The First Nations Health Authority has partnered with the International Journal of Indigenous Health to produce a special two-part guest edition of the journal titled, Health Systems Innovation: Privileging Indigenous Knowledge, Ensuring Respectful Care, and Ending Racism toward Indigenous Peoples in Service Delivery.
Honouring the Sacred Fire: Ending Systemic Racism toward Indigenous Peoples by 
Part Two: Wisdom of the Elders: Honouring Spiritual Laws in Indigenous Knowledge by 
A source for information on diverse aspects of the Arctic environment and the health of northern peoples. Topics covered include: Climate Change; Environmental Health; Food Security; Mental Health; Social Justice & Traditional Healing. With over 250,000 records, Arctic Health provides access to evaluated health information from hundreds of local, state, national, and international agencies, as well as from professional societies, tribal groups, and universities
These database focus on health, medicine and healing topics and can be searched for articles related to Indigenous health topics. See suggested search terms . Need help from a librarian?
Useful for alternative and complementary therapies. Includes journals and magazines.
CINAHL Ultimate provides more than 1,300 full text journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments. Includes Canadian and international full-text non-open access journals
Comprehensive medical index. Finds different fulltext than Medline via OVID.
Covers many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health; meant for the general public.
Considered the major psychology database, APA PsycInfo is a resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Cross search these two major Canadian sources to discover magazine, journal and newspaper articles. See also the individual links in Databases A-Z to search them individually.
Publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, etc. Part of the Canada Commons collection.
Peer-reviewed articles, sometimes called scholarly or academic articles, are written by academics and reviewed by other experts in their field before being published. Watch the following video and complete the self assessment quiz to learn more about the peer review process.
Many databases allow you to
limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. For example, when searching Single Search, the main search tool of the library, filter your search results to peer reviewed articles by checking the box on the left-hand column.
Other terms for peer-reviewed articles include:
The following open access scoping review, authored by Dr. Nicole Redvers identified 249 articles related to traditional Indigenous medicine in the North American context. Scoping reviews provide a literature review of the available journal publications on a specific topic. Categorical themes include: General Traditional Medicine, integration of Traditional and Western medicine systems, Ceremonial Practice for Healing, Usage of Traditional Medicine, and Traditional Healer Perspectives. Also included is a link to a database of the 249 articles.
If Camosun library does not have a specific article or book that you want, library staff can request it from another library.
Interlibrary loan service is provided to support research and study undertaken at Camosun and is available free to registered students, instructors and staff.
To place a request:
NOTE: There is a limit of 10 ILL requests per student per semester. There are also cost limits for individual items requested should there be a fee attached. Please review our policy should you have any questions.
