Research guides: ART: Art History: ART 152: Visual Culture

Research essay – Key requirements

Bibliography will include a minimum of 10 usable academic sources.
The source must be useful/applicable to your topic.
The sources must come from all of the following:
- reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, etc.)
- journal articles
- academic websites (universities, museums, galleries, archives, online exhibits, catalogues, etc.)
- books
- newspapers (if applicable to your topic)

Reference resources & images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital image collection with more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Will be retired in August 2024; content will be available via JSTOR.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of over 200 academic journals in the fields of Arts and Humanities. Often this is the only place to find these journals. Quality resource for historical research.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms This link opens in a new window
In Oxford Art Online.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale encyclopedias & handbooks with one search.
Oxford's Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods.

Option 1: Punk culture (fashion or 'Zines)

The following is a starter list of some possible search terms to begin your research. Experiment with these – and other search terms of your choosing (including places, time periods, themes, and artist names) – by combining them in various ways when you search. keep in mind, punk is more than music – the movement has influences fashion, photography, performance art, graffiti, design, etc.

punk culture
clothing and dress -- social aspects
punk rock music -- political aspects
punk rock musicians
women punk rock musicians
punk culture -- pictorial works
subculture
zines
feminism and music
performing arts
music and society
street art
arts -- political aspects
visual culture

The Costume Institute (Metropolitan Museum of Art - New York)
"The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present." There are over 42,000 high resolution images on the site.
Detroit Punk Archive
Interviews, images, and media resources related to punk rock in Detroit (and beyond).
Internet Archive
Comprehensive non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
MAXIMUM ROCKNROLL (MRR)
Maximum Rocknroll is a widely distributed monthly fanzine dedicated to supporting the underground punk rock scene. MRR’s long history and large, obsessed, all-volunteer staff makes its punk rock coverage the most consistently up-to-date and reliable around. MRR maintains the values of the punk underground by remaining independent, DIY and not-for-profit.
Punk Flyers
Cornell University Library - Digital collection offering over 2,000 images of flyers created in the punk scene.
Vancouver Punk Rock Collection
SFU Digitized Collections
Victoria and Albert Museum
"V&A Images is a high quality, versatile picture agency. Our ever-expanding image collection includes almost everything imaginable in the fine and decorative arts."
more...less...
"The V&A is the world’s leading museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years of human creativity. The Museum holds many of the UK's national collections and houses some of the greatest resources for the study of architecture, furniture, fashion, textiles, photography, sculpture, painting, jewellery, glass, ceramics, book arts, Asian art and design, theatre and performance."

Option 2: Sanctioned public sculpture in a city or airport

public sculpture
public art
place and space
place building
public spaces
public architecture
monuments
monumental sculpture
memorials
installation art
art and society
art and politics
architectural design
site-specific art
urban sculpture
cultural policy
social impact
historic sites
collective memory
urban planning

Arts Alive Oak Bay
City of Victoria: Public Art
District of Saanich: Public Art
LandMarks Public Art
Public Art in the Capital Regional District (CRD), Victoria, Saanich, Esquimalt, and Oak Bay.
Township of Esquimalt: Public Art
Victoria International Airport: Art at the Airport

Newspaper resources at the Camosun Library

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA Complete) This link opens in a new window
CBCA Complete includes scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Free online access to 126 years of B.C.’s oldest and most respected newspapers: the Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), the Times-Colonist (1884-2010) and The Province (1894-2010).

Academic resources at the Camosun Library

Camosun library subscribes to a number of databases containing collections of scholarly articles, book chapters, and other resources related to art and art history topics. Use the databases below to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles and book chapters.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
All topics, academic focus, some Canadian content.
Art & Architecture Source (formerly Art Source) This link opens in a new window
This database covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Includes full-text articles to over 650 journals.
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
History, literature, philosophy articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of over 200 academic journals in the fields of Arts and Humanities. Often this is the only place to find these journals. Quality resource for historical research.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
All social science topics (anthropology, sociology, political science, psychology, criminology articles); mainly journals, some magazines.

To cast your research net wider, start by using the Single Search search tool. Use the advanced search option to add and experiment with keywords. Refine your search using the publication date, source type, and subject tools located on the left hand side of your search results.

ART: Art History

Citation

Accessing the UVic Libraries

Interlibrary Loans (ILLs)

Camosun Single Search