Research guides: Media sources at Camosun Library: Indigenous Videos

Indigenous streaming sources

Can-Core Academic Video This link opens in a new window
A Canadian streaming educational and documentary film collection. Includes Indigenous and BC content.

CBC Gem -Indigenous Stories
A collection of shows, movies, and documentaries featuring the stories, history, and originality of Indigenous Peoples. Requires signing in with free CBC account.

Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database of popular, classic and documentary films in a variety of categories including Canadian Films, Indigenous Studies, Literary Adaptations and Black History. Includes Paramount Pictures, DreamWorks, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance, Miramax, Warner Brothers, and more. Over 5,500 titles included.
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio and video content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Provides access to thousands of programs and documentaries with English, French-language and Indigenous content.
Indigenous Cinema at the NFB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) including short and feature-length films by Indigenous filmmakers produced from 1968 to this year. Features playlists and filmmaker biographies. Over 400 titles.
Library direct streaming license collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database of independently produced or distributed films. These films with individual site licenses purchased by Camosun library include the Sproutflix collection, Indigenous films, local productions and more.

Library direct streaming license collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database of independently produced or distributed films. These films with individual site licenses purchased by Camosun library include the Sproutflix collection, Indigenous films, local productions and more.

Direct Streaming License Collection includes Indigenous created and topical films. To access Indigenous content click on:

FIlms include:

Native Young! Punk Rock
Raunchy and upbeat - Native Young! is told thru the eyes of a native Punk Rock Band and explores the band's experience of growing up, working and living on reserve. The band's music - unapologetic and ferocious - provides a dramatic musical landscape for the film
Now is the Time (NFB)
When internationally renowned Haida carver Robert Davidson was only 22 years old, he carved the first new totem pole on British Columbia’s Haida Gwaii in almost a century. On the 50th anniversary of the pole’s raising, Haida filmmaker Christopher Auchter steps easily through history to revisit that day in August 1969
In Our Blood
Episode 16 of the television series "Ravens and Eagles: Haida art" Profiles three brothers who are Haida carvers.

Cedar and Bamboo
Chinese people arrived in British Columbia many generations ago, and formed unique relationships with indigenous peoples. Cedar and Bamboo explores those relationships through the lives of four people of Chinese and Aboriginal ancestry.
Kikkik
Set in 1958 when famine strikes the Inuit of Canada's central Arctic, the film is the dramatic story of one woman's extraordinary courage, a people's resilience and a government's misjudgment.
E1-472 Kikkik (English dub)
Canyon War
the Canyon War sheds light on a shadowy chapter of Canadian history. Stories of villages in flames, bodies floating down river, and American militias killing and looting as desperate First Nations tries to hold back tens of thousands of rapacious gold seekers flooding into their land. British Columbia in 1858.
Code Breakers
CBC Nature of Things: Were humans already here? Questioning when Indigenous ancestors arrived in North America.
Club Native
"In Club Native, filmmaker Tracey Deer uses Kahnawake, her hometown, as a lens to probe deeply into the history and contemporary reality of Aboriginal identity.
The Spirit Has No Colour
An anti-discrimination training film for B.C.'s municipal police recruits on the relationship between police and Aboriginal peoples.
City of Gangs
Regina, Saskatchewan, the 'Queen City' has placed at the top of Canada's urban crime rankings ... The Aboriginal community's response to gang violence.

Indigenous Plant Diva by NFB Canada
Kamala Todd's short film is a lyrical portrait of Cease Wyss, of the Squamish Nation. Wyss is a woman who understands the remarkable healing powers of the plants growing all over downtown Vancouver.
No Turning Back by National Film Board of Canada
Call Number: Streaming Video
This film follows the aftermath of the Oka crisis, which brought Indigenous rights into sharp focus. After the barricades came down, the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples was created. For two-and-a-half years, teams of Indigenous filmmakers followed the Commission on its journey.
The Invisible Nation (NFB)
The Algonquin once lived in harmony with the vast territory they occupied. This balance was upset when the Europeans arrived in the 16th century. Gradually, their Aboriginal traditions were undermined and their natural resources plundered. Today, barely 9,000 Algonquin are left.
Totem: the Return of the G'psgolox Pole
Call Number: E 99 H23 T68 2008 (LAN)
Totem: the Return of the G'psgolox Pole documented the struggle of the Haisla people of Kitimat B.C. to recover a traditional mortuary totem pole from a Swedish museum.

Residential schools: truth and reconciliation in Canada
Between 1879 and 1986, at least 150,000 aboriginal children in Canada were forcibly removed and placed into Indian Residential Schools. The assault on Aboriginal identity began the moment children took their first step across the school's threshold. The telling of Canada's history is not complete without this story.
Stolen children: truth and reconciliation
Six short documentaries present profiles, personal stories and perspectives from survivors and today's youth providing a comprehensive picture fo the harsh realities of the residential school experience.
Penelakut : return to the healing circle
Call Number: Available to Stream at media.camosun.ca under Licensed films: Login required.
Former students forced to attend the Kuper Island Indian Residential School, British Columbia, describe the long-term effect on their lives and share the joys and sorrows of their quest for spiritual healing.