Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Troubleshooting library e-resources

Tips for accessing Camosun Library e-resources such as e-journals, e-books, databases, streaming videos on or off campus.

Remote access

The off campus login for library resources is the same as your Camosun domain account login (also used for D2L).

You can reset your Camosun domain password at https://password.camosun.ca.

For other problems accessing library resources off campus, please submit a trouble report.

Basic troubleshooting

General tips

You may experience difficulties connecting to library resources for any number of reasons, including browser, network, vendor, or password problems.

Here are a few general tips you can try:

  • use a different browser
    • for example, if Chrome shows an error, try Firefox or Safari
  • clear your browser’s cache and cookies
  • update your browser to the latest version
  • check your firewall or security settings
  • disable any browser extensions
    • e.g. password managers, form auto-fill
  • use an incognito window (Chrome or Firefox)
  • reset your Camosun domain password

Contact us

Use our online report form to provide details about the problem you are experiencing.

We will do our best to respond as quickly as possible during regular business hours. Evening and weekend help may also be available through AskAway, the library's online chat service.

Library databases

Accessing library databases

Remote access

Camosun Library databases and other digital resources are licensed for use by current students and employees. To access library e-resources off campus you will need to log in or authenticate via EZproxy.

Single Search

You can begin searching Camosun's Single Search discovery tool in guest mode, however you will need to log in to access the full text of any articles, ebooks or other licensed content. Click the link on the yellow banner at the top of the screen that says, "Hello, Guest...".

Databases A-Z

Access library databases from the customized links on our Databases A-Z page. If you are on campus, you should be connected automatically. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in via EZproxy.

On campus

When you are logged in to the Camosun network on campus you should be able to connect to library databases without signing in.

Troubleshooting

If you do not see the EZproxy login screen or receive an error message when you try to log in, please contact the library. Provide as much detail as possible, including:

  • title or type of resource you are trying to access
  • browser and version
  • error message
  • screenshots

Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z

To expand your search beyond Single Search, or focus your research on a specific subject area, try starting from the library's Databases A-Z page. This is an excellent way to find more Canadian sources! Watch this short video to learn more!

Screenshots

When you select a link to one of Camosun's electronic resources from off campus, you should see this login screen:

Screenshot of secure login to Camosun Library

You can access Camosun's Single Search Discovery Service off campus, but you must log in to view results. For the optimum search experience, we recommend that you log in as soon as you see the yellow "Hello Guest" banner:

Single Search guest login page - offcampus access
 

In your research journey you may run into different types of login screens, such as the MyEBSCOhost login screen below.

This service is NOT connected to your Camosun accounts.

EBSCOhost login screen

 

paywall purchase access