Missing information is not indicated in the citation.
Use letter by letter alphabetization for your citations.
Single: Last Name, First Name Initial. Additional source by the same author: use ---. in place of their name (3 hyphens & a period.)
2 authors: Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name.
3 or more authors: Last Name, First Name, et al.
No author: Begin your citation with Title.
Organization is both author and publisher: begin the entry with the work's title, and list the organization only as publisher.
Italics: Book titles, Plays, Anthologies, and Database names. (These are Containers.)
“Quotation marks:” Article title, webpage title, chapter, and poems etc. in an anthology.
No title? Add a short description. Eg: photograph of – chart showing – gif of cat with …
Italicize them and follow by a comma: Journal Title, Anthology title, name of streaming site or database.
Eg: Sports Medicine, Riverside anthology of literature, Netflix, or ARTstor.
Description of their role follow by a comma then First Name Last Name: narrated by – performance by
Eg: Translated by Natasha Randall, or poetry reading by Kim Catrall, etc.
Follows title and ends in a comma. Eg: 2nd edition or Canadian edition or Director’s cut.
Your source is part of a number sequence or series. Abbreviate volume to vol. and number to no.
Eg: Orange is the New Black, S02 – E04. or Journal name, vol. 10, no. 4, etc.
Omit words such as Company & their abbreviations: Co., Inc., Ltd., Corp. Omit the publisher for a web site or newspaper if it duplicates information.
Shorten University Press to UP E.g. Oxford UP etc. More than one? separate with a forward slash. E.g. National Gallery / Yale UP,
Write the full date as you find it on the source. Format: Day Month Year Eg: Jan. 2013. Ends in either a period or comma.
Date missing? Do not write "No date" or "N.d."
This varies with different source types: page numbers, a permalink, a URL, or a physical location. Exclude http:// & https://
Eg: pp. 193-200, or pp. 57+ or doi:10.1353/pmc.2000.0021. or Art Gallery of Greater Victoria.
Use p. for a single page source, pp. for multiple pages, add a Plus sign (57+) for multiple non-consecutive pages.
No page numbers? Do not try to guess or count paragraphs, leave out missing information.
Date of access, Date of original publication, City of publication, Series name, and Information on prior publication.
Your best estimate for missing information can be included in square brackets with a question mark Eg. for publication date: [2008?]
Include a description of an unusual or unexpected source type like a web comment or reblog. Eg. Slam Poetry performance: “Bic for Her.” poetry written and recited by Mary Pinkowski, or for a dissertation or Master's thesis: Diss., MA thesis, or MS thesis.
The MLA 8th ed. does not provide rules for citing specific types of resources. They provide a universal set of guidelines for any type of material based based on the core elements.
FORMAT
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, Publication Date or Last Update Date, Name of Website. URL.
EXAMPLE
Friesen, Gerald. "Assiniboia." The Canadian Encyclopedia, 3 Apr. 2015, Historica Canada. www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/en/article/assiniboia/.
In Text: (Friesen)
FORMAT
"Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, Publication Date or Last Update Date, Name of Website. URL. Date Accessed.
EXAMPLE
"Maelstrom." Merriam-Webster Dictionary, 2017, Merriam-Webster. www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/maelstrom. Accessed 19 Oct. 2016.
In Text: ("Maelstrom")
FORMAT
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Editor's First Name Editor's Last Name, Edition if not the first edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year of Publication, pp. xx-xx.
EXAMPLE
Lewisohn, Leonard. "Sufism." Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald Borchert, 2nd ed., vol. 9, Thomson Gale, 2006, pp. 300-314.
In Text: (Lewisohn, 307)
NOTE Citing an encyclopedia article is similar to citing a chapter in an anthology.
FORMAT
"Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, edited by Editor's First Name Editor's Last Name, Edition if not the first edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year of Publication, pp. xx-xx.
EXAMPLE
"Mystic." Oxford Concise Dictionary of Phrase and Fable, edited by Elizabeth Knowles, Oxford UP, 2003, p. 349.
In Text: ("Mystic" 349)