Research guides: IST: Indigenous Studies: Research & citation help

Did you know Indigenous Studies has a liaison librarian? My name is Robbyn Lanning and I am here to help you succeed.

Do you need help getting started with your research?
Are you having trouble finding resources about your topic?
Would you like help navigating Camosun's digital collections?

There are many ways to find research help. Feel free to contact me directly or choose from the options listed below:

AskAway, a chat-based library help service staffed by humans.

Email us your question.

Request a consultation with a Camosun Librarian - either by phone, online or in person.

Research & citation help is available by phone Mon.-Fri., 10am-3pm or by appointment. Call 250-370-3622.

Citing & Writing

APA Citation Guide, 7th edition
APA Citation 7th edition guide from the Camosun Library.
Camosun Library Citation Guides
A great place to get help. Includes links to APA, Chicago, MLA, and IEEE style guides.
Camosun Writing Centre
Access online resources or book an appointment for help with your writing.
Indigenizing Citations at Camosun
- This link opens in a new window
This guide provides a variety of resources for students and instructors interested in indigenizing and decolonizing their written work.

Elements of Indigenous Style: A Guide for Writing by and about Indigenous Peoples by Gregory Younging, 2018
- This link opens in a new window
E-book and in print: PN 147 Y68 2018
Indigenous Writes: A Guide to First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Issues in Canada by Chelsea Vowel, 2016
- This link opens in a new window
E-book and in print: E 78 C2 V67 2016

Indigenous-themed research guides from Camosun Library

Indigenous Knowing
This research guide presents a curated selection of key print and electronic books related to Indigenous Knowledge held at the Camosun Library. Works are organized by discipline and theme (though many are cross- or interdisciplinary) and focus on Indigenous Knowledge from local, national, and international contexts. For instructors seeking to Indigenize their curriculum, these resources represent a starting point for investigating various forms of knowledge from the perspectives of Indigenous Peoples and their colleagues.
Indigenous Studies
The Indigenous Studies guide is curated for IST students, however contains resources appropriate for all. If you are seeking information on Reconciliation, Canadian Residential Schools, or the 60s scoop (and related ongoing practices), visit the Residential Schools and Sixties Scoop pages of this guide.
Orange Shirt Day
September 30th is Orange Shirt Day, and since 2021, has been recognized in Canada as the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation. The Orange Shirt Day guide provides resources related to Phyllis Webstad's (Northern Secwpemc, Stswecem’c Xgat’tem First Nation) personal story of survival from the St. Joseph Mission Residential School in William's Lake, Canada's Indian residential school system, and Truth and Reconciliation in Canada.
Dismantling Racism & Oppression
This guide presents a selection of resources in support of all members of the Camosun community in their work to make actionable change to dismantle racism and work towards anti-oppression and social justice. There is Indigenous content on all of the pages, but the "Decolonization & reconciliation," "In the classroom & beyond" and "Anti-ableism" pages may be of particular interest.
Indigenous Music
Part of the greater "Music" guide, this page provides a diverse array of resources related to Indigenous music including a list of Indigenous musicians organized by genre (a wide variety of fantastic artists!).
National Indigenous Peoples Day
June 21 is National Indigenous Peoples Day and is held in celebration and recognition of the diverse and distinct cultures, heritage, and achievements of Indigenous Peoples – First Nations, Inuit, and Metis – in Canada. This guide presents a sampling of resources that has been created in celebration of the Indigenous authors and topics featured in our library collection.
ENGL 164: Indigenous Literature
The Indigenous Literature Guide has been developed for students enrolled in ENGL 164. The guide provides an array of resources related to Indigenous authors and their works.
HLTH 111: Indigenous Peoples' Health
This guide supports students taking HLTH 111: Indigenous People's Health and those interested in Indigenous health topics. It contains information and links to resources related to Indigenous health including article databases, e-books, media, websites, citation help and more.

IST: Indigenous Studies

Camosun Library Research Basics

Ask a librarian

Citing & Writing

Indigenous-themed research guides from Camosun Library