Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Troubleshooting library e-resources

Tips for accessing Camosun Library e-resources such as e-journals, e-books, databases, streaming videos on or off campus.

NEW!!

Camosun students and employees can now use their Camosun network account to log in to the library catalogue and place holds, renew items, or create book lists. (This is the same account you use for myCamosun, D2L, and other Camosun services.)

Also, the Place Hold feature has been added to Single Search.

For your convenience, we will continue to offer our Books By Mail service.

Searching the catalogue

Use the library's online public access catalogue (OPAC) to search for books, videos, course reserves and other physical material. You can search the OPAC without logging in.

From the library homepage > Books & media tab > choose Books & DVDs: library catalogue

  • enter an exact title or keywords related to your topic 
    • click Search
  • use the advanced search options to narrow or refine your results

When you find a book you want, write down the Library, Location, and Call number. This will help you locate the book on the shelf.

decorative

 

*Our library catalogue includes links to some ebooks, streaming videos, and government documents. For a complete search of all our digital collections, please use Single Search or Databases A-Z.

Placing a hold

Placing Holds: Overview

If the library book or DVD you want to borrow is checked out or at a different campus, you can place a hold on the item and we will notify you when it becomes available.

This article describes the steps to place a hold either directly from the library catalogue or from Single Search. The catalogue method is more direct, but students may be more familiar with Single Search

NOTE: Holds are not permitted on textbook reserves, headphones, kits, or ebooks.

 

From the library catalogue

The library catalogue is a complete listing of all physical items in the library collection - including books, DVDs, periodicals, course reserves, kits, and equipment.

  1. From the library homepage, select the Books & media tab. Click the link for Books & DVDs

decorative

  1. Enter your keywords and click Search.
  2. When you find a book that interests you, check the Location and Status
    • If it is checked out or at another campus, click the Place hold option.

decorative

  1. Log in to your library account using your Camosun ID and password (the same one you use for D2L, myCamosun and other college services).

    catalogue account login grey box with white space to enter C# and domain password

  2. Confirm the pickup location and notification preferences. 

 Place Hold confirmation screen with pickup location outlined in red; arrow pointing to Submit button

  1. Click Submit. You will be notified by email or text when the item is available.

From Single Search

Single Search includes the library's physical and digital collections. Results will include articles, ebooks, and other types of sources - not just books!

  1. On the library homepage, locate the search box below the large image, in the centre of the page.
  2. Enter your keywords and press Search. If you know the exact title of the book you are looking for, type quotation marks around it.
    • For example: "Gone with the wind"

exact title search "gone with the wind"

  1. Use the filters on the left of the results list to limit to Print books only. 

    check box next to limit to Print books only marked

  2. Check the Location and Status
    • If the book is checked out or at another campus, click the Place hold link. 

NOTE: You may see a Place hold link on some ebooks or documents - look for full text options instead, or contact library staff.

item record with location and status marked; status is checked out; place hold link marked

Continue at Step 4 above - Log in to your library account.

More information

Find more information about library borrowing, including loan periods and renewals, on the library website.

If you have questions about your library account or other services, email library@camosun.ca

My Account

Logging in:

Log in to the library catalogue to place holds, view or renew items you have checked out, or create book lists.

Look for the My Account button in the top right.

Username = C# (case sensitive) or library barcode

Password = use your Camosun domain password.

Forget your password?

Camosun students and employees can use the password management system to reset their domain password.

Community Borrowers should contact the library for assistance resetting their password or logging in to their account.

decorative