Academic ebooks are excellent either for quick facts or indepth research. You can access many of our ebooks 24/7, although some are restricted to one user at a time.
No e-reader necessary! Camosun Library ebooks can be read directly from your an internet browser on your computer at home, or any campus computer. Most are mobile friendly.
Search Single Search, the main search tool of the library to find thousands of ebooks on a variety of topics. Filter your search to ebooks by using the "Source Types" limiter. *Click "Show More" to see all format options!
Other suggested ebook collections:
A collection of ebooks (most with multi-user simultaneous access) and public documents from Canadian scholarly and independent publishers.
If you have a question about gaining access to a specific title, please contact the library.
Call Numbers
A call number is an address which tells you where a resource is located in a library. All hard-copy resources in a library have a unique call number. Because books are arranged in call number order, you will find books on similar subjects located next to one another – this is a fantastic way to discover books related to your topic that you might not already know about!
Most books in the Camosun Library are arranged by the Library of Congress Classification System. The system uses twenty-one basic classes, each of which is identified by a letter of the alphabet. Most of these alphabetical classes are further divided into more specific subclasses, identified by two-letter, or occasionally, three-letter combinations.
Reading Call Numbers
Call numbers are read from left to right. In the example below you will see the first part of the book's call number "HV 6515" consists of a combination of one or two letters and a number that indicates a specific subject area.
The next part "E34" identifies a specific title within the range of books on that topic, "2002" is the date of publication, and "c.2" indicates it is the second copy in the library.
Resources related to criminal justice can be found in the HV call number range.
HV 6001-7220.5 – Criminology
HV 6250-6250.4 – Victims of crime
HV 6251-6773.55 – Crimes and offenses
HV 7231-9960 – Criminal justice administration
HV 7551-8280.7 – Police, Police administration, Policing
HV 8035-8069 – Special crimes, offenses and criminals
HV 8073-8079.35 – Criminal investigation
HV 8301-9920.7 – Prisons. Corrections
HV 9051-9230.7 – Juvenile offenders. Juvenile delinquency.
Law resources are found in the K call number range.
K – Law in general. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence
KD-KDK – United Kingdom and Ireland
KDZ – America. North America
KE – Canada (includes Indigenous Law in "Canadian" contexts)
KF – United States
KG – Latin America - Mexico and Central America - West Indies. Caribbean area
KH – South America
KJ-KKZ – Europe
KL-KWX – Asia and Eurasia, Africa, Pacific Area, and Antarctica
KZ – Law of nations
The library has a variety of media resources including DVDs and streaming databases.
DVD's can be searched using Single Search, the library's main search tool, and are organized similar to books using call numbers. See understanding call numbers below.
Streaming Databases of interest:
Includes films that are freely available on the NFB site, plus exclusive access to over 500 films in the education collection, teaching guides, interactive projects and other resources. On campus viewing does not require an account. To access the education collection, you must create an account and follow the instructions. To create playlists and chapters of films, see the Quick Start Guide.
This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio and video content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Provides access to thousands of programs and documentaries with English, French-language and Indigenous content.
See the Media Research Guide for a more comprehensive look at available media resources.
