Research guides: HLTH 111: Indigenous Peoples' Health: Find Reports

What is grey literature?

Grey literature very simply defined is textual material that is informally published (non-commercial) and is usually meant for a limited audience. Examples would include:

government reports
non-government organization reports
research institute publications
policy statements
organization newsletters and bulletins

Grey literature can be an important resource for credible, well researched and valuable content that provides a different perspective on an issues or topic as compared to academic peer-reviewed journals (also a valuable information source!).

Academic, peer-reviewed journal articles are typically published by commercial publishers and are not considered grey literature.

Library databases

Canada Commons (formerly desLibris) This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks (most with multi-user simultaneous access) and public documents from Canadian scholarly and independent publishers.
If you have a question about gaining access to a specific title, please contact the library.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA Complete) This link opens in a new window
CBCA Complete includes scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.

Individual Reports

Social and Economic Well-Being: A First Nations Gender-Balanced Analysis (2021 FNIGC Report)
This publication is part of the FNIGC Research S eries, a series of special reports focused on issues facing First Nations reserve and Northern communities which leverage data from the FNIGC’s national survey initiatives. The FNIGC Research Series is available online at the FNIGC’s website www.fnigc.ca
What we Heard: What we Heard: Indigenous Peoples and COVID-19 by Public Health Agency of Canada (March 2021)
This report was led by the Waakebiness-Bryce Institute for Indigenous Health (WBIIH) at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto and submitted to the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Remembering Keegan: A BC First Nations Case Study Reflection (2022)
A BC First Nations case study reflection underscores the impact of systemic racism, endorses the transformative changes that Cultural Safety and humility can make in the BC Health Care System. Remembering Keegan, published by the First Nations Health Authority, is part of ongoing anti-Indigenous racism actions in BC's health care system that includes a number of other reports, reviews, recommendations and the formation of a provincial task team. It is also a tool meant to inform and guide the pursuit of definitive change and to support the establishment of a cultural safety standard within the health care system.
In Plain Site; Addressing Indigenous-specific Racism and Discrimination in B.C. Health Care by Dr. Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, Independent Reviewer
Publication Date: November 2020
This online report reflects the findings of a BC Ministry of Health appointed review to investigate Indigenous-specific systematic racism in the health care system in British Columbia. A full report and a shorter summary report are available
Vancouver Island Regional Health and Wellness Plan by First Nations Health Authority (FNHA) Vancouver Island Region
Publication Date: 2018
Includes list of 50 Nations on Vancouver Island including other statistics and Empowerment Pathways and Regional Priorities

Cultural Safety Collection (NCCIH)

National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health: Cultural Safety Collection
The Cultural Safety Collection is a selective repository of resources related to addressing barriers in accessing health and social services for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples due to their experiences with racism, discrimination and marginalization. It includes resources focused on creating a culturally competent workforce, promoting cultural safety in service settings, practicing cultural humility, responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s Calls to Action, implementing the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, and addressing anti-Indigenous racism. You will also find NCCIH resources related to these same subjects.

Canada food guide for Indigenous Peoples

Eating well with Canada's food guide : First Nations, Inuit and Metis
Canada's Food Guide describes healthy eating for Canadians two years of age or older. The guide for First Nations, Inuit and Metis includes options of traditional foods.