid hyphenated URLs
  • while these usually work, they may result in errors under certain circumstances
  • Example: https://canadacommons-ca.libsecure.camosun.ca/artifacts/1874020
    • Should be changed to: https://libsecure.camosun.ca/login?url=https://canadacommons.ca/artifacts/1874020
• test all your permalinks on and off campus

A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is a type of permanent link often used to identify articles in online journals. It is generally found at the top of the article itself, or within the citation or abstract. Some of our providers who use DOIs include: SAGE Publications, Oxford Journals Online, ScienceDirect, Springer, Wiley, and more!

If you (or your students) will be accessing the article off campus using a DOI, you will need to add the Camosun Library proxy prefix to the article DOI to allow proper authentication. The resource must also be configured in EZproxy. Contact the Systems Librarian if you have questions about a specific resource.

To create a link using a DOI:

1. Copy the DOI provided for the article into your document.
2. Add https://dx.doi.org/ to the front of the DOI.
3. Add the following string exactly as is (no spaces!) to the front of the URL:

https://libsecure.camosun.ca/login?url=

The completed link should look something like this: 

https://libsecure.camosun.ca/login?url=https://dx.doi.org/10.1177/089431849901200401