Research guides: HLTH 111: Indigenous Peoples' Health: Find Media

Media Sources at Camosun

Camosun Libraries offer a variety of streaming and media resources. See the Media Sources at Camosun Research Guide for more information.

Streaming media

Indigenous Cinema at the NFB This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) including short and feature-length films by Indigenous filmmakers produced from 1968 to this year. Features playlists and filmmaker biographies. Over 400 titles.
Can-Core Academic Video This link opens in a new window
A Canadian streaming educational and documentary film collection. Includes Indigenous and BC content.
NFB Education This link opens in a new window
Includes films that are freely available on the NFB site, plus exclusive access to over 500 films in the education collection, teaching guides, interactive projects and other resources. On campus viewing does not require an account. To access the education collection, you must create an account and follow the instructions. To create playlists and chapters of films, see the Quick Start Guide.
To see a list of subscription films only: access Education from the home page. You can sign into your CAMPUS account from this page.
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio and video content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Provides access to thousands of programs and documentaries with English, French-language and Indigenous content.
Library direct streaming license collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database of independently produced or distributed films. These films with individual site licenses purchased by Camosun library include the Sproutflix collection, Indigenous films, local productions and more.
Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database of popular and classic feature films and documentaries. Films available in multiple languages. Includes Disney, Pixar, MGM, Universal, Sony, and more. Over 700 titles included.
ACF does not currently support playback on iOS devices including iPhones and iPads

Podcasts

Interior Voices
Insightful conversations about Indigenous health care in Interior B.C.
W̱ILṈEW̱ Radio
Hosted by Nick Henry the show features Indigenous musicians, artists, storytelling and more! Available on Spotify.

Cultural safety video

Featured DVDs

Spirit Doctors (National Film Board 2006)
Filmmaker Marie Burke journeys inward into the spiritual world of traditional Native medicine. With a lifetime of experience in the ways of Native spirituality, Mary and Ed Louie are steadfastly committed to the practices that keep them accountable to the spirit world, their people and Mother Earth. In a twist of fate, sound recordist Don Howell is unexpectedly diagnosed with throat cancer during the filming process. He chooses to be treated with modern medicine, and for the first time ever, seeks Mary and Ed for spiritual guidance and healing. Though many healing practices and ceremonies are considered too sacred to be filmed, Mary and Ed decide to allow Don's doctoring to be recorded by the all-native crew for the purposes of teaching others.
Gift of Diabetes (National Film Board 2005)
Filmmaker Brion Whitford is an Ojibway who lives with the pain of advanced diabetes. As his health worsened, his interest in his own culture grew. Follows Brion's struggle to regain his health by learning about the medicine wheel, a holistic tool grounded in Aboriginal understanding of the interconnectedness of all dimensions of life. Also explores the historical trauma of colonization and how it continues to affect Aboriginal people's psychological and physical well being.
My Big Fat Diet (2008)
Chronicles how the Namgis First Nation of Alert Bay goes cold turkey and gives up sugar and junk food for a year in a diet study sponsored by Health Canada and the University of British Columbia. Through the stories of six people, it documents a medical and cultural experiment that may be the first of its kind in North America....looks at the problem of obesity, through the eyes of a man who straddles two cultures, Western and First Nations. It also looks at the history and present-day status of traditional food gathering, and the link between individual health and that of the immediate environment.