Adopted at Camosun! The first comprehensive, peer-reviewed open access textbook for biological anthropology courses. Used in ANTH 260
The History of Our Tribe: HomininiWhere did we come from? What were our ancestors like? Why do we differ from other animals? How do scientists trace and construct our evolutionary history? The History of Our Tribe: Hominini provides answers to these questions and more. The book explores the field of paleoanthropology past and present. Beginning over 65 million years ago, Welker traces the evolution of our species, the environments and selective forces that shaped our ancestors, their physical and cultural adaptations, and the people and places involved with their discovery and study. It is designed as a textbook for a course on Human Evolution but can also serve as an introductory text for relevant sections of courses in Biological or General Anthropology or general interest. It is both a comprehensive technical reference for relevant terms, theories, methods, and species and an overview of the people, places, and discoveries that have imbued paleoanthropology with such fascination, romance, and mystery.
Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural AnthropologyThis textbook is a collection of chapters on the essential topics in cultural anthropology. Different from other introductory textbooks, this book is an edited volume with each chapter written by a different author. Each author has written from their experiences working as an anthropologist and that personal touch makes for an accessible introduction to cultural anthropology.
The authors' approach to cultural anthropology is holistic. They see the interconnectedness of cultural practices and, in all of the chapters, they emphasize the comparison of cultures and the ways of life of different peoples.
Human Security in World Affairs: Problems and Opportunities (2nd ed.)This first and only university textbook of human security is intended as an introductory text from senior undergraduate level up and includes chapters by 24 authors,from BC, Canada, and around the globe, that encompass the full spectrum of disciplines contributing to the human security field. It is based on the four pillar model of socio-political security, economic security, environmental security and health security. The chapters include learning outcomes, extension activities,and suggested readings; a comprehensive glossary lists key terms used throughout the book. It can be used in courses on international studies and relations, political studies, history, human geography, anthropology and human ecology, futures studies, applied social studies, public health, and more.
Penn MuseumVideos on the study of human history and diversity sponsored by the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.
Interactive Fossilsearning objects are content items, practice items, and assessment items. These resources are self-contained, digital or non-digital resources that can be used for learning, education or training. Learning objects can be organized to easily form collections of themed content, including traditionally designed courses.
Communications
Understanding Media and CultureThis book’s title tells its intent. It is written to help you understand media and culture. The media and culture are so much a part of our days that sometimes it is difficult to step back and appreciate and apprehend their great impact on our lives. The book’s title, and the book itself, begin with a focus squarely on media. Think of your typical day. If you are like many people, you wake to a digital alarm clock or perhaps your cell phone. Soon after waking, you likely have a routine that involves some media. Some people immediately check the cell phone for text messages. Others will turn on the computer and check Facebook, email, or websites. Some people read the newspaper. Others listen to music on an iPod or CD. Some people will turn on the television and watch a weather channel, cable news, or Sports Center. Heading to work or class, you may chat on a cell phone or listen to music. Your classes likely employ various types of media from course management software to PowerPoint presentations to DVDs to YouTube. You may return home and relax with video games, television, movies, more Facebook, or music. You connect with friends on campus and beyond with text messages or Facebook. And your day may end as you fall asleep to digital music. Media for most of us are entwined with almost every aspect of life and work. Understanding media will not only help you appreciate the role of media in your life but also help you be a more informed citizen, a more savvy consumer, and a more successful worker. Media influence all those aspects of life as well.
Media Studies 101Media Studies 101 is the open educational resource for media studies studies in New Zealand, Australia, and Pacifica. We have constructed this text so it can be read in a number of ways. You may wish to follow the structured order of 'chapters' like you would in a traditional printed textbook. Each section builds on and refers back to previous sections to build up your knowledge and skills. Alternatively, you may want to go straight to the section you are interested in -- links will help guide you back to definitions and key ideas if you need to refresh your knowledge or understand a new concept.
Media, Society, Culture and YouMedia, Society, Culture, and You is an approachable introductory Mass Communication text that covers major mass communication terms and concepts including "digital culture." It discusses various media platforms and how they are evolving as Information and Communication Technologies change.
Public Service Media Initiatives in the Global SouthThis book makes an important and timely contribution to an increasingly global discourse on the meanings, values and roles of public service in media provision today. While acknowledging the significant contributions of the public service broadcasting heritage in the Global North in efforts to establish such provision in the Global South, the contributors explain why simple imitation is unlikely to ever work well enough across such a diverse range of countries and regions with crucial differences in their histories, languages, cultures and experiences.
Trends in Digital and Social MediaSocial media and other digital devices have entered our collective bloodstream. This ebook touches upon the human experience of contemporary trends that affect how we perceive ourselves, others, and society.
The Social Media ReaderThis book covers a wide-ranging topical terrain, much like the internet itself, with particular emphasis on collaboration and sharing, the politics of social media and social networking, Free Culture and copyright politics, and labour and ownership. Theorizing new models of collaboration, identity, commerce, copyright, ownership, and labor, these essays outline possibilities for cultural democracy that arise when the formerly passive audience becomes active cultural creators, while warning of the dystopian potential of new forms of surveillance and control.
Visual CommunicationA general education textbook for the study of visual rhetoric and the use of visual media as a means for conveying information to an audience. In particular, we will limit our attention to the use of still imagery because of the vast, openly available repositories of visual media and the simplicity of manipulating them.
Introduction to Professional CommunicationsNo matter what your field is, having professional communication skills are essential to success in today's workplace. This book covers key business communications topics that will help you in your career, including intercultural communication, team work, professional writing, audience analysis and adapting messages, document formatting, oral communication, and more.
Writing for Success - 1st Canadian H5P EditionWriting for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. It includes over 150 interactive H5P activities.
Writing for Strategic Communication IndustriesGood writing skills are important in today’s competitive work environment. This is especially the case for communication-related professions such as public relations, brand communication, journalism, and marketing. Writing for Strategic Communication Industries emphasizes practical application of academic inquiry to help readers improve their writing skills. This book has straightforward chapters that use real-world examples to illustrate key points. It discusses different writing styles and techniques and provides examples of communication materials such as press releases, creative briefs, feature articles, and more. It includes embedded videos of insights from communication professionals, tips on pitching to the media, and a collection of popular sources for further explanation.
Communication for Business Professionals - Canadian Editionhis books provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor. The text includes a number of features such as learning objectives, exercises, real world examples, key terms, and post-chapter assessments.This text is adapted from Business Communication for Success. This 2018 adaptation has significantly reduced the size and scope of the original publication and added Canadian examples. This open textbook is designed in 12 chapters featuring a spectrum of current and relevant Canadian business communication topics.
Web Literacy for Student Fact-CheckersThis is an unabashedly practical guide for the student fact-checker. It supplements generic information literacy with the specific web-based techniques that can get you closer to the truth on the web more quickly. We will show you how to use date filters to find the source of viral content, how to assess the reputation of a scientific journal in less than five seconds, and how to see if a tweet is really from the famous person you think it is or from an impostor. We’ll show you how to find pages that have been deleted, figure out who paid for the website you’re looking at, and whether the weather portrayed in that viral video actual matches the weather in that location on that day. We’ll show you how to check a Wikipedia page for recent vandalism, and how to search the text of almost any printed book to verify a quote. We’ll teach you to parse URLs and scan search result blurbs so that you are more likely to get to the right result on the first click. And we’ll show you how to avoid baking confirmation bias into your search terms. In other words, we’ll teach you web literacy by showing you the unique opportunities and pitfalls of searching for truth on the web. Crazy, right?
Professional Communications OER (4 Modules)This Open Educational Resource (OER), developed by Olds College is collaboration with the Government of Alberta, is a series of modules intended for use in Higher Education courses or by independent learners. This resource is useful for instructors whose courses cover introductory communication skills, workplace communication, technical communication, or business writing. It contains four modules (Foundations, Writing, Presentations, and Interpersonal), each with its own lesson plans, assessments, and supporting materials. Below, you will find online access to the entire series, plus an instructor overview of the modules. For the PDF and editable files, and instructor resources for each individual module, select the FIND links below.
Technical Writing EssentialsThis open textbook is designed to introduce readers to the basics of professional communications in technical fields: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills.
The Mission, the Message, and the MediumThis textbook covers many of the principles of science communication, as well as the theory and practice of risk communication, specifically. The content is divided into three main sections: 1) the ‘mission’ (why you are communicating), 2) the ‘message’ (what you are communicating), and 3) the ‘medium’ (how you are communicating). We have tried to include enough diversity of ideas to give you something to ‘chew on’ regardless of your background, education, or experience in communication. However, the textbook is, and will always be, a work in progress. It will expand and mature each year as we continue our communication journey, learning from our students and the world around us.
Advanced Professional Communicationhis resource is designed to guide college students in advancing their existing skills in communication by using a principled approach to business communication for managerial and leadership success in the modern workplace.
Business Writing For EveryoneBusiness Writing For Everyone is an inclusive guide to writing in the workplace. The book takes a process-oriented, storytelling approach to composition: focusing less on genre and more on the decisions that effective business communicators make. Business Writing For Everyone also contains interactive H5P activities for students to test their learning, and activities for further reflection that instructors can use in the classroom or assign as homework.
Technical Writing EssentialsIntroduction to Professional Communications in the Technical Fields. This open textbook is designed to introduce readers to the basics of technical communication: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills.
Communication @ WorkCommunication @ Work is designed to guide college students in developing the vital communication skills that are necessary to succeed in the modern workplace. It is conveniently presented in a variety of AODA-compliant formats and written in the reader-friendly style of a professional email between colleagues.
Communication Training and Development (2nd ed.)This new edition builds on the strengths of the popular first edition, providing an interesting, practical discussion of the interrelationship between communication and the field of training and development.
Reframing Digital Humanities: Conversations with Digital HumanistsDefining digital humanities is a unique academic challenge. In this volume, Julian Chambliss, Professor of English at Michigan State University, explores the meaning, practice, and implication of digital humanities by talking to scholars deeply engaged with digital methods and the promise they hold for the humanities.
Linguistics/RhetoricSelected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.
Criminology
Introduction to Criminal Investigation: Processes, Practices and ThinkingIntroduction to Criminal Investigation, Processes, Practices, and Thinking, as the title suggests, is a teaching text describing and segmenting criminal investigations into its component parts to illustrate the craft of criminal investigation. Delineating criminal investigation within the components of task-skills and thinking-skills, this book describes task-skills such incident response, crime scene management, evidence management, witness management, and forensic analysis, as essential foundations supporting the critical thinking-skills of offence validation and theory development for the creation of effective investigative plans aimed at forming reasonable grounds for belief. The goal of the text is to assist the reader in forming their own structured mental map of investigative thinking practices.
Global Corruption: Its Regulation under International Conventions, US, UK, and Canadian Law and Practice 4th EditionThis book has been specifically created to make it easier for professors to offer a law school course on global corruption. It is also designed as a resource tool for all persons working in the anti-corruption field. The first chapter sets out the general context of global corruption: its nature and extent, and some views on its historical, social, economic and political dimensions. Each subsequent chapter sets out international standards and requirements in respect to combatting corruption — mainly in the UN Convention Against Corruption (UNCAC) and the OECD Bribery of Foreign Officials Convention (OECD Convention).
The laws of the United States and United Kingdom are then set out as examples of how those Convention standards and requirements are met in two influential jurisdictions. Finally, the law of Canada is set out. Thus, a professor from Africa, Australia, New Zealand or English-speaking countries in Asia and Europe has a nearly complete coursebook — for example, that professor can delete the Canadian sections of this book and insert the law and practices of his or her home country in their place.
While primarily directed to a law school course on global corruption, this book will be of interest and use to professors teaching courses on corruption from other academic disciplines and to lawyers and other anti-corruption practitioners.
Ethics in Law EnforcementIn this book, you will examine the moral and ethical issues that exist within law enforcement. This book will also familiarize you with the basic history, principles, and theories of ethics. These concepts will then be applied to the major components of the criminal justice system: policing, the courts, and corrections. Discussion will focus on personal values, individual responsibility, decision making, discretion, and the structure of accountability. Specific topics covered will include core values, codes of conduct, ethical dilemmas, organizational consequences, liability, and the importance of critical thinking. By the end of this book, you will be able to distinguish and critically debate contemporary ethical issues in law enforcement.
CriminologyIlgin Yorukoglu, Borough of Manhattan Community College
Criminal JusticeBrenda Vollman, Borough of Manhattan Community College
Introduction to the American Criminal Justice SystemThis introductory textbook covers all of the basics of the criminal justice system (police, courts, corrections) and goes above and beyond by covering the role of media in crime and criminal justice system misrepresentations. It also gives entire dedicated chapters to crime policy and criminological theory.
Criminal LawComprehensive criminal law textbook that covers an overview of where criminal law comes from, as well as element of specific crimes. It goes over criminal law at a general level, so it is recommended to pair with the Penal Code of California.
Community and the Justice SystemComprehensive textbook covering mainly race/ethnicity and the intersection of interactions with each area of the criminal justice system (police, courts, corrections). Special emphasis on multiculturalism and how to best communicate and resolve conflicts.
Merlot II: CriminologyThis online collection of material features case studies, presentations, reference material and online course material.
Economics
Open Economics TextbooksEconomics studies the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services. Economics focuses on the behavior and interactions of economic agents and how economies work. Microeconomics analyzes basic elements in the economy, including individual agents and markets, their interactions, and the outcomes of interactions. Individual agents may include, for example, households, firms, buyers, and sellers. Macroeconomics analyzes the entire economy (meaning aggregated production, consumption, savings, and investment) and issues affecting it, including unemployment of resources (labor, capital, and land), inflation, economic growth, and the public policies that address these issues (monetary, fiscal, and other policies).
Principles of Economics - 2e (OpenStax)Principles of Economics - 2e covers the scope and sequence of requirements for a two-semester introductory economics course. The authors take a balanced approach to micro-and macroeconomics, to both Keynesian and classical views, and to the theory and application of economics concepts. The text also includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.
Principles of Microeconomics (Lyryx)Principles of Microeconomics is an adaptation of the textbook, Microeconomics: Markets, Methods, and Models by D. Curtis and I. Irvine, which provides concise yet complete coverage of introductory microeconomic theory, application and policy in a Canadian and global environment. This adaptation employs methods that use equations sparingly and do not utilize calculus. The key issues in most chapters are analyzed by introducing a numerical example or case study at the outset. Students are introduced immediately to the practice of taking a data set, examining it numerically, plotting it, and again analyzing the material in that form. The end-of-chapter problems involve numerical and graphical analysis, and a small number of problems in each chapter involve solving simple linear equations (intersecting straight lines). However, a sufficient number of questions is provided for the student to test understanding of the material without working through that subset of questions. This textbook is intended for a one-semester course, and can be used in a two-semester sequence with the companion textbook, Principles of Macroeconomics. The three introductory chapters are common to both textbooks.
Principles of Microeconomics - 2e (OpenStax)Principles of Microeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory microeconomics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters. Changes made in Principles of Microeconomics 2e are described in the preface and the transition guide to help instructors transition to the second edition.
Principles of Microeconomics (Saylor)Recognizing that a course in economics may seem daunting to some students, we have tried to make the writing clear and engaging. Clarity comes in part from the intuitive presentation style, but we have also integrated a number of pedagogical features that we believe make learning economic concepts and principles easier and more fun. These features are very student-focused. The chapters themselves are written using a “modular” format. In particular, chapters generally consist of three main content sections that break down a particular topic into manageable parts. Each content section contains not only an exposition of the material at hand but also learning objectives, summaries, examples, and problems. Each chapter is introduced with a story to motivate the material and each chapter ends with a wrap-up and additional problems. Our goal is to encourage active learning by including many examples and many problems of different types.
Principles of Microeconomics (UVic)This book is an adaptation of Principles of Microeconomics originally published by OpenStax. This adapted version has been reorganized into eight topics and expanded to include over 200 multiple choice questions, examples, eight case studies including questions and solutions, and over 200 editable figures.
Intermediate Microeconomics with Microsoft Excel - 2nd EditionIncludes ancillary/supplemental resources. This book is based on the idea that there is a particular framework used by economists to interpret observed reality. This framework has been called the economic way of thinking, the economic approach, and the method of economics.
Principles of Macroeconomics (Lyryx)Principles of Macroeconomics is an adaptation of the textbook, Macroeconomics: Theory, Markets, and Policy by D. Curtis and I. Irvine, and presents a complete and concise examination of introductory macroeconomics theory and policy suitable for a first introductory course.
Examples are domestic and international in their subject matter and are of the modern era — financial markets, monetary and fiscal policies aimed at inflation and debt control, globalization and the importance of trade flows in economic structure, and concerns about slow growth and the risk of deflation, are included.
This textbook is intended for a one-semester course, and can be used in a two-semester sequence with the companion textbook, Principles of Microeconomics. The three introductory chapters are common to both textbooks.
Principles of Macroeconomics - 2e (OpenStax)Principles of Macroeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters. Changes made in Principles of Macroeconomics 2e are described in the preface and the transition guide to help instructors transition to the second edition.
Macroeconomics: Theory through ApplicationsThe intended audience of the textbook is first-year undergraduates taking courses on the principles of macroeconomics and microeconomics. Many may never take another economics course. We aim to increase their economic literacy both by developing their aptitude for economic thinking and by presenting key insights about economics that every educated individual should know. We have written a fundamentally different text for principles of economics, based on two premises: Students are motivated to study economics if they see that it relates to their own lives, and students learn best from an inductive approach, in which they are first confronted with a question and then led through the process of how to answer that question.
Principles of Economics: Scarcity and Social Provisioning (2nd Ed.)Principles of Economics covers scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory economics course. The authors take a balanced approach to micro- and macroeconomics, to both Keynesian and classical views, and to the theory and application of economics concepts. The text also includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way.
Human Security in World Affairs: Problems and Opportunities - 2nd EditionThis first and only university textbook of human security is intended as an introductory text from senior undergraduate level up and includes chapters by 24 authors,from BC, Canada, and around the globe, that encompass the full spectrum of disciplines contributing to the human security field. It is based on the four pillar model of socio-political security, economic security, environmental security and health security. The chapters include learning outcomes, extension activities,and suggested readings; a comprehensive glossary lists key terms used throughout the book. It can be used in courses on international studies and relations, political studies, history, human geography, anthropology and human ecology, futures studies, applied social studies, public health, and more.
English
English Literature: Victorians and ModernsEnglish Literature: Victorians and Moderns is an anthology with a difference. In addition to providing annotated teaching editions of many of the most frequently-taught classics of Victorian and Modern poetry, fiction and drama, it also provides a series of guided research casebooks which make available numerous published essays from open access books and journals, as well as several reprinted critical essays from established learned journals such as English Studies in Canada and the Aldous Huxley Annual with the permission of the authors and editors. Designed to supplement the annotated complete texts of three famous short novels: Henry James’s The Turn of the Screw, Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness, and Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World, each casebook offers cross-disciplinary guided research topics which will encourage majors in fields other than English to undertake topics in diverse areas, including History, Economics, Anthropology, Political Science, Biology, and Psychology. Selections have also been included to encourage topical, thematic, and generic cross-referencing. Students will also be exposed to a wide-range of approaches, including new-critical, psychoanalytic, historical, and feminist.
English Literature IIEnglish Literature: Victorians and Moderns is an anthology with a difference. In addition to providing annotated teaching editions of many of the most frequently-taught classics of Victorian and Modern poetry, fiction and drama, it also provides a series of guided research casebooks which make available numerous published essays from open access books and journals, as well as several reprinted critical essays from established learned journals such as English Studies in Canada and the Aldous Huxley Annual with the permission of the authors and editors. Designed to supplement the annotated complete texts of three famous short novels: Henry James’s The Turn of the Screw, Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness, and Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World, each case...
Naming the Unnamable: An Approach to Poetry for New GenerationsInformed by a writing philosophy that values both spontaneity and discipline, Michelle Bonczek Evory’s Naming the Unnameable: An Approach to Poetry for New Generations offers practical advice and strategies for developing a writing process that is centered on play and supported by an understanding of America’s rich literary traditions. With consideration to the psychology of invention, Bonczek Evory provides students with exercises aimed to make writing in its early stages a form of play that gives way to more enriching insights through revision, embracing the writing of poetry as both a love of language and a tool that enables us to explore ourselves and better understand the world. The volume includes resources for students seeking to publish and build a writing-centered lifestyle or career. Poets featured range in age, subject, and style, and many are connected to colleges in the State University of New York system. Naming the Unnameable promotes an understanding of poetry as a living art of which students are a part, and provides ways for students to involve themselves in the growing contemporary poetry community that thrives in America today.
Literature, the Humanities, and HumanityLiterature, the Humanities, and Humanity attempts to make the study of literature more than simply another school subject that students have to take. At a time when all subjects seem to be valued only for their testability, this book tries to show the value of reading and studying literature, even earlier literature. It shows students, some of whom will themselves become teachers, that literature actually has something to say to them. Furthermore, it shows that literature is meant to be enjoyed, that, as the Roman poet Horace (and his Renaissance disciple Sir Philip Sidney) said, the functions of literature are to teach and to delight. The book will also be useful to teachers who want to convey their passion for literature to their students. After an introductory chapter that offers advice on how to read (and teach) literature, the book consists of a series of chapters that examine individual literary works ranging from The Iliad to Charles Dickens’ Bleak House. These chapters can not substitute for reading the actual works. Rather they are intended to help students read those works. They are attempts to demystify the act of reading and to show that these works, whether they are nearly three thousand or less than two hundred years old, still have important things to say to contemporary readers.
Reframing Digital Humanities: Conversations with Digital HumanistsDefining digital humanities is a unique academic challenge. In this volume, Julian Chambliss, Professor of English at Michigan State University, explores the meaning, practice, and implication of digital humanities by talking to scholars deeply engaged with digital methods and the promise they hold for the humanities.
Humanities Open TextbooksCovers a range of humanities areas (english, gender studies, literature, languages, philosophy, and more). Titles are used in post-secondary institutions across the US & Canada.
Composition & Writing
Writing for Success - 1st Canadian H5P EditionWriting for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. It includes over 150 interactive H5P activities.
Putting the Pieces Together: Reason and Writing for SuccessPutting the Pieces Together: Reason and Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition; This text is designed as a companion resource to WRIT: Reason and Writing, which is Fanshawe College's introductory writing curriculum.
Writing in College: From Competence to ExcellenceWriting in College: From Competence to Excellence is designed for students who have largely mastered the conventions of high-school level writing and are now rising to meet more the advanced expectations of college. Students will find in Writing in College a warm invitation to think of themselves as full, self-motivated members of the academic community. With concise explanations, clear multi-disciplinary examples and empathy for the challenges of student life, this short textbook both explains the purposes behind college-level writing and offers indispensable advice for organization and expression.
Writing, Reading, and College Success: A First-Year Composition Course for All LearnersOpen textbook. Revision of Writing for Success that includes instructional scaffolding for students who require additional support. New sections on college readiness and success, reading skills, the reading-writing connection, grammar, and an ESL compendium have been added.
The RoughWriter's Guide: A Handbook for Writing WellNot ESL specific.
While the book covers both MLA and APA formatting as well as mechanical and grammatical issues, it’s laid out in a way to guide students through the essay writing process.
Writing in College: From Competence to ExcellenceWriting in College: From Competence to Excellence is designed for students who have largely mastered the conventions of high-school level writing and are now rising to meet more the advanced expectations of college. Students will find in Writing in College a warm invitation to think of themselves as full, self-motivated members of the academic community. With concise explanations, clear multi-disciplinary examples and empathy for the challenges of student life, this short textbook both explains the purposes behind college-level writing and offers indispensable advice for organization and expression.
WR121 - English CompositionOpen course. Not ESL specific. Designed to tie with Better Writing from the Beginning. Can be downloaded and imported into Moodle.
APA/MLA Quiz Bank and ExamplesSupplementary Resource: Quiz bank. May need to update for updated APA or MLA editions. Examples and quizzes to reinforce understanding of APA and MLA style and formatting. Available in XHTML or Moodle XML format, so can be imported into Moodle.
Academic IntegrityCanadian
“An interactive approach to conveying the values of academic integrity, clarifying the meaning of plagiarism, and introducing the basics of citations, quoting and paraphrasing.”
Critical Reading, Critical WritingA Handbook to Understanding College Composition. Curated and/or composed by the English Faculty at Howard Community College.
Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research (1st Can. ed.)Engaging graphics, compelling examples, and easy-to-understand explanations make Choosing and Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research, your most valuable, open access resource for completing research-based writing assignments and projects.
88 Open Essays - A Reader for Students of Composition & RhetoricThis book is a free and open resource to composition instructors and students, full of essays that could supplement OER rhetoric and writing texts that lacked readings. All of the essays in this reader are versatile rhetorically and thematically. It is arranged alphabetically by author name. Each essay has a series of hashtags that apply to the essay in some way. You can search for essays thematically that relate to topics like education, the environment, politics, or health. You can also search for essays based on composition concepts like analysis, synthesis, and research. You can search for essays that are based on shared values, essays that rely heavily on ethos, logos, or pathos, essays that are very kairos-dependent, and essays that are scholarly.
Thematic Reading AnthologyThis courseware includes resources copyrighted and openly licensed by multiple individuals and organizations. Click the words “Licenses and Attributions” at the bottom of each page for copyright and licensing information specific to the material on that page.
Graphic Design and Print Production FundamentalsThis textbook -- written by a group of select experts with a focus on different aspects of the design process, from creation to production -- addresses the many steps of creating and then producing physical, printed, or other imaged products that people interact with on a daily basis.
Humanities Open TextbooksCovers a range of humanities areas (english, gender studies, literature, languages, philosophy, and more). Titles are used in post-secondary institutions across the US & Canada.
The Louvre CollectionThe Musée du Louvre, the world’s most-visited museum, is now allowing the public to browse its 480,000-piece collection from the comfort of their homes. The French museum has created an online platform featuring all of the museum’s artworks, the Louvre announced on March 26. Works are presented in the collections database regardless of whether they are on display in the Musée du Louvre or Musée Delacroix, visible in the gardens, on long-term loan in France or abroad, or in storage. Information about their location is included in each entry.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Public CollectionThe Metropolitan Museum of Art includes more than 2 million works of art, spanning 5,000 years of world culture. This selection (more than 400,000 images) encompasses the museum's holdings from ancient works through to the twentieth century, across media and the globe.The museum first opened in 1872 in a townhouse located on Fifth Avenue in New York City. The collection was founded with 174 European paintings. Today the comprehensive collections are shared by 17 diverse curatorial departments, and the main building, incorporating successive expansions, occupies more than 2 million square feet.
Musée de l'Orangerie: Water Lillies Virtual VisitThe platform offers the user to virtually walk in the two oval rooms of Water Lilies by Claude Monet designed between 1915 and 1926 in Giverny, and also, thanks to the zoom function, to immerse in the whole of the eight monumental compositions of the impressionist Master.
The Scream VR: A Documentary ExperienceEdvard Munch’s The Scream is omnipresent. The famous face distorted by terror has fired our imaginations so greatly that it has become the universal symbol of dread. Enjoy the virtual experience!
Smarthistory Channel on YouTubeSmarthistory's mission to open museums and cultural sites up to the world, one video at a time. We’re creating world-class resources on art and cultural objects for learners from around the globe, for free. Closed caption available for all videos.
BBC Motion GalleryBBC has entered into a global partnership with Getty Images and you will find all of the incredible online content here.
Introduction to Women, Gender, Sexuality StudiesThis textbook introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks used in the interdisciplinary Women, Gender, Sexualities field. It unpacks the social construction of knowledge and categories of difference, processes and structures of power and inequality, with a focus on gendered labor in the global economy, and the historical development of feminist social movements. The book emphasizes feminist sociological approaches to analyzing structures of power, drawing heavily from empirical feminist research.
Global Women's Issues: Women in the World Today - Extended versionWe cannot solve global challenges unless women participate fully in efforts to find solutions. Female participation in the private sector is a crucial economic driver for societies worldwide. Economic security benefits every facet of a woman’s life, with positive effects on the health, education and vitality of families. Learn about women who are changing their societies for the better. This book is based on the twelve critical areas of concern identified in the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action at the Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing in 1995: The burden of poverty on women, unequal access to education and training, inequalities and inadequacies in and unequal access to health care and related services, violence against women, the effects of armed or other kinds of conflict on women, including those living under foreign occupation, inequality in economic structures and policies, inequality between men and women in the sharing of power and decision-making at all levels, insufficient mechanisms at all levels to promote the advancement of women, lack of respect for and inadequate promotion and protection of the human rights of women, stereotyping of women and inequality in women’s access to and participation in all communication systems, especially in the media, gender inequalities in the management of natural resources and in the safeguarding of the environment, and persistent discrimination against and violation of the rights of the girl child. This extended version of Global Women’s Issues: Women in the World Today includes, for each chapter, a summary, key words, multiple choice questions, discussion questions, essay questions, and a list of additional resources. Copies of the original book are also available in Arabic, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Hookup Culture“Hookup” culture remains a common practice on college campuses yet remains a taboo topic for many to understand and/or discuss. This text is a collection of students’ reflections that bring “hookup” culture into the mainstream narrative and provides real-life experiences that inform, educate, and challenge the reader.
History
Histories of Indigenous Peoples and CanadaSince the 18th century, the historical study of “Indians,” “Natives,” and “Aboriginals” in universities and colleges was contextualized within the story of colonization and growing European influence. Whatever justification might be mustered for that practice, it had real and dire effects: Canadians — including many Indigenous people — came to understand Indigenous histories as tangential, small, unimportant, and even a blind alley. This kind of thinking enabled Canadian authorities and citizens to regard Indigenous communities as being “without history,” as in, outside of history, which we can agree in modern times is simply untrue, as this book strives to show. The preface introduces you to some of the practices and challenges of Indigenous history, focusing on the nature and quality of sources, innovative historical methodologies, and the leading historiographical trends (that is, what historians are thinking very broadly and what they have studied in the last decade or four). It turns, then, to histories of Indigenous peoples in the Western Hemisphere before ca. 1500. The twelve chapters that follow are arranged under three headings: Commerce and Allies, Engaging Colonialism, and Culture Crisis Change Challenge. And there is a thirteenth chapter that brings us deep enough into the twenty-first century to allow a visit with two of the most important recent developments in Canadian civic life: Idle No More and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Both of these processes arose from the failures of colonialism and the resilience of Indigenous communities. They reveal, therefore, as much about the history of Canada as they do of the historical experiences of Indigenous peoples.
Canadian History: Pre-ConfederationCanadian History: Pre-Confederation is a survey text that introduces undergraduate students to important themes in North American history to 1867. It provides room for Aboriginal and European agendas and narratives, explores the connections between the territory that coalesces into the shape of modern Canada and the larger continent and world in which it operates, and engages with emergent issues in the field. The material is pursued in a largely chronological manner to the early 19th century, at which point social, economic, and political change are dissected. Canadian History: Pre-Confederation provides, as well, a reconnaissance of historical methodology and debates in the field, exercises for students, Key Terms and a Glossary, and section-by-section Key Points. Although this text can be modified, expanded, reduced, and reorganized to suit the needs of the instructor, it is organized so as to support learning, to broaden (and sometimes provoke) debate, and to engage students in thinking like historians. Written and reviewed by subject experts drawn from colleges and universities, this is the first open textbook on the topic of Canadian history.
Canadian History: Post-Confederation - 2nd EditionThis textbook introduces aspects of the history of Canada since Confederation. “Canada” in this context includes Newfoundland and all the other parts that come to be aggregated into the Dominion after 1867. Much of this text follows thematic lines. Each chapter moves chronologically but with alternative narratives in mind. What Indigenous accounts must we place in the foreground? Which structures (economic or social) determine the range of choices available to human agents of history? What environmental questions need to be raised to gain a more complete understanding of choices made in the past and their ramifications?
U.S. HistoryU.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.
History of International Relations: A Non-European PerspectiveThis textbook pioneers a new approach to the study of international relations by historicizing the material traditionally taught in international relations courses and by explicitly focusing on non-European cases, debates, and issues. The volume is divided into three parts. The first part focuses on the international systems that traditionally existed in Europe, East Asia, pre-Columbian Central and South America, Africa, and Polynesia. The second part discusses the ways in which these international systems were brought into contact with each other through the agency of Mongols in Central Asia, Arabs in the Mediterranean, and the Indian Ocean, Indic, and Sinic societies in South East Asia, and the Europeans through their travels and colonial expansion. The concluding section concerns contemporary issues: the processes of decolonization, neo-colonialism, and globalization — and their consequences on contemporary society.
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. Authored by six USG faculty members with advance degrees in History, this textbook offers up-to-date original scholarship. It covers such cultures, states, and societies as Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India’s Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia. It includes 350 high-quality images and maps, chronologies, and learning questions to help guide student learning. Its digital nature allows students to follow links to applicable sources and videos, expanding their educational experience beyond the textbook.
Spectacles in the Roman WorldThis is a collection of primary sources on Roman games and spectacles in their various forms, created for a second-year undergraduate class on spectacles in Greece and Rome at the University of British Columbia. This book is intended for use in upper-level academic studies. Content Warning: The content of this book contains animal cruelty and animal death, blood, classism, death, sexual assault, violence, and other mature subject matter and potentially distressing material.
UnRoman RomansUnRoman Romans is a reader on socially stigmatized groups in ancient Rome: actors athletes, dancers, sex workers, and sexual non-conformists. This reader was created as part of a class and uses student-scholars who contributed parts of the reader as a course assignment. It contains out of copyright and original translations of ancient texts, along with introductions, glossaries, images and other explanatory material. This book is intended for use in upper-level academic studies and contains a number of very disturbing passages.
The Laws of Settlement: 54 Laws Underlying Settlements Across Scale and CultureLaws of Settlement revives, updates and refreshes the ’54 Laws of Settlements’ outlined in Constantinos Apostolou Doxiadis’ seminal book Ekistics: An Introduction to the Science of Human Settlements, making them relevant to the problems we face in the 21st century.
Digital Meijis: Revisualizing Modern Japanese History at 150Digital Meijis: Re-visualising Modern Japanese History at 150 is a curated and edited collection on the Meiji Period. By pairing digitized materials and documents with historical narrative and interpretive analysis, the “visual essays” contained within encourage readers to review and rethink modern Japanese history through images.
HIST 204 Abridged Course TextThis textbook introduces aspects of the history of Canada since Confederation. “Canada” in this context includes Newfoundland and all the other parts that come to be aggregated into the Dominion after 1867. Much of this text follows thematic lines. Each chapter moves chronologically but with alternative narratives in mind. What Aboriginal accounts must we place in the foreground? Which structures (economic or social) determine the range of choices available to human agents of history? What environmental questions need to be raised to gain a more complete understanding of choices made in the past and their ramifications?
Western Civilization: A Concise History Volume 1Western Civilization: A Concise History is an Open Educational Resource textbook covering the history of Western Civilization from approximately 8,000 BCE to 2017 CE. It is available in three volumes covering the following time periods and topics:
Volume 1: from the origins of civilization in Mesopotamia c. 8,000 BCE through the early Middle Ages in Europe c. 1,000 CE. Volume 1 covers topics including Mesopotamia, Egypt, Persia, Greece, Rome, the Islamic caliphates, and the early European Middle Ages.
Western Civilization: A Concise History Volume 2Western Civilization: A Concise History is an Open Educational Resource textbook covering the history of Western Civilization from approximately 8,000 BCE to 2017 CE. It is available in three volumes covering the following time periods and topics: Volume 2: from the early Middle Ages to the French Revolution in 1789 CE. Volume 2covers topics including the High Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the European conquest of the Americas, the Reformation, the Scientific Revolution, and the Enlightenment.
Western Civilization: A Concise History Volume 3Western Civilization: A Concise History is an Open Educational Resource textbook covering the history of Western Civilization from approximately 8,000 BCE to 2017 CE. It is available in three volumes covering the following time periods and topics: Volume 3: from the Napoleonic era to the recent past. Volume 3 covers topics including the Industrial Revolution, the politics of Europe in the nineteenth century, modern European imperialism, the world wars, fascism, Nazism, and the Holocaust, the postwar era, the Cold War, and recent developments in economics and politics.
Western Civilization IThis hybrid textbook and open course is a comprehensive set of teaching materials for Western Civilization I (until 1648). Files are compressed into .zip folder format by lesson here. You can also view the original open course through LibGuides at East Georgia State College. Topics covered include prehistory and ancient history by region, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the Reformation.
Humanities Open TextbooksCovers a range of humanities areas (english, gender studies, literature, languages, philosophy, and more). Titles are used in post-secondary institutions across the US & Canada.
Open Access Resources
Open HeritageA division of Google Arts and Culture, Open Heritage provides 3D models of cultural heritage sites.
History View VRHistoryView, located in Boston, MA, partners with museums, art galleries, historical heritage sites and schools to create virtual tours and field trips of museums, heritage sites, and parks that can be experienced with VR headsets or via a web browser.
EuroDocsThese open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions.. Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
World Digital LibrarySignificant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Modern Languages
Français InteractifFrançais Interactif, www.laits.utexas.edu/fi, the web-based French program developed and in use at the University of Texas since 2004, and its companion site, Tex’s French Grammar (2000) www.laits.utexas.edu/tex/ are open acess sites, free and open multimedia resources, which require neither password nor fees. Français interactif, used increasingly by students, teachers, and institutions throughout the world, includes 320 videos (American students in France, native French interviews, vocabulary and culture presentation videos) recorded vocabulary lists, phonetic lessons, online grammar lessons (600 pages) with self-correcting exercises and audio dialogues, online grammar tools (verb conjugation reference, verb practice), and diagnostic grammar tests.
LibertéLiberté is a first-year college French textbook with a true communicative approach. Each chapter is built around communicative strategies. Clearly defined objectives in communication, culture, and grammar are given at the start of each chapter, and summary exercises at the end allow students to measure their mastery of these objectives. It has been adopted by instructors at over twenty-five colleges and high schools. Gretchen Angelo teaches French language and literature at California State University, Los Angeles.
Résumer, Synthétiser, ArgumenterLe manuel Résumer, synthétiser, argumenter s’adresse aux étudiants de français langue seconde de niveau avancé (3e ou 4e année universitaire, essentiellement). Comme son titre l’indique, le manuel couvre l’écriture de résumés et de synthèses (cinq chapitres) et de textes argumentatifs (cinq chapitres). Les dix chapitres permettent de couvrir facilement un cours de six crédits; on peut également se servir du manuel pour un cours de trois crédits axé sur le résumé et la synthèse ou sur l’écrit argumentatif (ou sur une combinaison des deux en opérant une sélection). Profitant des possibilités qu’offre le format multimédia, le manuel intègre un certain nombre d’exercices autocorrigés et de présentations sur des points de langue.
Let's Read French BooksReading books is a great way to learn a language. It helps to discover the culture, to learn new words, to be exposed to different language structures in the context. But, one of the biggest challenges in the language and literature classes is to encourage the students to read. This project aims to make reading literary books easier for the students by creating an open textbook reader using Public Domain 19th century French literature. Along with the text, there are activities for students to engage with and discover the text.
+ JUNTXS: Intermediate Spanish+JUNTXS is an open access educational resource which can be used in conjunction with a variety of approaches to support intermediate learners of Spanish. This media-rich learning resource is designed to guide learners in their Spanish language learning journey through a critical and intercultural lens and to provide regular opportunities to explore, practice and improve their ability to read, speak, and understand this language as it is used across the Spanish-speaking world.
An Introduction to PhilosophyThe goal of this text is to present philosophy to newcomers as a living discipline with historical roots. While a few early chapters are historically organized, the goal in the historical chapters is to trace a developmental progression of thought that introduces basic philosophical methods and frames issues that remain relevant today. Later chapters are topically organized. These include philosophy of science and philosophy of mind, areas where philosophy has shown dramatic recent progress. This text concludes with four chapters on ethics, broadly construed. Traditional theories of right action is covered in a third of these. Students are first invited first to think about what is good for themselves and their relationships in a chapter of love and happiness. Next a few meta-ethical issues are considered; namely, whether they are moral truths and if so what makes them so. The end of the ethics sequence addresses social justice, what it is for one’s community to be good. Our sphere of concern expands progressively through these chapters. Our inquiry recapitulates the course of development into moral maturity. Over the course of the text, the author has tried to outline the continuity of thought that leads from the historical roots of philosophy to a few of the diverse areas of inquiry that continue to make significant contributions to our understanding of ourselves and the world we live in.
Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of MindIntroduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Mind surveys the central themes in philosophy of mind and places them in a historical and contemporary context intended to engage first-time readers in the field. It focuses on debates about the status and character of the mind and its seemingly subjective nature in an apparently more objective world.
Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of ReligionIntroduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Religion introduces some of the major traditional arguments for and against the existence of God, as well as some less well-known, but thought-provoking arguments for the existence of God, and one of the most important new challenges to religious belief from the Cognitive Science of Religion. An introductory chapter traces the connection between philosophy and religion throughout Western history, and a final chapter addresses the place of non-Western and non-monotheistic religions within contemporary philosophy of religion.
Introduction to Philosophy: LogicIntroduction to Philosophy: Logic provides students with the concepts and skills necessary to identify and evaluate arguments effectively. The chapters, all written by experts in the field, provide an overview of what arguments are, the different types of arguments one can expect to encounter in both philosophy and everyday life, and how to recognise common argumentative mistakes.
Introduction to Philosophy: EthicsWe often make judgments about good and bad, right and wrong. Philosophical ethics is the critical examination of these and other concepts central to how we evaluate our own and each others' behavior and choices. This text examines some of the main threads of discussion on these topics that have developed over the last couple of millennia, mostly within the Western cultural tradition.
Words of Wisdom: Intro to PhilosophyWords of wisdom can come from anyone. In this text, we discuss topics ranging from “Are humans good by nature?” to “Is there a God?” to “Do I have the right to my own opinion?” Philosophy is the study of wisdom and can emerge in our conversations in places like social media, school, the family dinner table, and even the car. This text uses materials that are 2,500 years old and materials that were in the news recently. Wise people come in all shapes and types, and from every culture on earth. Poetry and folktales, sacred writings and letters, dialogues and interviews, news columns, podcasts, TED Talks, YouTube videos, and even comedy are all part of the content in this text.
The Originals: Classic Readings in Western PhilosophyIt is important for students not only to get an appreciation and understanding of philosophy but also to be exposed to the very words and ideas of those who have shaped our thinking over the centuries. Accordingly, the title of this collection hints at the facts that these readings are from the original sources and that these philosophers were the originators of many of the issues we still discuss today. Major areas of philosophy covered here are: Ethics, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, Socio-Political Philosophy, and finally, Aesthetics.
Modern PhilosophyThis is a textbook (or better, a workbook) in modern philosophy. It combines readings from primary sources with two pedagogical tools. Paragraphs in italics introduce figures and texts. Numbered study questions (also in italics) ask students to reconstruct an argument or position from the text, or draw connections among the readings. And I have added an introductory chapter (Chapter 0 – Minilogic and Glossary), designed to present the basic tools of philosophy and sketch some principles and positions. The immediate goal is to encourage students to grapple with the ideas rather than passing their eyes over the texts. This makes for a better classroom experience and permits higher-level discussions. Another goal is to encourage collaboration among instructors, as they revise and post their own versions of the book.
A Concise Introduction to LogicConcise Introduction to Logic is an introduction to formal logic suitable for undergraduates taking a general education course in logic or critical thinking, it and is accessible and useful to any interested in gaining a basic understanding of logic. This text takes the unique approach of teaching logic through intellectual history; the author uses examples from important and celebrated arguments in philosophy to illustrate logical principles. The text also includes a basic introduction to findings of advanced logic. As indicators of where the student could go next with logic, the book closes with an overview of advanced topics, such as the axiomatic method, set theory, Peano arithmetic, and modal logic. Throughout, the text uses brief, concise chapters that readers will find easy to read and to review.
Introduction to Logic and Critical ThinkingThis is an introductory textbook in logic and critical thinking. The goal of the textbook is to provide the reader with a set of tools and skills that will enable them to identify and evaluate arguments. The book is intended for an introductory course that covers both formal and informal logic. As such, it is not a formal logic textbook, but is closer to what one would find marketed as a “critical thinking textbook.”
forall x: An Introduction to Formal Logic - Fall 2021 Edition (Calgary)forall x: Calgary is a full-featured textbook on formal logic. It covers key notions of logic such as consequence and validity of arguments, the syntax of truth-functional propositional logic TFL and truth-table semantics, the syntax of first-order (predicate) logic FOL with identity (first-order interpretations), translating (formalizing) English in TFL and FOL, and Fitch-style natural deduction proof systems for both TFL and FOL. It also deals with some advanced topics such as modal logic, soundness, and functional completeness. Exercises with solutions are available. It is provided in PDF (for screen reading, printing, and a special version for dyslexics) and in LaTeX source code. A proof editor/checker for the proof system used is available at proofs.openlogicproject.org.
Sets, Logic, Computation: An Open Introduction to MetalogicSets, Logic, Computation is an introductory textbook on metalogic. It covers naive set theory, first-order logic, sequent calculus and natural deduction, the completeness, compactness, and Löwenheim-Skolem theorems, Turing machines, and the undecidability of the halting problem and of first-order logic. The audience is undergraduate students with some background in formal logic, e.g., what is covered by forall x. NOTE: It's title has been changed from "Sets, Logic, Computation: An Open Logic Text" to "Sets, Logic, Computation: An Open Introduction to Metalogic."
Problems in Argument Analysis and EvaluationThis is the WSIA edition of Trudy’s Govier’s seminal volume, Problems in Argument Analysis and Evaluation. Originally published in 1987 by Foris Publications, this was a pioneering work that played a major role in establishing argumentation theory as a discipline. Today, it is as relevant to the field as when it first appeared, with discussions of questions and issues that remain central to the study of argument. It has defined the main approaches to many of those issues and guided the ways in which we might respond to them. From this foundation, it sets the stage for further investigations and emerging research. This is a second edition of the book that is corrected and updated by the author, with new prefaces to each chapter.
Critical ThinkingUsing a combination of the newest findings in hemispheric science, neuropsychology, and brain development, along with the long-established rhetorical algorithms for analyzing the structure of arguments, this course explores the boundaries of critical and creative thinking in pursuit of developing a clearer and more robust model for the construction and deconstruction of various forms of argument. A variety of "texts" are used to help students develop rhetorical analysis skills, critical thinking tools and a diverse, integrative apparatus for establishing the veracity of truth claims in both academic and cultural contexts.
OER and PhilosophyUnless otherwise specified, all resources are texts. They have been organized in order based on the OERI Philosophy Discipline Lead’s subjective assessment of appropriateness for California Community College students. However, everything listed here would be appropriate in any college classroom teaching the respective course.
Open Access Resources
Philosophy TED TalksA collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of philosophy.
Philosophy TubeA Youtube channel dedicated to exploring famous philosophical texts and questions presented by Olly Lennard.
Human Security in World Affairs: Problems and Opportunities (2nd ed.)This first and only university textbook of human security is intended as an introductory text from senior undergraduate level up and includes chapters by 24 authors,from BC, Canada, and around the globe, that encompass the full spectrum of disciplines contributing to the human security field. It is based on the four pillar model of socio-political security, economic security, environmental security and health security. The chapters include learning outcomes, extension activities,and suggested readings; a comprehensive glossary lists key terms used throughout the book. It can be used in courses on international studies and relations, political studies, history, human geography, anthropology and human ecology, futures studies, applied social studies, public health, and more.
History of International Relations: A Non-European PerspectiveThis textbook pioneers a new approach to the study of international relations by historicizing the material traditionally taught in international relations courses and by explicitly focusing on non-European cases, debates, and issues. The volume is divided into three parts. The first part focuses on the international systems that traditionally existed in Europe, East Asia, pre-Columbian Central and South America, Africa, and Polynesia. The second part discusses the ways in which these international systems were brought into contact with each other through the agency of Mongols in Central Asia, Arabs in the Mediterranean, and the Indian Ocean, Indic, and Sinic societies in South East Asia, and the Europeans through their travels and colonial expansion. The concluding section concerns contemporary issues: the processes of decolonization, neo-colonialism, and globalization — and their consequences on contemporary society.
Human Rights in BriefIn all civilized nations, attempts are made to define and buttress human rights. The core of the concept is the same everywhere: Human rights are the rights that one has simply because one is human. They are universal and equal. The following pubilcation gives an overview of Human Rights across the globe. The online version of this book is available in several languages: Arabic, French, Farsi, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese.
Global Women's Issues: Women in the World Today - Extended versionWe cannot solve global challenges unless women participate fully in efforts to find solutions. Female participation in the private sector is a crucial economic driver for societies worldwide. Economic security benefits every facet of a woman’s life, with positive effects on the health, education and vitality of families. Learn about women who are changing their societies for the better. This book is based on the twelve critical areas of concern identified in the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action at the Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing in 1995: The burden of poverty on women, unequal access to education and training, inequalities and inadequacies in and unequal access to health care and related services, violence against women, the effects of armed or other kinds of conflict on women, including those living under foreign occupation, inequality in economic structures and policies, inequality between men and women in the sharing of power and decision-making at all levels, insufficient mechanisms at all levels to promote the advancement of women, lack of respect for and inadequate promotion and protection of the human rights of women, stereotyping of women and inequality in women’s access to and participation in all communication systems, especially in the media, gender inequalities in the management of natural resources and in the safeguarding of the environment, and persistent discrimination against and violation of the rights of the girl child. This extended version of Global Women’s Issues: Women in the World Today includes, for each chapter, a summary, key words, multiple choice questions, discussion questions, essay questions, and a list of additional resources. Copies of the original book are also available in Arabic, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Democracy in BriefDemocracy in Brief touches on topics such as rights and responsibilities of citizens, free and fair elections, the rule of law, the role of a written constitution, separation of powers, a free media, the role of parties and interest groups, military-civilian relations and democratic culture.
Nationalism, Self-determination and SecessionWhat makes a ‘nation’ and what makes peoples strive for nationhood? This unit will provide you with an introduction to studying political ideas by looking at how people who see themselves as nations challenge the existing order to assert their right to a state of their own. After studying this unit you should be able to: grasp the concepts of nation, nationalism and self-determination; have a better understanding of the role they play in current political disputes; think about the problem of how to take democratic decisions about secession; relate political theory to political practice more rigorously; take a more informed and active part in debates about national and international politics.
Open Educational Resources and Political ScienceThe curated list provided here is intended to facilitate faculty selection of an OER text in lieu of a commercial text. Unless otherwise indicated, these resources are text equivalents that have been used by faculty in California to teach lower-division courses comparable to the indicated C-ID descriptor or course title.
Psychology
Psychology - 1st Canadian EditionThis book is designed to introduce students to psychology. It is an approachable, comprehensive overview of the main perspectives and sub-fields, with a focus on the science of psychology. There is an explicitly Canadian perspective, and the book incorporates open access material from other experts. Readers are also shown how to approach learning about psychology while being given the content. This book is an adaptation of Introduction to Psychology - 1st Canadian Edition (Stangor and Walinga) and includes other material from OpenStax and NOBA, as well as some original content.
Introduction to Psychology - 1st Canadian EditionThis book is designed to help students organize their thinking about psychology at a conceptual level. The focus on behaviour and empiricism has produced a text that is better organized, has fewer chapters, and is somewhat shorter than many of the leading books. The beginning of each section includes learning objectives; throughout the body of each section are key terms in bold followed by their definitions in italics; key takeaways, and exercises and critical thinking activities end each section.
Psychology - 2ePsychology - 2e is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe. The second edition contains detailed updates to address comments and suggestions from users. Significant improvements and additions were made in the areas of research currency, diversity and representation, and the relevance and recency of the examples. Many concepts were expanded or clarified, particularly through the judicious addition of detail and further explanation where necessary. Finally, the authors addressed the replication issues in the psychology discipline, both in the research chapter and where appropriate throughout the book.
Introduction to PsychologyThis introductory text has been created from a combination of original content and materials compiled and adapted from a number of open text publications, including Introduction to Psychology – 1st Canadian Edition (Stangor & Wallinga, 2014), the Noba Project, and Research Methods in Psychology – 3rd American Edition (Price, Jhangiani, Chiang, Leighton, & Cuttler, 2017). This version of the text includes a Key Terms list for each chapter, an expanded glossary, and H5P chapter self-tests.
Psychology: The Science of Human PotentialPsychology: The Science of Human Potential is designed to be a concise, cohesive introduction to psychology textbook. The first chapter provides an overview of the textbook and reviews the history of psychology and its methodology. Psychology is described as a science studying how hereditary (nature) and experiential (nurture) variables interact to influence the thoughts, feelings, and behaviour of individuals. The remainder of the text is organized into sections entitled “Mostly Nature” (biological psychology; sensation and perception; motivation and emotion), “Mostly Nurture” (direct learning; indirect or observational learning; cognition), and “Nature/Nurture” (human potential, with regard to each of human development, personality, social psychology, maladaptive behaviour, and professional psychology). Includes H5P review exercises at the end of each chapter.
Discover Psychology 2.0: A Brief Introductory TextThis textbook presents core concepts common to introductory courses. The 15 units cover the traditional areas of intro-to-psychology; ranging from biological aspects of psychology to psychological disorders to social psychology. This book can be modified: feel free to add or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.
Principles of Social Psychology - 1st International EditionThe first International edition of this textbook provides students with an introduction to the basic concepts and principles of social psychology from an interactionist perspective. The presentation of classic studies and theories are balanced with insights from cutting-edge, contemporary research. An emphasis on real world examples and applications is intended to guide students to critically analyze their situations and social interactions in order to put their knowledge to effective use.
Psychology as a Biological ScienceThis textbook provides standard introduction to psychology course content with a specific emphasis on biological aspects of psychology. This includes more content related to neuroscience methods, the brain and the nervous system.
Psychology as a ScienceA Pressbooks containing a collection of links to resources (textbooks, videos, activities, and more) organized by topic.
Introduction to Psychology & NeuroscienceThe foundation of this book is built upon Psychology 2e from OpenStax. In addition to the core content from Psychology 2e from OpenStax, this book is a combination of original material and resources, and selected works from Introduction to Psychology by Cummings & Sanders (University of Saskatchewan), Discovery Psychology 2.0 from Noba Project, and various upper-level Psychology courses from Lumen Learning.
Neuroscience (2nd Canadian ed.)Neuroscience: Canadian 2nd Edition Open Textbook is a comprehensive source that examines the nervous system, neurodegeneration, techniques in studying neuroscience and emerging topics in the field.
Neuroscience - Canadian 1st EditionNeuroscience - Canadian 1st Edition is a comprehensive source that examines the nervous system, neurodegeneration, techniques in studying neuroscience and emerging topics in the field.
Foundations of NeuroscienceFoundations of Neuroscience is aimed at undergraduate students new to the field of neuroscience. The first edition specifically targets students enrolled in Neurobiology at Michigan State University and primarily contains topics covered in that course.
Foundations of NeuroscienceFoundations of Neuroscience is aimed at undergraduate students new to the field of neuroscience. The first edition specifically targets students enrolled in Neurobiology at Michigan State University and primarily contains topics covered in that course.
Lifespan DevelopmentAn open textbook covering human development over a lifespan.
Together: The Science of Social PsychologyThe science of social psychology investigates the ways other people affect our thoughts, feelings, and behaviors. It is an exciting field of study because it is so familiar and relevant to our day-to-day lives. Social psychologists study a wide range of topics that can roughly be grouped into 5 categories: attraction, attitudes, peace & conflict, social influence, and social cognition. This textbook presents core concepts common to introductory social psychology courses. The 8 units include 27 modules covering key social psych topics such as research methods, group processes, social influence, and relationships.
Introduction to Community PsychologyThis textbook tells the story of community psychologists, who view social problems as being due to the unequal distribution of resources, which causes poverty, homelessness, unemployment, and crime. In addition, because no condition or disease has ever been eliminated by just dealing with those with the problem, community psychologists focus their work on prevention. Finally, community psychology shifts the power dynamics so that community members are equal members of the team, as they provide unique points of view about barriers that need to be overcome in working toward social justice. In a sense, this field has many similarities with community organizing, but it’s different in that community psychologists have both research and action skills to evaluate whether or not our interventions actually work. This textbook will show students how to comprehensively analyze, investigate, and address escalating problems of economic inequality, violence, substance abuse, homelessness, poverty, and racism. It will provide students with perspectives and tools to partner with community members and organizations to promote a fair and equitable allocation of resources and opportunities.
Abnormal PsychologyThis course is designed to provide an engaging and personally relevant overview of the discipline of Abnormal Psychology. You will examine the cognitive and behavioral patterns which impair personal effectiveness and adjustment. Students will provide much of the substantive content and teaching presence in this course. Additional content has been curated from "The Noba Project (http://nobaproject.com/)" and "Abnormal Psychology: An e-text! (http://abnormalpsych.wikispaces.com/).
Abnormal PsychologyCanadian edition. This text has been created from a combination of original content and materials compiled and adapted from existing open educational resources.
Learning Statistics with R: A tutorial for psychology students and other beginnersThis book covers the contents of an introductory statistics class, as typically taught to undergraduate psychology students, focusing on the use of the R statistical software. The book discusses how to get started in R as well as giving an introduction to data manipulation and writing scripts. From a statistical perspective, the book discusses descriptive statistics and graphing first, followed by chapters on probability theory, sampling and estimation, and null hypothesis testing. After introducing the theory, the book covers the analysis of contingency tables, t-tests, ANOVAs and regression. Bayesian statistics are covered at the end of the book.
Introduction to Psychology Study GuideThis study guide is designed to accompany the Introduction to Psychology – Ist Canadian Edition open text by Jennifer Walinga and Charles Stangor. For each chapter it summarizes the learning objectives and presents multiple-choice, true-false and fill-in-the-blank tests of the material covered. It provides links to resources to enable students to deepen their understanding of key topics and to explore related issues. Finally, it offers suggestions for hands-on activities relevant to each chapter.
Attention and Advertising TacticsThis resource covers examination of popular culture, the media, and peers, in addition to ones own attitudes and values, and how these can affect and impact an individuals actions.
Introduction to the BrainThis resource includes an introductory information pack for students and an activity with printable materials. It addresses the following learning outcomes: Name and locate the different lobes of the brain, understand the functions of each brain, and their real-life applications, actively work in a team with a common goal, and understand the implications of brain damage, such as the case of Phineas Gage.
Prejudice Reduction StrategiesThis resource identifies stereotypes, prejudice, and discrimination, where they arise from, and how to recognise and respond to these types of behaviours and comments in a constructive way.
The Canadian Handbook for Careers in Psychological ScienceDespite psychology being one of the most popular undergraduate programs, students often report not knowing how training in psychology relates to careers. With chapters written by experts across Canada, this book explores just some of the many ways that students can apply their training in psychological science across a variety of careers and sectors.
Introduction to PsychologyLumen Learning's Introduction to Psychology open course includes a section on growth and development, including quiz questions and an essay assignment.
Lifespan Psychology"Growth and development through the life span including physical, social, cognitive and neurological development. Topics covered included daycare, education, disabilities, parenting, types of families, gender identity and roles, career decisions, illnesses and treatments, aging, retirement, generativity, and dying."
Introduction to OER for PsychologyThis space is intended to provide faculty in the discipline with a collection of resources that have been subject to a peer-review process and/or that have been selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.
Social Work
Scientific Inquiry in Social WorkAs an introductory textbook for social work students studying research methods, this book guides students through the process of creating a research project. Students will learn how to discover a researchable topic that is interesting to them, examine scholarly literature, formulate a proper research question, design a quantitative or qualitative study to answer their question, carry out the design, interpret quantitative or qualitative results, and disseminate their findings to a variety of audiences.
Principles of Sociological Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative MethodsPrinciples of Sociological Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods emphasizes the relevance of research methods for the everyday lives of its readers, undergraduate students. Each chapter describes how research methodology is useful for students in the multiple roles they fill: (1) as consumers of popular and public information, (2) as citizens in a society where findings from social research shape laws, policies, and public life, and (3) as current and future employees. Connections to these roles are made throughout and directly within the main text of the book. Principles of Sociological Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods also provides balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative approaches by integrating a variety of examples from recent and classic sociological research. The text challenges students to debate and discuss the strengths and weaknesses of both approaches.
Introduction to Social Work (Gladden et al.)This book was written by MSW students as their final project for their Capstone class. Students were each assigned a chapter of the book to write to show that they had achieved competency as a Master’s level social worker. Chapters were assigned based on student interest and experience in certain areas of the field. The 2017 MSW class was excited to be able to contribute to the learning of their peers by writing this book! The book was written to the specifications of the SCWK 110 instructors at Ferris State University in the summer of 2017.
Demonstration Videos and Teaching Guide for Core Communication Skills in Social Work PracticeThis toolkit includes five videos demonstrating basic communication skills and a teaching guide for instructors. The videos are a series of short vignettes of counselling sessions between a social worker and a client. Four of the videos target one or two basic communication skills so students can learn the skills in manageable segments. The fifth video demonstrates how a counsellor would amalgamate all the skills in a counselling session. The teaching guide provides transcripts, discussion questions and exercises/role plays that instructors can use in both face-to-face and online teaching to enhance student learning of communication skills.
Sociology
Introduction to Sociology - 2nd Canadian EditionIntroduction to Sociology adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical introductory sociology course. In addition to comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories, we have incorporated section reviews with engaging questions, discussions that help students apply the sociological imagination, and features that draw learners into the discipline in meaningful ways. Although this text can be modified and reorganized to suit your needs, the standard version is organized so that topics are introduced conceptually, with relevant, everyday experiences.
Principles of Sociological Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative MethodsPrinciples of Sociological Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods emphasizes the relevance of research methods for the everyday lives of its readers, undergraduate students. Each chapter describes how research methodology is useful for students in the multiple roles they fill: (1) as consumers of popular and public information, (2) as citizens in a society where findings from social research shape laws, policies, and public life, and (3) as current and future employees. Connections to these roles are made throughout and directly within the main text of the book. Principles of Sociological Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods also provides balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative approaches by integrating a variety of examples from recent and classic sociological research. The text challenges students to debate and discuss the strengths and weaknesses of both approaches.
Human Security in World Affairs: Problems and Opportunities - 2nd EditionThis first and only university textbook of human security is intended as an introductory text from senior undergraduate level up and includes chapters by 24 authors,from BC, Canada, and around the globe, that encompass the full spectrum of disciplines contributing to the human security field. It is based on the four pillar model of socio-political security, economic security, environmental security and health security. The chapters include learning outcomes, extension activities,and suggested readings; a comprehensive glossary lists key terms used throughout the book. It can be used in courses on international studies and relations, political studies, history, human geography, anthropology and human ecology, futures studies, applied social studies, public health, and more.
UnRoman RomansUnRoman Romans is a reader on socially stigmatized groups in ancient Rome: actors athletes, dancers, sex workers, and sexual non-conformists. This reader was created as part of a class and uses student-scholars who contributed parts of the reader as a course assignment. It contains out of copyright and original translations of ancient texts, along with introductions, glossaries, images and other explanatory material. This book is intended for use in upper-level academic studies and contains a number of very disturbing passages.
Hookup Culture“Hookup” culture remains a common practice on college campuses yet remains a taboo topic for many to understand and/or discuss. This text is a collection of students’ reflections that bring “hookup” culture into the mainstream narrative and provides real-life experiences that inform, educate, and challenge the reader.
