Research essay – Key requirements

• Resources are from a variety of strong academic sources. These should include library resources such as:
  • subject-specific databases such as Art & Architecture Source and Academic Search Complete (scholarly articles)
  • ARTstor (images) and JSTOR (scholarly articles and images). Note: JSTOR is replacing ARTstor in summer 2024
  • the Single Search tool (scholarly articles, books, book chapters, DVDs, and more)
• Sources could also include:
  • reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, etc.)
  • quality websites (universities, museums, galleries, archives, online exhibits, catalogues, etc.)
• Footnotes formatted in Chicago (Notes & Bibliography) style.
• Bibliography formatted in Chicago (Notes & Bibliography) style.

Reference resources & images

Academic resources at the Camosun Library

Camosun library subscribes to a number of databases containing collections of scholarly articles, book chapters, and other resources related to art and art history topics. Use the databases below to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles and book chapters.

To cast your research net wider, start by using the Single Search search tool. Use the advanced search option to add and experiment with keywords. Refine your search using the publication date, source type, and subject tools located on the left hand side of your search results.

Accessing resources from the UVic Libraries

Camosun students can access UVic Libraries collections in two ways:

1. Go to the UVic Libraries and visit the Circulation Desk on the first floor for access as a community borrower. As a community borrower you can take out books, and sign in to access the Libraries databases while on site at the library.
2. Search the UVic Libraries collections and make an interlibrary loan request for an article or a book. Please note, inter-library loans for articles may take up to 7 days to process, inter-library loans for books may take up to 14 days to process.