Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Camosun Library faculty services: Course specific resources

Your library provides a variety of learning resources that are vital to student success. 

Textbook Reserves

The purpose of the reserve collection is to allow controlled access to a limited number of items for the greatest number of students. The collection consists of materials that are essential to a course.

The library purchases textbooks on a limited and selective basis:

  • for the reserve collection only
  • if requested by an instructor
  • based on available budget, demand, and ongoing educational value of the item

 

Important note about ebooks:

If you intend to use ebooks in your course, please check with your subject librarian in advance. Not all e-books are licensed for multiple simultaneous users!

For more information contact the Library Reserve assistant: 
Lansdowne 370-3525 lanreserve@camosun.bc.ca or Interurban 370-4633 intreserve@camosun.bc.ca

Media Resources

The library provides films for classroom use by instructors. 

  • films have been purchased with the appropriate public performance rights, enabling you to use them in a classroom setting.
  • the library catalogue lists all the physical DVD's and some VHS available, streaming media is listed with Databases A- Z.
  • if the library does not own the resource you require, please contact media@camosun.ca, about arranging an interlibrary loan.
  • VHS are slowly being phased out of the collection

To reserve items place a hold via the library catalogue or email your request: Lansdowne: media@camosun.bc.ca (250-370-3607) or Interurban: intmedia@camosun.bc.ca (250-370-4998)

Due to COVID19 restrictions the media viewing rooms in the library are not currently available. Faculty can book classrooms for on campus viewing via Room Bookings. Faculty should confirm with ITS that there is compatible AV equipment in their desired classroom.

Streaming video databases

Camosun Library subscribes to streaming video databases that specialize in educational, instructional and documentary film. You can use these online resources in your class.

Warning icon

 

Please note: Screening content from personal subscriptions to online streaming services such as Netflix and iTunes in class is a breach of both copyright and user agreements.

What can be placed on reserve

► Library or instructor-owned books and DVDs.

Instructor-owned items must be submitted with a reserve form (see link); items will be returned at end of term.

► Student works submitted by a department or instructor require written copyright permission from the student (see 'Reserve forms' link).

Reserve materials are processed in the order they are received; allow a minimum of one week for processing.

All reserves are searchable on the Reserves tab by course code. **Note: search by instructor function is not available.

While we attempt to ensure the security of Instructor's materials, we are not responsible for loss or damage.

Loan periods:

  • 2 hours
  • 72 hours
  • within 2 hours of library closing, 2 hour loans become overnight loan 

Reserve forms

Course/Program Research Guides

We have created 100+ Research guides which link to relevant databases, resources, information and tutorials. 

Your students will benefit from program guides or course specific guides packed with links specific to their information needs. 

If you don't see a guide for your class or discipline let us know. We welcome your input for additions/amendments as well.