Legislation
Criminal Code (R.S. 1985, C-46) - Full text of the Code.
Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms - Full text of this document.
Parliament of Canada - Site contains links to bills, Senate, and House of Commons debates.
BC Laws - Find information on federal legislation, including new and updated legislation.
Legislative Assembly of BC - Links to Bills (Legislation) and Hansard.
Law Reports and Decisions
CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute - Provides free access to Canadian full-text court decisions available on the web. Includes all Canadian provinces as well as the Federal Court of Canada.
Judgments of the Supreme Court of Canada - Decisions from 1967-present.
Federal Court of Canada - Decisions from 1995-present.
Courts of British Columbia - Contains links to and Reasons for Judgment from the BC Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal and Provincial Court.
Canadian Human Rights Tribunal - Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT) is similar to a court of law, but is less formal and only hears cases relating to discrimination. Site has full text of decisions.
BC Human Rights Tribunal - An independent, quasi-judicial body created by the B.C. Human Rights Code. The Tribunal is responsible for accepting, screening, mediating, and adjudicating human rights complaints. Full text of decisions from January 1997 onward.
Legal Research and Citation
Fee Fie Foe Firm - a search engine that focuses on the websites of Canadian law firms - use to find law firm bulletins, articles and press releases.
ClickLaw - Provides the residents of British Columbia with access to general legal information.
Best Guide to Canadian Legal Research - Strategies and techniques for Canadian legal research, finding and using secondary sources, finding and analyzing cases, updating your research, legal writing, legal research FAQs. Now updated as the The Canadian Legal Research and Writing Guide.
BC Courthouse Library Society - Contains court rules and forms, legal research guides, and an A-Z Knowledgebase.
Queen's University Library Legal Research - Includes quality resources related to legal citation and research.
Findlaw - United States - Links to information on the US legal system.
A Neutral Citation Standard for Case Law - Citation standard "provides courts with a case naming method that does not depend on their publication in printed case law reports."
The Canadian Legal Research and Writing Guide, 2018 - Based on the The Best Guide to Canadian Legal Research by Catherine Best who retired in 2015.
Top Criminology statistics sources
BCStats – The Government of British Columbia's Statistics Portal.
CANSIM – CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.
DataBC – Search Government of BC data, including Criminology-related data.
Juristat – A series of report on topics related to crime, published by and based on the data of Statistics Canada.
2017 Police Resources in Canada – The latest annual report examining trends in police personnel and expenditures at the national, provincial and census metropolitan area (CMA) levels, including data by rank and gender.
Police Resources in Canada – Statistics Canada annual reports as above archived from 1999 - 2010.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics – United States Crime Statistics, provided by the (U.S.) Bureau of Justice Statistics.
Statistics Canada – Provides Canadian statistics regarding a wide range of subjects. Try searching the website subject heading "crime and justice" for information on police services, correctional services, courts, and crimes and offenses.
Victoria Police Department Publications – Includes access to Quarterly and Annual Reports from the Victoria Police Department.
Vancouver Police Department Statistics – Local statistics and reports including crime incidents and rates provided by the Vancouver Police Department.
