Missing information is not indicated in the citation.
Use letter by letter alphabetization for your citations.
Single: Last Name, First Name Initial. Additional source by the same author: use ---. in place of their name (3 hyphens & a period.)
2 authors: Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name.
3 or more authors: Last Name, First Name, et al.
No author: Begin your citation with Title.
Organization is both author and publisher: begin the entry with the work's title, and list the organization only as publisher.
Italics: Book titles, Plays, Anthologies, and Database names. (These are Containers.)
“Quotation marks:” Article title, webpage title, chapter, and poems etc. in an anthology.
No title? Add a short description. Eg: photograph of – chart showing – gif of cat with …
Italicize them and follow by a comma: Journal Title, Anthology title, name of streaming site or database.
Eg: Sports Medicine, Riverside anthology of literature, Netflix, or ARTstor.
Description of their role follow by a comma then First Name Last Name: narrated by – performance by
Eg: Translated by Natasha Randall, or poetry reading by Kim Catrall, etc.
Follows title and ends in a comma. Eg: 2nd edition or Canadian edition or Director’s cut.
Your source is part of a number sequence or series. Abbreviate volume to vol. and number to no.
Eg: Orange is the New Black, S02 – E04. or Journal name, vol. 10, no. 4, etc.
Omit words such as Company & their abbreviations: Co., Inc., Ltd., Corp. Omit the publisher for a web site or newspaper if it duplicates information.
Shorten University Press to UP E.g. Oxford UP etc. More than one? separate with a forward slash. E.g. National Gallery / Yale UP,
Write the full date as you find it on the source. Format: Day Month Year Eg: Jan. 2013. Ends in either a period or comma.
Date missing? Do not write "No date" or "N.d."
This varies with different source types: page numbers, a permalink, a URL, or a physical location. Exclude http:// & https://
Eg: pp. 193-200, or pp. 57+ or doi:10.1353/pmc.2000.0021. or Art Gallery of Greater Victoria.
Use p. for a single page source, pp. for multiple pages, add a Plus sign (57+) for multiple non-consecutive pages.
No page numbers? Do not try to guess or count paragraphs, leave out missing information.
Date of access, Date of original publication, City of publication, Series name, and Information on prior publication.
Your best estimate for missing information can be included in square brackets with a question mark Eg. for publication date: [2008?]
Include a description of an unusual or unexpected source type like a web comment or reblog. Eg. Slam Poetry performance: “Bic for Her.” poetry written and recited by Mary Pinkowski, or for a dissertation or Master's thesis: Diss., MA thesis, or MS thesis.
The MLA 9th ed. does not provide rules for citing specific types of resources. They provide a universal set of guidelines for any type of material based based on the core elements.
Date of Access is now an optional element in MLA 8th edition. The MLA Handbook 8th edition states " since online works typically can be changed or removed at any time, the date on which you accessed online material is often an important indicator of the version you consulted." (MLA Handbook, 8th ed. p. 53) The first website example includes date accessed.
(MLA Handbook, 8th ed., page 110)
The MLA recommends removing “http://” and “https://” protocols from URL addresses in printed works, in which the creation of hyperlinks is irrelevant, although if the protocol is anything else, such as “ftp://,” you should include it. If you are citing these sources in a format that has the ability to display hyperlinks—for instance, if they will be displayed in html—do include the protocol. DOI's are preferred, so if your source has a DOI you should provide that unless otherwise instructed.
(MLA Handbook, 89th ed., page 195)
FORMAT
Author's Last name, First name. "Title of Document or Page." Title of Website, Publication Date, URL. Date Accessed.
EXAMPLE
Galewitz, Phil. "In Depressed Rural Kentucky, Worries Mount Over Medicaid Cutbacks." NPR, 19 Nov. 2016, www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2016/11/19/502580120/in-depressed-rural-kentucky- worries-mount-over-medicaid-cutbacks. Accessed 21 Nov. 2016.
In Text: (Galewitz)
"When a source has no page numbers or any other kind of part number, no number should be given in a parenthetical citation. Do not count unnumbered paragraphs or other parts." (MLA Handbook, 8th edition, page 56)
FORMAT
Title of Report. Publisher, Date of Publication or last update, Title of website, URL.
EXAMPLE
Canada's Greenhouse Gas Emissions: Understanding the Trends, 1990-2006. Environment Canada, 2008, Government of Canada, publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2009/ec/En81-4-2006-2E.pdf.
In Text: (Canada's Greenhouse 17)
If your author is the organization that published it use the title in your in text citation or use a shortened version of the title before the page number.
FORMAT
"Title of webpage or article." Title of Website, Date of Publication, URL.
EXAMPLE
"Drugged Driving by the Numbers." MADD, 2015, www.madd.org/drugged-driving/drugged-driving-by-the.html.
In Text ("Drugged Driving")
If there is not a personal author, start the citation with the title of the document/website. (MLA Handbook, 8th ed., p. 24)
FORMAT
"Title of Entry." Wikipedia, Publication Date, URL.
EXAMPLE
"Hypnosis." Wikipedia, 26 Nov. 2016, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hypnosis.
In Text ("Hypnosis")
FORMAT
Author's Last Name, First Name or Username if real name not given. "Title of Blog Post." Name of Blog, Publication Date, URL. Date Accessed [NOW OPTIONAL]
EXAMPLE
Minchilli, Elizabeth. "Eating Outside in Rome." Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome, 13 April 2016, www.elizabethminchilliinrome.com/ 2016/04/eating-outside-rome/. Accessed 18 July 2016.
In Text: (Minchilli)
FORMAT
Author's last name, First name. "Title of Document or Page." Publisher, Publication Date, Title of Website, URL.
EXAMPLE: (with author)
Rodrigues, Samantha. "Hidden homelessness in Canada." Statistics Canada, 15 Nov. 2016, www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75-006-x/2016001/article/14678-eng.htm.
In Text: (Rodrigues)
EXAMPLE: (No author)
"Canada demographics." WolframAlpha, hwww.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=Canada+demographics. Retrieved 14 June 2018.
In Text: (Canada demographics)
FORMAT
"Title of webpage or article." Title of Website, Date of Publication, URL.
EXAMPLE
"Four Main Components for Effective Outlines." OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab, 2016, owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/544/01/.
In Text ("Four Main")
When citing source code include as many elements of the MLA template as you can.
Author might be an individual, a group or an organization. MLA treats the name of the software as a Title.
Format: Last name, First name. Title of source, First Container, version, publisher, date, Second container, location(URL)
the first Container is the name of the software, the second container is the website where you found it.
Example citation: (no author)
Buffer.java. Apache Hadoop, commit ef9946cd52d54200c658987c1dbc3e6fce133f77, Apache Software Foundation, 2015. GitHub, github.com/apache/hadoop/blob/ release-3.1.0-RC1/hadoop-tools/hadoop-streaming/src/main/< java/org/apache/ hadoop/record/Buffer.java.
In Text: (buffer.java).