Single Search (EBSCO Discovery Service)

Summer 2024

Camosun Library's Single Search has a fresh, new look!

EBSCO has redesigned the user interface for EDS (EBSCO Discovery Service), known locally as Single Search. Camosun Library began using the new interface August 14, 2024. 

We will be offering staff and faculty workshops throughout the summer to help with this transition, and all Fall 2024 student workshops will use the new interface. The same great research content, with a new look!

Watch this guide for updates, or email libraryresearch@camosun.ca

Single Search is:

• Camosun Library's name for EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)
• A library discovery tool that brings together books, e-books, articles and many other Camosun Library resources in a single interface.
• Accessible on or off campus (log in with your Camosun domain account).

Single Search includes:

• records from the library catalogue (books, DVDs, and more)
• all EBSCO databases & ebooks Camosun Library subscribes to
• links to print and digital journal subscriptions
  • through Publication Finder (under Research Tools on the left menu)
• full text links to content from non-EBSCO databases (limited)
• many open access articles and ebooks

Single Search does NOT include:

• ProQuest databases
  • Canadian Business and Current  Affairs (CBCA Complete)
  • Canadian Major Dailies (newspapers)
  • ProQuest Ebooks
• Conference Board of Canada
• Canada Commons (Canadian Electronic Library) document collection
• streaming media collections

Use Single Search when you want to:

• search multiple databases using a single interface
• generate citations for books, videos, articles, etc.
• identify individual databases with relevant content
• find known items (try searching by citation or DOI)

Single Search may not be the best choice for:

• Canadian or Indigenous content
• specialized limiters (e.g. methodology)
• physical items
  • try searching the library catalogue directly
• newspaper articles
  • try Canadian Major Dailies