In academic research, selecting the correct database can significantly impact the quality and relevance of your findings. This page explores three primary search tools: Single Search, multidisciplinary databases, and health-specific databases. Single Search allows broad searches across various resources, multidisciplinary databases search a wide range of academic disciplines, and health-specific databases offer specialized content focusing on health-related topics. Understanding the strengths and limitations of each tool helps you choose the most appropriate resource for your research needs.
| Single Search | Multidisciplinary Databases | Health Specific Database | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What is searched |
A few of the databases the library subscribes to and open access content |
Specific journals within that database | Specific journals within that database with a health focus |
| Search Control | Usually limited Peer review Date Source type Subjects |
Limited Peer review Date Source type Subjects |
Extensive Peer review Date Source type Subjects +health specific filters such as study type and demographics (age, gender) |
| Type of sources | Books/eBooks Journals Magazines News Videos |
Varies depending on the database Journal articles Data Streaming video |
Journal articles with a health focus Book reviews with a health focus |
| Information Strengths | Access to the libraries' print and eBook collections Searches most of the library at once Easy to use Allows you to cover a lot of information in a single search |
Multidisciplinary databases have a wide scope of resources Find diverse sources on your topics from various academic disciplines in one place Includes some specialty collections, like videos and specialized reports A good starting place if don't know which subject area your topic may fit. |
Narrower focus than multidisciplinary databases Focused on health sciences topics Subject-specific ways to narrow and refine your search More concise results list that is easier to review |
| When to use | Search a lot of content at once or cover multiple subjects | Focus your research more but cover several subjects at once | Need specialty content or have a focused research topic |
| Drawbacks |
Harder to find specialty materials, like videos or datasets Returns a lot of results, which can be overwhelming and challenging to review Doesn't search everything |
Returns a lot of results, which can be overwhelming and challenging to review
|
It may be difficult to know which database to choose May require that you use more than one database to find everything you need |
| Example Searches | Example | Example | Example |
There will be more information about effectively using the databases in later stops, but the video below shows you how to access the databases from the library home page.
Return to the home page for research tools and take a look at another section, or move on to building the search.
