IST: Indigenous Studies

The website for the "political territorial organization that represents the 203 First Nations in BC."

A resource listing of Aboriginal community-based services and organizations. Most are not-for-profit and Aboriginal operated. A BC government publication.

Also see their links to aboriginal information page and their online resources (including digital photographs and presentations)

Lists the websites for First Nations and Aboriginal groups in Canada and the United States.

Provides a forum for FN in BC to address issues related to Treaty negotiations as well as other issues of common concern"

The internet is filled with videos of Elders, Knowledge Holders, and Indigenous scholars sharing some of their knowledge and wisdom. NCCIE created this catalogue, a sampling of what is on the web. Over 200 videos pertaining to more than twenty First Nations, Métis, and Inuit ways of knowing and being from across Canada appear in this searchable resource.

A "service and research organization" providing "a bridge between traditional and contemporary governance models."

Biographies and information about Indigenous leaders viewable chronologically, by region, topics, and peoples.

The "national voice of Inuit women"

A non profit organization dedicated to research and education on indigenous issues world wide.

Website of the IHC, an Indigenous-designed and Indigenous-led organization dedicated to the advancement of cultural heritage priorities that are of importance to Métis, Inuit, and First Nations Peoples in Canada.

An organization of indigenous peoples from North, South and Central America, the Caribbean and the Pacific.

First Nations health articles, reports and surveys - produced by the University of New Mexico.

This website provides a comprehensive attempt to chronicle traditional Métis history and culture. It contains a wealth of primary documents – oral history interviews, photographs and various archival documents – in visual, audio and video files.

From the University of Washington, a collection of images about Indigenous Peoples in the Pacific Northwest. Mostly American, but has some Canadian content.

The First Nations Library at UBC - list of resources and links. A gateway to UBC resources and recommended sites.

"The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. The Indigenous Studies Portal is an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library. As of January, 2011, the iPortal has more than 25,000 records..." Camosun has access to many of the journal articles listed here - check the Camosun Publication Finder for access to specific titles.

A BC Archives publication. This guide is intended to help researchers locate material on British Columbia First Nations at the BC Archives as well as to provide referrals to related resources available elsewhere.

Find information related to Indigenous peoples and communities, treaties and agreements, delivering on the TRC Calls to Action, and the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls from the Canadian federal government.

"The First Peoples' Council provides leadership for the revitalization of Aboriginal languages, culture and arts in British Columbia. The First Peoples' Council monitors the status of B.C. Aboriginal languages, cultures, and arts, and facilitates and develops strategies which help Aboriginal communities recover and sustain their heritage." A variety of reports are available on this site including the 'Report on the Status of BC First Nations Languages'.

Federal government web page providing information about Indian status, Indigenous health, Jordan's Principal, and First Nations education, water, housing and social programs.

The Canadian Government's Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples.