Research guides: Open Education Resources: English Language Development (ELD)

ELD

In the Community An English language skills textbook to help ELL students acquire communication skills in the community (listening, speaking, reading, and writing).
In the Workplace: An Intermediate Integrated Skills Textbook This is an English language skills textbook to help ELL students acquire communication skills in the workplace (listening, speaking, reading, and writing). The book is aimed at Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) levels 5/6, focusing on intercultural skills and essential skills: reading text, document use, writing, oral communication, thinking skills, working with others, and computer use. The digital PDF file can be printed or used from a computer. All of the multimedia files can be accessed from the PDF if there is internet access. For offline use, the video and audio files can be downloaded below.
Literacy in the Everyday: A Literacy-Based Approach for the Language Classroom
Open ESL Resources Resources are listed in order of level, from Transfer Level English Equivalent (TLEE) to 4 levels or more below TLEE.
Transition with Purpose: Pathways from English Language to Academic Study This Open Access Textbook will guide students through their English language to academic degree studies. Part one of this textbook is a guide for moving from ESL study to academic study at a university. Part two focuses on how academic skills are used across various disciplines and is comprised of activities and assignments designed to practice these skills.
Urban Literacy: Learning to Read the City Around You

Composition Resources

Advanced Community College ESL Composition: An Integrated Skills Approach This textbook is for advanced ESL writing classes. It takes a theme-based approach, with content from professional writers, and gives students the opportunity to delve deeply into the readings, learn annotation strategies, and apply critical thinking to their assignments.
Advanced Community College ESL Composition: An Integrated Skills Approach Provides a framework for building skills in writing and critical thinking. It provides access to published samples from professional authors along with essay drafts from ESL students who have polished their skills in their respective writing courses.
Putting the Pieces Together: Reason and Writing for Success Putting the Pieces Together: Reason and Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition; This text is designed as a companion resource to WRIT: Reason and Writing, which is Fanshawe College's introductory writing curriculum.
WAC and Second-Language Writers: Research Towards Linguistically and Culturally Inclusive Programs and Practices This book looks at the differing perspectives, educational experiences, and voices of second-language writers. The chapters within this collection not only report new research but also share a wealth of pedagogical, curricular, and programmatic practices relevant to second-language writers. Representing a range of institutional perspectives—including those of students and faculty at public universities, community colleges, liberal arts colleges, and English-language schools—and a diverse set of geographical and cultural contexts, the editors and contributors report on work taking place in the United States, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East.
College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success This is a Georgia State University faculty team’s remix of Saylor’s Business English for Success intended for their own ESL learners.
Writing, Reading, and College Success: A First-Year Composition Course for All Learners Open textbook. Revision of Writing for Success that includes instructional scaffolding for students who require additional support. New sections on college readiness and success, reading skills, the reading-writing connection, grammar, and an ESL compendium have been added.
Introduction to Academic Writing for ESOL, 2nd edition
Discover: ESL Combined Skills Level D (High Intermediate) Collection
College Transition ESL Bridge to Writing 121: Community Theme Collection
Transition with Purpose: Pathways from English Language to Academic Study Meant to guide students through their English language to academic degree studies. Includes culture and expectations in an American university, transferring academic skills from ESL to content-specific academic courses, and exercises to be academically successful.
Better Writing from the Beginning: An Open Text on the College Writing Process Not ESL specific
WR122 - English Composition: Argumentation Open course. Not ESL specific. Designed to tie with The (In)Credible Argument. Can be downloaded and imported into Moodle.
It’s All Greek to Me! Using Authentic Readings to Improve Knowledge of the English Language and Western Culture Includes stories, academic articles in various disciplines, vocabulary crossover in literary and academic readings, connections to local, American, and Western culture, and opportunities for critical thinking for advanced students of ESAL.
ESL Writing Online Workshop Online tutorial

Grammar Resources

ESL Grammar Levels 1-5 Books are based on grammar, but also include vocabulary, some pronunciation, punctuation, capitalization, and model paragraphs.
Academic ESL Grammar Books: Levels 1-5 A collection of English-grammar books ranging in levels from beginner to advanced.
Explorations 1: Grammar for the Experienced Beginner Welcome to Explorations 1: Grammar for the Experienced Beginner. This English grammar textbook was designed for a class of Clackamas Community College (CCC) ESOL students who need only a review of the BE verb and are ready to learn the simple present and present progressive tenses.
Mobile ESL This is a course of lessons and practice on the system of English. It is divided into eighty-six sections. Each section covers an area of basic grammar and contains a number of exercises. The exercises are not all the same length. Some exercises have only five questions, but others have up to nine questions. This is because some areas of grammar are more important than others. This course tests your knowledge of English grammar and, more importantly, it gives you practice in using your knowledge to make correct and appropriate sentences. When you do the exercises, you will see that grammar is not just a game. Grammar has meaning - if you change some of the grammar in a sentence, you also change its meaning.
ESL Grammar The Way You Like It, Levels 1-5 These books were created by Don Bissonnette for students and teachers of English as a Second Language (ESL). I taught ESL and EFL for 45 years and wanted to provide books and resource material for FREE to anyone who might want or need formal English. In these books, which were based on grammar, one can also find vocabulary, some pronunciation, punctuation, capitalization, and model paragraphs.
WR121 - English Composition Open course. Not ESL specific. Designed to tie with Better Writing from the Beginning. Can be downloaded and imported into Moodle.
Writing with Grammar Practice grammar with authentic writing and speaking activities.

Communication, Listening, and Speaking

Communication Beginnings: An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language Learners This textbook is designed for advanced beginning-intermediate English language learners in an academic English program. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter also focuses on 10 target words from the New General Service List of English vocabulary and reviews basic grammar points. The textbook includes an audio component that consists of recorded conversations of native and non-native English speakers, as well as links to additional listening resources on the web.
American English Speech (Open Course) Learn how to communicate with the sounds and music of American English. Improve your pronunciation in Standard American English by dealing with the sounds of the words that you speak. NOTE: This is a course on speaking American English, not learning the English language.
CC ESL College Transition (Level F) Listening & Speaking Supplementary materials. An interesting collection that may be of interest to the ELL Department.
Green Tea Intermediate English Communication OER Open textbook. Language learning; listening skills.
Communication Beginnings: An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language Learners For advanced beginning-intermediate English language learners in an academic English program. Each chapter covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, vocabulary, basic grammar points, interviews, discussions, and conversation activities. Also includes an audio component that consists of recorded conversations of native and non-native English speakers, as well as links to additional listening resources on the web.
eNunciate! The eNunciate site is an openly licensed resource that developed that was born out of the collaboration of the Department of Linguistics and the Department of Asian Studies, so that the former could apply the ultrasound technology to test biovisual feedback (Gick, et al. 2008) in the context of the second language learning, and the latter could provide students with video materials to help them to improve their pronunciation outside the class. The site includes: instructional videos, phonetics videos, an interactive IPA chart, and instructional resources for Japanese and English pronunciation. These resources were co-created by students. The eNunciate site resource is open and licensed as Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International.
Accelerated English Ashley Paul, Bunker Hill Community College