A list of all Camosun licensed streaming databases can be found on the Home page of this guide.
A list of open streaming media sources can be found on the Open media sources page of this guide.
This Database details page is designed to give specific information about individual licensed streaming media databases. For questions please contact Media Librarian, Patsy (Patricia) Scott: Scottp@camosun.ca
Streaming video database of popular and classic feature films and documentaries. Films available in multiple languages. Includes Disney, Pixar, MGM, Universal, Sony, and more. Over 700 titles included.
To view films click on database link above and login with C# and password
*Notes:
Please contact Patsy Scott, Media Librarian with any questions.
Collection of streaming videos on fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
A Canadian streaming educational and documentary film collection. Includes Indigenous and BC content.
Can-Core provides streaming access to over 12,500 videos tagged to dozens of subject areas. It includes instructional videos, short narratives and documentaries with a vast collection of Canadian content including over 2100 Indigenous content videos. New videos are added weekly including CTV's W5 investigative journalism program. See links below to search help guides.
This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio and video content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Provides access to thousands of programs and documentaries with English, French-language and Indigenous content.
You have several options to locate or link to videos in this collection. You can:
1. Go directly to the Curio.ca site to search for content by CBC show, collections or channels.
2. By Subject categories: Arts, Health, Math, science & technology, Business, etc.
3. By the 'News in Review series' for the classroom. Curio selects the top 4 news stories and crafts a 15-minute documentary for each -- drawing on news reports from recent months.
We recommend that you link to a Curio.ca video in D2L. You can also create video playlists by registering using the Camosun Access Code: Email Media Librarian Patsy Scott.
Camosun Library has purchased many documentaries with Digital Site Licenses, included those listed below. To view these and other DSL films go to https://media.camosun.ca/home and log in. If you would like to add these to your D2L course contact Media Librarian Patsy Scott
Example titles include:
Example collections include:
Independent film-makers may offer a Digital Site Licenses for their film with the provision that it is only used in a login protected LMS. If this is the case the purchase should still be handled by the library to make sure other instructors and students have access to the film and that the correct License is acquired.
Full-text collection of authoritative reference books covering a variety of subjects and formats—dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and other quick, ready-reference resources. Short videos and still images are available for many articles.
CREDO Reference Academic Core includes video content on a variety of subjects from physical and social sciences to humanties, to medicine and cooking.
To search for videos using a specific search term:
Streaming video training database for early childhood care settings. Videos address challenging behaviors in children, promoting wellness, building enrollment, child assessment, supporting teacher performance and more.
Our subscription to Kanopy includes an array of feature films, documentaries, and other instructional content. The option to purchase 1-year subscription access to additional media is also available. 'Free' content changes without warning
Please contact Patsy Scott, Media Librarian with any questions or to submit a request for purchase.
Please note requests for additional media are:
Includes films that are freely available on the NFB site, plus exclusive access to over 500 films in the education collection, teaching guides, interactive projects and other resources. On campus viewing does not require an account. To access the education collection, you must create an account and follow the instructions. To create playlists and chapters of films, see the Quick Start Guide.
Sproutflix hosts a large and diverse collection of films featuring people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD), striving to reinforce accurate portrayals of individuals within this community, breakdown stereotypes and promote a greater acceptance of differences and awareness of similarities.
To view
selected Sproutflix films purchased by Camosun Libraries following these steps:
Under Guest in top right-hand corner, click Login and sign in using your C# and password to view media
Bates' visual guide to physical examination
Custom collections of videos on the following topics:
Cheese Slices series:
Autism and autistic spectrum disorders
1945 : the Year that Changed the World (5 episodes)
History, society & civil rights
