This page is designed to help you navigate the various types of sources you might encounter in health research.
Understanding the differences between these sources is crucial for conducting thorough and credible research. In the following sections, we will explore the characteristics of scholarly books, non-scholarly books, journal articles, and other publications. We will provide the tools and knowledge to decide which sources to use in your studies.
| Scholarly Books | Non-Scholarly Books | |
|---|---|---|
| Purpose | To share with other scholars the results of primary research & experiments. | To entertain or inform in a broad, general sense. |
| Author | A respected scholar or researcher in the field; an expert in the topic; names are always noted. | A journalist or feature writer; names not always noted. |
| Publisher | A university press; a professional association or known (independent) scholarly publisher. | A commercial publisher. |
| Intended audience | Other scholars or researchers in the field, or those interested in the topic at a research level. | General public. |
| Lanaguage | Language is formal and technical; usually contains discipline-specific jargon. | Language is casual. Few, if any, technical terms are used (and if they are, they are usually defined). |
| References | References are always cited and expected; text often contains footnotes. | Very uncommon; text may contain referrals to "a study published at..." or "researchers have found that..." with no other details. |
| Journal article | Magazine | |
|---|---|---|
| Purpose | Presents original research, findings, or scholarly discussion on a specific topic, contributing new knowledge to a field. | To entertain, inform, or provide news to a broad, general audience. |
| Author | A scholar or researcher; an expert in the topic; names are always noted. | A journalist, writer, or sometimes an expert; names may or may not be noted. |
| Publisher | Academic or professional association, university press. | Commercial publisher. |
| Intended Audience | Scholars, researchers, students in the field, assuming a certain level of prior knowledge. | General public, anyone interested in the topic. |
| Content | Can include an abstract, introduction, methodology, results, discussion, and references | Articles on various topics, often including interviews, opinions, and stories; more general and less technical |
| Length | Typically longer and more detailed, providing comprehensive coverage of the research topic. | Generally shorter, providing quick and accessible information or entertainment. |
| Language | Formal and technical; includes discipline-specific jargon. | Casual and accessible; few, if any, technical terms are used. |
| References | Always contains in-text citations and a bibliography. | Rarely cited formally; may include some informal references to sources or quotes. |
| Depth of Analysis | Provides in-depth analysis and detailed exploration of a specific research question or hypothesis. | Offers general insights, summaries, or opinions without deep analysis. |
| Journal Article | Book Review | |
|---|---|---|
| Purpose | Presents original research, findings, or scholarly discussion on a specific topic, contributing new knowledge to a field. | Evaluates and summarizes a book, providing an overview of its content, strengths, and weaknesses, and informing potential readers about its value. |
| Content | Includes an abstract, introduction, methodology, results, discussion, and references. The content is based on empirical research or detailed analysis. | A Includes a brief summary of the book, critical analysis, and the reviewer's opinion, discussing the book's contribution to its field. |
| Length | Typically longer and more detailed, providing comprehensive coverage of the research topic. | Generally shorter, focused on providing a concise evaluation and summary |
| Intended audience | Primarily scholars, researchers, and students in the field, assuming a certain level of prior knowledge. | General readers, students, and scholars who might be interested in the book's subject matter, making it more accessible and less technical. |
| References | References are always cited and expected; text often contains footnotes. | Very uncommon, other then a refence to the book being reviewed. |
| Depth of Analysis | Provides in-depth analysis and detailed exploration of a specific research question or hypothesis. | Offers an analysis of a single book's themes, arguments, and impact, without the depth of empirical research.. |
Take a look at the other categories and types of sources, or move on to research tools.
