John Howard Society of Canada - Society works with people who have come into conflict with the law, advocates for changes in the criminal justice process, engages in public education on matters relating to criminal law, and promotes crime prevention through community and social development activities.
Elizabeth Fry Society of Greater Vancouver - Community-based organization working to support women and youth involved in the criminal justice system.
Canadian Criminal Justice Association - Find book reviews and article abstracts from 1997- current from the Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice.
American Society of Criminology - "International organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency."
British Society of Criminology - Learn about crime, criminal behavior, and criminal justice in the UK.
Canada
Correctional Service Canada – Administers prison terms of two or more years and oversees offenders in the community after release. Information on programmes and links to publications in 12 subject areas, ie. Aboriginal, Families of Offenders, Restorative Justice and Women.
Government of Canada Department of Justice – Online source of Consolidated Acts and Regulations of Canada, provides links to related resources including frequently accessed laws.
Public Safety Canada – Coordinates across all federal departments and agencies responsible for national security and the safety of Canadians.
Parole Board of Canada – Information on parole, appeals, clemency, victims of crime, etc. Look for Fact Sheets, Publications, and Statistics links.
Library of Parliament Research Publications: Law, Justice and Rights – Publications include topics such as international law, human rights, crime, prisons, and the administration of justice.
Public Safety Canada - Countering Crime – Learn about Public Safety Canada's law enforcement programs and initiatives in areas such as Indigenous policing, Canada-US border security, gun crime and firearms, and organized crime.
CSIS – Learn about CSIS's role in protecting the national security interests of Canada by investigating and reporting on threats to the security of Canada.
National Anti-Drug Strategy – Information on this federal government agency that works in the area of drug use prevention. Includes topics such as youth drug prevention, treatment, enforcement, etc.
Canadian Border Services Agency – Agency responsible for providing integrated border services that support national security and public safety. Links to information on topics such as border technology, import regulations, food, plant and animal inspections, immigration violations and intelligence and risk management.
Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples Database – The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) was established in 1991, and it submitted its report in October of 1996. The RCAP was mandated to investigate and propose solutions to the challenges affecting the relationship between Aboriginal peoples (First Nations, Inuit, Métis), the Canadian government and Canadian society as a whole. This database provides access to documents, such as publications, research reports, and hearing transcripts that supported the writing of the report of the RCAP.
British Columbia
Ministry of Attorney General – Information on BC's justice system services with an extensive index of related online resources.
BC Corrections – Look for information on correctional facilities, community corrections, and decreasing criminal behaviors.
Ministry of Children and Family Development - Youth Justice – Community youth justice services and youth custody services for those in the 12-17 years age category.
International
US Department of Justice – The United States Department of Justice homepage. Provides information regarding the enforcement of laws and public safety in America.
Federal Bureau of Investigation – Information regarding threats to the US and descriptions of departments and activities of the FBI. Check out the Reports and Publications page for statistics as well as in-depth information on terrorism and other subjects.
Royal Canadian Mounted Police - Learn all about the RCMP and policing at the national, provincial, and municipal levels. Look for a variety of policy and crime-related information on the RCMP Reports, Research, and Publications page.
BC Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General - Oversees the 11 municipal police departments in BC. Also check out the "Law, Crime, and Justice" and "Policing in BC" sub-sites.
Victoria Police Department - Serves Victoria and Esquimalt - look at site map for information options.
Saanich Police Department - Learn about law enforcement in Saanich.
Oak Bay Police Department - Learn about law enforcement in Oak Bay.
Canadian Police College - Courses and professional development for police officers and other law enforcement personnel.
Commission for Public Complaints against RCMP - An independent agency, not part of the RCMP, reviews complaints against the RCMP and promotes accountability.
Statistics Canada Juristat Publication - Features information, tables, and charts providing statistics on crime, personnel, and expenditures.
INTRODUCTION
This module covers the basics of evaluating resources for authority, accuracy, and other criteria. You may be prompted to login with your C# and password before viewing.
Camosun College Criminal Justice Program - Camosun's program prepares students for both work as front-line practitioners within the criminal justice field and further post-secondary studies.
SFU School of Criminal Justice - One of the largest and leading criminology and criminal justice teaching schools and research centres in Canada.
Justice Institute of BC - Education and training organization for public safety professionals.