Research guides: Open Education Resources: Sciences

General Science resources

Open Science

Open Science Action Plan: 2021-2026
Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC)
Open Science and Data Platform
The Open Science and Data Platform provides access to science, data, publications and information about development activities across the country that can be used to understand the cumulative effects of human activities to support better decisions in the future.
Open Science Foundation
UNESCO Recommendation on Open Science
34 pages.

Pathways

Pathways to Associate of Science Diploma/Degree through OER
The common requirements of an Associate of Science two-year degree or diploma at all institutions that offer this credential in B.C. have basic requirements that fit most institutions. BCcampus aligned the known OER adoptions to the requirements of the Associate of Science credential to develop these recommendations.

Science Communication

The Mission, the Message, and the Medium: Science and Risk Communication in a Complex World (2019)
This textbook covers many of the principles of science communication, as well as the theory and practice of risk communication, specifically. The content is divided into three main sections: 1) the ‘mission’ (why you are communicating), 2) the ‘message’ (what you are communicating), and 3) the ‘medium’ (how you are communicating).

Indigenous Science

Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science, Book 1 Since Indigenous peoples have developed time-proven approaches to sustaining both community and environment, Elders and young people are concerned that this rich legacy of Indigenous Science with its wealth of environmental knowledge and the wisdom of previous generations could disappear if it is not respected, studied and understood by today's children and youth. A perspective where relationships between home place and all other beings that inhabit the earth is vitally important to all residents—both inheritors of ancient Indigenous Knowledge and wisdom, and newcomers who can experience the engagement, joy and promise of science instilled with a sense of place. This book takes a step forward toward preserving and actively using the knowledge, stories, and lessons for today and future generations, and with it a worldview that informs everyday attitudes toward the earth. Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science is far more than a set of research papers or curriculum studies. The project outputs include both, but they are incorporated into a theoretical structure that can provide the methodological basis for future efforts that attempt to develop culturally responsive Indigenous Science curricula in home places. It is not just one or two angels to organize, but multiple interwoven approaches and cases that give this project its exceptional importance. Thus, the project outputs have been organized into two books. Book 1 provides an overview of why traditional knowledge and wisdom should be included in the science curriculum, a window into the science and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America, Indigenous worldview, culturally responsive teaching strategies and curriculum models, and evaluative techniques. It is intended that the rich examples and cases, combined with the resources listed in the appendices, will enable teachers and students to explore Indigenous Science examples in the classroom; and in addition, support the development of culturally appropriate curriculum projects.
- This link opens in a new window
Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science, Book 2 Knowing Home attempts to capture the creative vision of Indigenous scientific knowledge and technology that is derived from an ecology of a home place. The traditional wisdom component of Indigenous Science—the values and ways of decision-making—assists humans in their relationship with each other, the land and water, and all of creation. Indigenous perspectives have the potential to give insight and guidance to the kind of environmental ethics and deep understanding that we must gain as we attempt to solve the increasingly complex problems of the 21st century. This book provides a window into the vast storehouse of innovations and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America. It is our hope that the Indigenous Science examples, research, and curriculum models will inspire deep reflection regarding the under-representation of Aboriginal students in the sciences. It is intended that the rich examples and cases, combined with the resources listed in the appendices, will enable teachers and students to explore Indigenous Science examples in the classroom, and in addition, support the development of curriculum projects in home places.
- This link opens in a new window

Biology

General

Concepts of Biology – 1st Canadian Edition by Charles Molnar and Jane Gair
Adopted at Camosun! This text also includes 80 interactive H5P activities that can be used.
Library Skills for 2nd Year Biological Sciences (2020)
This tutorial covers the library skills required for students in 200-level Biological Sciences courses at the University of Alberta.
more...less...
Covers these objectives:

Understand the difference between popular and scholarly sources and know the different types of scholarly sources
Know how to read a scholarly article
Learn how to effectively search for articles and access library material from home
Know how to properly cite sources and avoid plagiarism
List of Open Biology texts from BCcampus
Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory
The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open. Resources that carry Creative Commons or otherwise open licences are clearly labelled.
Biology LibreTexts Library
A collection of open textbooks, assignments, and other educational resources on biology subjects.

Anatomy & Physiology

Human Anatomy DigiGUIDE (2020)
Queensland University of Technology (QUT) Anatomy and Physiology Team
Human Biology: Human Anatomy and Physiology (2020)
This textbook is ideal for an introductory-level human biology course. It is aligned with the British Columbia Adult Basic Education learning outcomes for Provincial Level Biology, which is the equivalent of Grade 12 Anatomy and Physiology.
more...less...
This textbook begins with an introduction to sciences and the scientific method, and then addresses the human body in increasing scale: from biological molecules, to cells and tissues, to organs and all eleven organ systems, all with an overarching focus on health. The text employs clear writing, case studies for each chapter, interactive self-marking study activities, highlights of Indigenous knowledge and examples, a pop-up glossary, and links to resources for extending learning.
Human Anatomy Lab Manual
Designed to provide a foundation of knowledge in human anatomy and identification of anatomical structure through engaging activities and clinical application. The course will take a regional approach, beginning with a brief introduction to histology, radiology, and body systems followed by three sections covering different body regions: thorax, abdomen, and pelvis; head and neck; and the lower and upper extremities.
Virtual Human Anatomy Lab Manual
Designed to provide a foundation of knowledge in human anatomy and identification of anatomical structure through engaging activities and clinical application. The course will take a regional approach, beginning with a brief introduction to histology, radiology, and body systems followed by three sections covering different body regions: thorax, abdomen, and pelvis; head and neck; and the lower and upper extremities.

Bioinformatics

A Primer for Computational Biology
This book aims to teach these basics of scientific computing: skills that even in fields such as computer science are often gained informally over a long period of time. This book is intended for readers who have passing familiarity with computing.
more...less...
While these concepts will likely be useful to researchers in many fields, I frame most of the discussion and examples in the analysis of biological data, and thus assume some basic biological knowledge, including concepts such as genes, genomes, and proteins.
Applied Bioinformatics: Oregon State University (2019)
From Oregon State University. Please note that this is the first edition of the text. Applied Bioinformatics is frequently updated, and the current edition may be downloaded from the Applied Bioinformatics site.

Data sets & Ancillary Resources

An Interactive Introduction to Organismal and Molecular Biology
An interactive textbook that includes quizzes, simulations, interactive videos, and images with clickable hotspots. The first unit introduces students to the nature of science, including scientific controversies, and information literacy, including how to analyze literature and identify stakeholders. Unit 2 is organismal biology, including carbon cycling and population growth, and unit 3 is molecular biology with a focus on gene expression.
Biological Sciences Ancillary Materials
Includes video sets, open courses, etc. from GALILEO Open Learning Materials.
GBIF: Global Biodiversity Information Facility
GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and research infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
Macauly Library: Wildlife media archive
The Macaulay Library is the world’s premier scientific archive of natural history audio, video, and photographs. Although the Macaulay Library’s history is rooted in birds, the collection includes amphibians, fishes, and mammals, and the collection preserves recordings of each species’ behavior and natural history.
PhET: Free Online Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Earth Science
Free interactive simulations covering a diverse topics designed by the University of Colorado available in various languages.
Biology textbook playlist
A YouTube playlist containing a collection of biology-related videos by Camosun instructor, Charles Molnar.

Chemistry

List of Open Chemistry Texts from BCcampus
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
Open Educational Resources - Creative Commons licensed teaching and learning resources for all levels of science, technology, engineering, & math education. From the OER Commons.
Introductory Chemistry - 1st Canadian Edition The goal of this textbook is not to make you an expert. True expertise in any field is a years-long endeavor. Here I will survey some of the basic topics of chemistry. This survey should give you enough knowledge to appreciate the impact of chemistry in everyday life and, if necessary, prepare you for additional instruction in chemistry. Throughout each chapter, I present two features that reinforce the theme of the textbook—that chemistry is all around you. The first is a feature titled, appropriately, “Chemistry Is Everywhere.” Chemistry Is Everywhere” focuses on the personal hygiene products that you may use every morning: toothpaste, soap, and shampoo, among others. These products are chemicals, aren’t they? Ever wonder about the chemical reactions that they undergo to give you clean and healthy teeth or shiny hair? I will explore some of these chemical reactions in future chapters. But this feature makes it clear that chemistry is, indeed, everywhere. The other feature focuses on chemistry that you likely indulge in every day: eating and drinking. In the “Food and Drink App,” I discuss how the chemistry of the chapter applies to things that you eat and drink every day. Carbonated beverages depend on the behavior of gases, foods contain acids and bases, and we actually eat certain rocks. (Can you guess which rocks without looking ahead?) Cooking, eating, drinking, and metabolism—we are involved with all these chemical processes all the time. These two features allow us to see the things we interact with every day in a new light—as chemistry.
Introduction to Chemistry: General, Organic, and Biological v 1.0
This text includes content for both the Chemistry 101 and Chemistry 102 C-ID descriptors. The text provides end-of-chapter problems.
Introductory Chemistry Online
The text is accompanied by lecture slides, exam review slides, and algorithmic tutorials. Text at first link provides traditional format (including figures that accompany and expand upon text).
Beginning Chemistry v 1.0
This text includes content for preparatory chemistry courses. Version 2 of the text is available commercially.
First Year General Chemistry
Short succinct explanation of the basics of chemistry in easy to use language and examples.
Chemistry: Atoms First - 2e The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative.
Analytical Chemistry 2.0 Analytical chemistry is more than a collection of analytical methods and an understanding of equilibrium chemistry; it is an approach to solving chemical problems. Although equilibrium chemistry and analytical methods are important, their coverage should not come at the expense of other equally important topics. The introductory course in analytical chemistry is the ideal place in the undergraduate chemistry curriculum for exploring topics such as experimental design, sampling, calibration strategies, standardization, optimization, statistics, and the validation of experimental results. Analytical methods come and go, but best practices for designing and validating analytical methods are universal. Because chemistry is an experimental science it is essential that all chemistry students understand the importance of making good measurements.
OCLUE: Organic Chemistry, Life, the Universe & Everything Organic chemistry is the chemistry of carbon and carbon-containing compounds. Since the core structural, catalytic, information storage, and retrieval systems of organisms are carbon-based macromolecules, organic chemistry is of direct relevance to the life sciences. Just as importantly, the properties of carbon make possible an amazing range of molecules with unique properties, from small molecules to complex plastics and even more complex biomolecules.
CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe and Everything
CLUE was designed to help students attain a confident, competent, and coherent understanding of basic chemistry, in particular of the chemistry associated with organisms and their origins.
Chemistry and Global Awareness
This text covers underlying chemistry for topical subjects in society.
Chemistry 101 Lab Manual
This lab manual includes a semester-long set of wet chemistry experiments designed for a preparatory chemistry course. It is continually maintained by faculty at Santa Monica College.

Ancillary Resources

Chemistry Learning Objects Content items, practice items, and assessment items such as lab experiments, demos and techniques, and more. These resources are self-contained, digital or non-digital resources that can be used for learning, education or training. Learning objects can be organized to easily form collections of themed content, including traditionally designed courses.
PhET: Free Online Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Earth Science
Free interactive simulations covering a diverse topics designed by the University of Colorado available in various languages.
Selected ChemCollective Virtual Lab Activities, Tutorials, and Scenario-based activities
These activities can be used to supplement a lecture text by giving the students an interactive learning experience. For virtual labs, a goal is introduced in a one paragraph description.
Selected Case Studies from the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science
The National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science holds the copyright for all material but allows instructors to use and modify the activities to fit their classroom.
Selected activities from Chem Ed Xchange
The Division of Chemical Education, Inc. of the American Chemical Society holds the copyright for all content on the Chem Ed X website. Instructors are allowed to use the activities for their classrooms. The activities can be used to supplement a text with specific concepts. Several activities adapted for remote classrooms are available.
Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory
The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open. Resources that carry Creative Commons or otherwise open licences are clearly labelled.

Geology, Geography, and Earth Sciences

General Resources

SERC (Science Education Resource Center) SERC is a grant-funded office at Carleton College in Minnesota, founded to improve education in the Earth sciences and beyond. Today we are a team of 14 educators, researchers and technical specialists who have worked with over 100 award winning education projects across the STEM disciplines and allied fields. Engaging participants from more than 1,000 institutions of higher education, as well as K-12 curriculum developers and teachers, we have created one of the world’s largest collections of pedagogic resources.

Environmental Studies

Environmental Biology (2018)
Environmental Biology enables students to develop a nuanced understanding of today’s most pressing environmental issues. This text helps students grasp the scientific foundation of these issues so that they can better understand the world around them and their impact upon it. This open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues, from a biological perspective. The text is designed for an introductory-level college science course. Topics include the fundamentals of ecology, biodiversity, pollution, climate change, food production, and human population growth.
Environmental Science: A Canadian Perspective (2018)
This textbook is intended to provide the core elements of a curriculum for teaching environmental science at the introductory level in Canadian colleges and universities. This book is suitable for students beginning a program in environmental science, environmental studies, or sustainability. It is also appropriate for arts students who require a science elective, and for science students who require a non-major elective. This book was written from the ground-up to provide Canadian information and examples. This national context is integrated throughout the text, along with North American and global data that provide a broader perspective.
Introduction to Environmental Science: 2nd Edition (2017)
This course uses the basic principles of biology and earth science as a context for understanding environmental policies and resource management practices. Our planet is facing unprecedented environmental challenges, from oil spills to global climate change. Learn about the science behind these problems; preparing you to make an informed, invaluable contribution to Earth’s future.
The Ecosphere and Environmental Issues
This textbook is designed for introductory environmental studies and science students. The goal is to teach essential ecological concepts by linking them to key environmental issues. After an initial section on the nature of science and an overview of ecology, the textbook is divided into four sections, each addressing a key environmental concern: global climate change, eutrophication, biodiversity loss and food supply and security.
Collecting and Mapping Data: For Environmental Applications (2018)
Learn how to collect and import spatial features from the field, use web-based map tools to engage citizens, and incorporate the best available spatial data from public domain sources.

Geography

Laboratory Manual for Introduction to Physical Geography - 2nd ed. (2021)
This lab manual is a cross-institutional project from British Columbia (BC), Canada that provides 24 labs to be implemented within first year post-secondary physical geography courses. The labs have been developed to be easily adapted for various course structures, durations, and differing laboratory learning objectives set out by instructors.
Nature of Geographic Information Systems
The purpose of this text is to promote understanding of the Geographic Information Science and Technology enterprise (GIS&T, also known as "geospatial").
Open Geography eTextbook Resources
Website with links to Geography and Geospatial Technology OER including texbooks and lab manuals.
Physical Geography Lab Manual: The Atmosphere and Biosphere (2021)
Intended as an experiential learning companion to introductory university textbooks covering the subject area known as physical geography, this manual contains exercises dealing with the atmosphere and biosphere. A second companion physical geography lab manual, with exercises dealing with the hydrosphere and lithosphere, is planned to be released in the summer of 2023.
World Regional Geography (2019)
Introduces students to key themes and concepts in the discipline of geography through a study of the world’s regions.
more...less...
This text approaches geography as experts understand the discipline, focusing on connections and an in-depth understanding of core themes. This thematic approach, informed by pedagogical research, provides students with an introduction to thinking geographically. This text emphasizes depth over breadth by arranging each chapter around a central theme and then exploring that theme in detail as it applies to the particular region. In addition, while chapters are designed to stand alone and be rearranged or eliminated at the instructor’s discretion, the theme of globalization and inequality unites all of the regions discussed. This core focus enables students to draw connections between regions and to better understand the interconnectedness of our world. This text was written with the backward course design model in mind and the content of each chapter was structured around these learning objectives. Because of this backward design focus, the length of each chapter is considerably shorter than most traditional textbooks. The intention is for the instructor to supplement the text with problems, case studies, and news articles and to use the text as a springboard for discussing deeper issues.

Geoscience

Earth Exploration Toolbook
Developed by teams of scientists and educators, the Earth Exploration Toolbook (EET) is a collection of online Earth system science activities. Each activity, or chapter, introduces one or more scientific data sets and analysis tools that enables users to explore some aspect of the Earth system.
Geosciences LibreTexts Library
A collection of open textbooks, assignments, and other educational resources on the subject of geosciences.
Mineralogy
Free Textbook for College-Level Mineralogy Courses
Physical Geology - 2nd Edition by Steve Earl
Physical Geology is a comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more. It has a strong emphasis on examples from western Canada, especially British Columbia, and also includes a chapter devoted to the geological history of western Canada. The book is a collaboration of faculty from Earth Science departments at Universities and Colleges across British Columbia and elsewhere.
The Story of Earth: An Observational Guide (2nd ed.)
Lab manual for a historical geology lab released by the University of Houston for Fall 2023. Focuses on student observations.

Ocean Science

Introduction to Ocean Science
This textbook provides an introduction to topics in ocean science, including water, coasts, ocean ecosystems, the ocean floor, tides, life in the ocean, human impact on the ocean, and more.
Introduction to Oceanography
Appropriate to an introductory-level university course in oceanography. Covers the fundamental geological, chemical, physical and biological processes in the ocean, with an emphasis on the North Atlantic region.

Ancillary Resources

Practical Meteorology: An Algebra-based Survey of Atmospheric Science The author designed this book for students and professionals who want to understand and apply basic meteorological concepts, but who don’t need to derive equations. To make this book accessible to more people, the author converted the equations into algebra. With algebraic approximations to the atmosphere, you can see the physical meaning of each term and you can plug in numbers to get usable answers. No previous knowledge of meteorology is needed — the book starts from the basics. Your background should include algebra, trig, and classical physics. This book could serve the fields of Atmospheric Science, Meteorology, Environmental Science, Engineering, Air Quality, Climatology, and Geography. Readers like you asked to see solved examples, to enhance your understanding and speed your ability to apply the concepts to your own situations. To fill this need, the author added “Sample Application” boxes for almost every equation in the book. This book is designed to be both a textbook and a reference. As a textbook, the end of each chapter includes extensive homework exercises in categories inspired by Bloom’s taxonomy of learning actions: “Broaden Knowledge & Comprehension”; “Apply”; “Evaluate & Analyze”; and “Synthesize”.
Processing UAS Photogrammetric Images in Agisoft Photoscan Professional A comprehensive manual describing the process of preparing the DJI Phantom 3 Professional for photogrammetric image capture using a pre-programmed mission plan.
Show Me Earth Science: A Curated Collection of Earth Science Videos
An Edited Collection of Resources Built by Learners, for Learners
R Tutorials
R is a programming language and free software environment for statistical computing and graphics supported by the R Foundation for Statistical Computing. The R language is widely used among statisticians and data miners for developing statistical software and data analysis.
Forest Measurements: An Applied Approach This is a forest measurements textbook written for field technicians. Silvicultural applications and illustrations are provided to demonstrate the relevance of the measurements. Special “technique tips” for each skill are intended to help increase data collection accuracy and confidence. These include how to avoid common pitfalls, effective short cuts, and essentials for recording field data correctly. The emphasis is on elementary skills; it is not intended to be a timber cruising guide.

Math & Statistics

General

College Mathematics for Everyday Life - 2nd ed. (2015)
This text was written for a college-level liberal arts math class. It addresses math concepts that most people will encourter as part of their everyday life, including statistics, probablility, growth, finance, graph theory, voting systems, fair division, apportionment, and geometric symmetry and the golden ratio. Each chapter includes a set of homework questions for practice.
Math Exam / Education Resources wiki
A place to learn about mathematics created by the UBC mathematical community.
Past exams with fully worked-out and reviewed solutions, video lectures & pencasts by topic, and much more.
American Institute of Mathematics Approved Open Textbooks
Open textbooks grouped by course title. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board. Also includes links to supplemental course materials to support the approved textbooks or serve as resources for reading courses and independent study.
Technical Mathematics (2021)
This developmental-level mathematics textbook is intended for career-technical students.
Elementary Differential Equations with Boundary Value Problems (2014) Written for students in science, engineering, and mathematics who have completed calculus through partial differentiation. If your syllabus includes Chapter 10 (Linear Systems of Differential Equations), your students should have some preparation in linear algebra. In writing this book, the author aimed to make the language easy to understand. As an elementary text, this book is written in an informal but mathematically accurate way, illustrated by appropriate graphics. The author has tried to formulate mathematical concepts succinctly in language that students can understand and has minimized the number of explicitly stated theorems and definitions, preferring to deal with concepts in a more conversational way, copiously illustrated by 299 completely worked out examples. Where appropriate, concepts and results are depicted in 188 figures. This text also includes 2041 numbered exercises, many with several parts. They range in difficulty from routine to very challenging.
Combinatorics: Enumeration, Graph Theory, and Design Theory (2023)
Combinatorics provides an introduction to enumeration, graph theory, and design theory. It is aimed at upper-level undergraduate students and the exercises expect some mathematical sophistication, including a reasonable ability to construct proofs. The text is designed to be used in an undergraduate course, but could be suitable for independent study by a student with some mathematical background and understanding of proofs. It does not assume any background knowledge of combinatorics.
Book of Proof (3rd ed.)
This book is an introduction to the standard methods of proving mathematical theorems. It has been approved by the American Institute of Mathematics' Open Textbook Initiative.
Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook (2021)

Algebra

Elementary Algebra - 2e Elementary Algebra - 2e is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester elementary algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics. The second edition contains detailed updates and accuracy revisions to address comments and suggestions from users. Dozens of faculty experts worked through the text, exercises and problems, graphics, and solutions to identify areas needing improvement. Though the authors made significant changes and enhancements, exercise and problem numbers remain nearly the same in order to ensure a smooth transition for faculty.
Intermediate Algebra - 2e Intermediate Algebra - 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester intermediate algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. The material is presented as a sequence of clear steps, building on concepts presented in prealgebra and elementary algebra courses. The second edition contains detailed updates and accuracy revisions to address comments and suggestions from users. Dozens of faculty experts worked through the text, exercises and problems, graphics, and solutions to identify areas needing improvement. Though the authors made significant changes and enhancements, exercise and problem numbers remain nearly the same in order to ensure a smooth transition for faculty.
College Algebra - 2nd ed. (2021)
College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.
Linear Algebra with Applications - 2021A Linear Algebra with Applications by W. Keith Nicholson, traditionally published for many years is now being released as an open educational resource and part of Lyryx with Open Texts! Supporting today’s students and instructors requires much more than a textbook, which is why Dr. Nicholson opted to work with Lyryx Learning. Overall, the aim of the textbook is to achieve a balance among computational skills, theory, and applications of linear algebra. It is a relatively advanced introduction to the ideas and techniques of linear algebra targeted for science and engineering students who need to understand not only how to use these methods but also gain insight into why they work. The contents have enough flexibility to present a traditional introduction to the subject, or to allow for a more applied course. Chapters 1–4 contain a one-semester course for beginners whereas Chapters 5–9 contain a second semester course. The textbook is primarily about real linear algebra with complex numbers being mentioned when appropriate (reviewed in Appendix A).
A First Course in Linear Algebra - 2021A A First Course in Linear Algebra, originally by K. Kuttler, has been redesigned by the Lyryx editorial team as a first course for the general students who have an understanding of basic high school algebra and intend to be users of linear algebra methods in their profession, from business & economics to science students. All major topics of linear algebra are available in detail, as well as justifications of important results. In addition, connections to topics covered in advanced courses are introduced. The textbook is designed in a modular fashion to maximize flexibility and facilitate adaptation to a given course outline and student profile. Each chapter begins with a list of student learning outcomes, and examples and diagrams are given throughout the text to reinforce ideas and provide guidance on how to approach various problems. Suggested exercises are included at the end of each section, with selected answers at the end of the textbook.
Matrix Algebra with Computational Applications
Matrix Algebra with Computational Applications is a collection of Open Educational Resource (OER) materials designed to introduce students to the use of Linear Algebra to solve real-world problems. These materials were developed specifically for students and instructors working in a "flipped classroom" model that emphasizes hands-on problem-solving activities during class meetings, with students watching lectures and completing readings and assignments outside of the classroom.

Calculus

Calculus: Early Transcendentals (2021A) Calculus: Early Transcendentals, originally by D. Guichard, has been redesigned by the Lyryx editorial team. Substantial portions of the content, examples, and diagrams have been redeveloped, with additional contributions provided by experienced and practicing instructors. This approachable text provides a comprehensive understanding of the necessary techniques and concepts of the typical Calculus course sequence, and is suitable for the standard Calculus I, II and III courses. To practice and develop an understanding of topics, this text offers a range of problems, from routine to challenging, with selected solutions. As this is an open text, instructors and students are encouraged to interact with the textbook through annotating, revising, and reusing to your advantage. Suggestions for contributions to this growing textbook are welcome.
Calculus: Volume 1
Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration.
Calculus: Volume 2
Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates.
Calculus: Volume 3
Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency.

Volume 3 covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations.
Active Calculus Multivariable In Active Calculus Multivariable, we endeavor to actively engage students in learning the subject through an activity-driven approach in which the vast majority of the examples are completed by students. Where many texts present a general theory of calculus followed by substantial collections of worked examples, we instead pose problems or situations, consider possibilities, and then ask students to investigate and explore. Following key activities or examples, the presentation normally includes some overall perspective and a brief synopsis of general trends or properties, followed by formal statements of rules or theorems. While we often offer plausibility arguments for such results, rarely do we include formal proofs. It is not the intent of this text for the instructor or author to demonstrate to students that the ideas of calculus are coherent and true, but rather for students to encounter these ideas in a supportive, leading manner that enables them to begin to understand for themselves why calculus is both coherent and true.
Differential Calculus for the Life Sciences Calculus arose as a tool for solving practical scientific problems through the centuries. However, it is often taught as a technical subject with rules and formulas (and occasionally theorems), devoid of its connection to applications. In this textbook, the applications form an important focal point, with emphasis on life sciences. This places the techniques and concepts into practical context, as well as motivating quantitative approaches to biology taught to undergraduates. While many of the examples have a biological flavour, the level of biology needed to understand those examples is kept at a minimum. The problems are motivated with enough detail to follow the assumptions, but are simplified for the purpose of pedagogy.

Statistics

BCcampus Open Texts on Statistics
List of BC Campus open textbooks on Math & Statistics
Introductory Business Statistics (2017)
Designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical business examples, scenarios, and exercises.
Introductory Business Statistics with Interactive Spreadsheets - 1st Canadian Edition (2015) An adaptation of Thomas K. Tiemann's book, "Introductory Business Statistics". In addition to covering basics such as populations, samples, the difference between data and information, and sampling distributions, descriptive statistics and frequency distributions, normal and t-distributions, hypothesis testing, t-tests, f-tests, analysis of variance, non-parametric tests, and regression basics, the following information has been added: the chi-square test and categorical variables, null and alternative hypotheses for the test of independence, simple linear regression model, least squares method, coefficient of determination, confidence interval for the average of the dependent variable, and prediction interval for a specific value of the dependent variable. This new edition also allows readers to learn the basic and most commonly applied statistical techniques in business in an interactive way -- when using the web version -- through interactive Excel spreadsheets. All information has been revised to reflect Canadian content.
Significant Statistics: An Introduction to Statistics Significant Statistics: An Introduction to Statistics is intended for the one-semester introduction to statistics course for students who are not mathematics or engineering majors. It focuses on the interpretation of statistical results, especially in real world settings, and assumes that students have an understanding of intermediate algebra. In addition to end of section practice and homework sets, examples of each topic are explained step-by-step throughout the text and followed by a 'Your Turn' problem that is designed as extra practice for students.

Physics & Astronomy

Astronomy

BCIT ASTRONOMY 7000: A SURVEY OF ASTRONOMY Astronomy is written in clear non-technical language, with the occasional touch of humor and a wide range of clarifying illustrations. It has many analogies drawn from everyday life to help non-science majors appreciate, on their own terms, what our modern exploration of the universe is revealing. The book can be used for either a one-semester or two-semester introductory course (bear in mind, you can customize your version and include only those chapters or sections you will be teaching.) It is made available free of charge in electronic form (and low cost in printed form) to students around the world.
Astronomy Astronomy is written in clear non-technical language, with the occasional touch of humor and a wide range of clarifying illustrations. It has many analogies drawn from everyday life to help non-science majors appreciate, on their own terms, what our modern exploration of the universe is revealing. Astronomy was written, updated, and reviewed by a broad range of astronomers and astronomy educators in a strong community effort. Astronomy has information and images from the New Horizons exploration of Pluto, the discovery of gravitational waves, the Rosetta Mission to Comet C-G, and many other recent projects in astronomy. The discussion of exoplanets has been updated with recent information—indicating not just individual examples, but trends in what sorts of planets seem to be most common. Black holes receive their own chapter, and the role of supermassive black holes in active galaxies and galaxy evolution is clearly explained. It is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements of introductory astronomy courses nationwide. Because there are many different ways to teach introductory astronomy, we have made the text as flexible as we could. Math examples are shown in separate sections throughout, so that you can leave out the math or require it as you deem best. Each section of a chapter treats a different aspect of the topic being covered; a number of sections could be omitted in shorter overview courses and can be included where you need more depth. This book is written to help students understand the big picture rather than get lost in random factoids to memorize. The language is accessible and inviting. Helpful diagrams and summary tables review and encapsulate the ideas being covered. Each chapter contains interactive group activities you can assign to help students work in teams and pool their knowledge.
Astronomy Lab Florida State College at Jacksonville

Physics

College Physics College Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus. College Physics includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities for traditional physics application problems.
University Physics - Volume 1 University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, and Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics. This textbook emphasizes connections between between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.
University Physics: Volume 2
University Physics - Volume 3 University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, and Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics. This textbook emphasizes connections between between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.
Introduction to Electricity, Magnetism, and Circuits This textbook emphasizes connections between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigour inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.
Conceptual Physics For a semester-length course, all seven chapters can be covered. For a shorter course, the book is designed so that chapters 1, 2, and 5 are the only ones that are required for continuity; any of the others can be included or omitted at the instructor’s discretion, with the only constraint being that chapter 6 requires chapter 4.
Body Physics - Motion to Metabolism Body Physics sticks to the basic functioning of the human body, from motion to metabolism, as a common theme through which fundamental physics topics are introduced. Related practice, reinforcement and Lab activities are included. See the front matter for more details. Additional supplementary material, activities, and information can be found at: https://openoregon.pressbooks.pub/bpsupmat/
Spiral Physics - Algebra Based Spiral Physics is a research based introductory physics curriculum developed at Monroe Community College. There are several important features of this curriculum. It integrates text and workbook activities in a modular fashion, and arranges topics so that students receive repeated exposure to concepts with increased complexity. It makes use of alternative problem types, including goal-less problem statements, ranking tasks, and critical analysis tasks. It restricts the equation set available for student use and is designed to facilitate active learning.
List of Open Physics Texts from BCcampus
Physics 103 and 104 Teaching Guide From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Physics
MyOpenMath An open platform for developing assessments. It has been used extensively to create homework sets for many math and physics courses. Online Question Banks and Course Templates for CCC Lower-Division Physics Courses (C-IDs: 105, 110, 205, 210, and 215) that Utilize OER Textbooks by OpenStax are as follows: PHYS 105 – Course ID: 77794, Enrollment Key: CollegePHYS1 PHYS 110 – Course ID: 86217, Enrollment Key: CollegePHYS2 PHYS 205 – Course ID: 93601, Enrollment Key: cid.205.template PHYS 210 – Course ID: 93976, Enrollment Key: cid.210.template PHYS 215 – Course ID: 75880, Enrollment Key: cid.215.template
Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open. Resources that carry Creative Commons or otherwise open licences are clearly labelled.

Ancillary Resources

Modern Physics with Numerical Methods This is an open-source, modern physics textbook typically for the third-semester students majoring in engineering, physics, or chemistry. An emphasis is placed on fundamental principles as well as numerical solutions to equations where no analytical solutions exist. The content begins with optics and uses that as a stepping stone to wave phenomena and quantum systems.
Classical Mechanics with Numerical Methods A book on introductory mechanics and numerical methods for lower-division undergraduate students in engineering or physical sciences. This resource was last updated in 2019.
The Physics Classroom An online, free to use physics website developed primarily for beginning physics students and their teachers. The website features a variety of sections intended to support both teachers and students in the tasks of learning and teaching physics.
PhysicsLAB A collection for introductory physics which integrates lessons, labs, practice problems, assessments, AP review exercises, simulations, and quizzes in one easily-searched location. Although there is no fee to access these materials, PhysicsLAB sage and copyright requirements are provided on the site’s PhysicsLab Directions page.
ComPADRE The Digital Library for the educational resources used by educators, researchers, and students in physics and astronomy. This service of the American Association of Physics Teachers is designed to help teachers and learners find, and use, high quality resources through web-based collections and services tailored to their specific needs.

Climate Science & Sustainability

OpenClimate
Website includes links to recorded lectures and other resources.
Sustainability A Comprehensive Foundation (2012)
Created by faculty from the University of Illinois, this open textbook explores essential concepts related to sustainability from every branch of knowledge – including engineering and the applied arts, natural and social sciences, and the humanities.
Climate Resource Library
Cllection of links from the Canadian Centre for Climate Services to climate datasets, tools, guidance and related resources. The sources include the federal government, provincial and territorial governments, national professional organizations, climate consortia and established international organizations.