Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Troubleshooting library e-resources

Tips for accessing Camosun Library e-resources such as e-journals, e-books, databases, streaming videos on or off campus.

Permalinks in EBSCOhost databases

Linking to an article from an EBSCOhost database such as Single Search or Academic Search Complete?

Look for the permalink tool icon under Tools on the right side of the article.

Do NOT use the session-based URL from the top address bar!

Detailed article record from EBSCO database with permalink highlighted

Learn more about persistent links in EBSCO databases from the EBSCO support center.

About permalinks

About permalinks

Permalinks (also called persistent links or stable URLs) point to specific articles, journals, ebooks, or search results within library research databases. They allow authorized users to access licensed resources on or off campus. Permalinks can be used within teaching materials, SharePoint, D2L, email or reference lists.

Basic permalink structure

[Camosun proxy prefix] + [database URL] + [unique resource ID or search string]

Example

https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=https://canadacommons.ca/artifacts/1874020/spotted-owls/2623017/

*Not all databases provide persistent links in the correct format. Be sure to TEST permalinks on and off campus before sharing them!  Please contact the library if you have questions.