Skip to Main Content

SONO: Diagnostic Medical Sonography

Resources

Annotated bibliography
Literature review

Annotated resource template
A sample template for an annotated bibliography

Sample Annotated bibliography APA format
Annotated bibliography: How to create one

These are samples ONLY, check with your instructor to see which format they prefer.

Annotated bibliography tutorial
A short tutorial with a couple of "checkpoints" so you can check your understanding of the elements of an annotated bibliography.

The literature review : Six steps to success by Lawrence A. Machi; Brenda T. McEvoy
Call Number: LB 1047.3 M33 2016
From daunting to doable in six steps

Difference Between a Literature Review and an Annotated Bibliography

	Annotated Bibliography	Literature Review
Purpose	Provides the reader with an ordered list of sources for additional reading. Usually also provides brief explanations of why each source is credible and relevant to the topic.	Provides an overview of a particular topic or problem by summarizing and explaining the most significant sources in the field.
Structure	Sources are separated from each other and are arranged alphabetically, so they will be easy to locate.	Sources are integrated into paragraphs based on the progression of the topical overview, and they may be mentioned more than once.
Components	Each item in the list uses the formal citation style (usually APA, MLA, or Chicago) to cite a single source and includes a short paragraph with a summary explaining its credibility and relevancy	Uses an introduction to explain the topic, synthesizes sources progressively as the topic is explained through the body, and then concludes by summarizing the overall background presented.
Questions to ask	What are the qualifications of the author(s)? What are the main points of the book or article? What was the purpose of the research? Who is the audience? Other scholars? Professionals? Is this source good for background information? In-depth? What is your assessment of the source? Do you agree or disagree? What are the limitations of the work? How does this resource compare to others on the same topic? What are the similarities and/or differences? Did you learn something new from this source that you hadn't thought of or read from another source?	What is the specific problem or question that my literature review explores? What type of literature review am I conducting? Am I looking at methodology? policy? qualitative research? What is the scope of my literature review? What types of publications am I using (e.g., journals, books, government docs, websites)? How deep and effective was my research? Have I found enough relevant material? Have I critically analyzed the sources I located? Have I compared what I located to other material I've found? Do the authors refer to one another? Rather than just summarizing my sources, have I provided an evaluation? Have I addressed strengths and limitations? Is the number of sources I’ve used appropriate for the length of my paper?