MHA: Mental Health and Addictions

The 24-hour Vancouver Island Crisis Line is an Island Health contracted service.
Please see note if you are calling from outside of Canada. Includes text chat service.

Lists support services for people of all ages living with mental health and addiction challenges.

We are available to help all Indigenous people living in the southern Vancouver Island, or those accessing health services of the Vancouver Island Health Authority - South Island.

The mission of ICMH is to help individuals experiencing mental health challenges by promoting individual recovery through evidence-based programs, housing, community partnerships, client and family involvement

We offer free mental health and wellness services for Indigenous children, youth and their families. We strive to offer services that are respectful of your culture and traditions as well as respecting traditional healing.

The Victoria Youth Clinic Society (VYCS) is a not-for-profit organization, operator and lead agency for Foundry Victoria, that provides integrated and comprehensive primary health care services, including mental health and addiction care for youth aged 12 to 24 years.

The Mental Health Society of Greater Victoria provides accessible mental health services and resources in the community. We are an interdisciplinary team of volunteers that work collaboratively with various service providers and organizations to better support the diverse mental health needs of people in Greater Victoria, British Columbia.

The program has been created with the intention of building confidence and empowering the Aboriginal children, youth and families involved. While the program maintains a mental health focus, it also utilizes a holistic approach and embraces the teachings of the medicine wheel in addressing the mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual needs of children, youth and families.

Includes an expansive list of links for organizations and supports around mental health and substance abuse including criminal justice, children and youth, First Nations, and professional Colleges and Associations.

B.C.'s website on mental illness and addictions.

The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) is Canada's largest mental health teaching hospital and one of the world's leading research centres in its field. CAMH is fully affiliated with the University of Toronto and is a Pan American Health Organization/World Health Organization Collaborating Centre.

Provides national leadership to address substance use in Canada

Canadian, academic, not-for-profit research organization.

Presentation of data on this site provides you with the ability to compare provincial data from across the country as well as filter by theme including Mental Health.

The Downtown Eastside Research Access Portal (DTES RAP) provides access to research and research-related materials relevant to Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside (DTES.), including scholarly articles and research summaries, reports, historical documents, and more. The DTES RAP is led by the Making Research Accessible initiative (MRAi),

A world renown source on depression and co-occuring disorders.

Scientific information. Publications include therapy manuals.

An extensive list of BC government publications on a variety of topics including specific mental health disorders, family and community supports, specific demographics (Indigenous, LGBTQ) and treatment guidelines and fact sheets.

These interprofessional guidelines were created in collaboration by the Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada, Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing, Canadian Association for Social Work Education. Published 2020

The objective of this guideline is to provide recommendations, supported by current and rigorously reviewed evidence, for the full spectrum of medical and psychosocial interventions available to treat patients with opioid
use disorder.

We care for people with the most complex and severe mental health and substance use problems in British Columbia — many of whom have a concurrent disorder, or a co-occurring mental illness and addiction. We advocate for a whole-person treatment approach.

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) is Canada's largest mental health teaching hospital and one of the world's leading research centres in its field. CAMH is fully affiliated with the University of Toronto and is a Pan American Health Organization/World Health Organization Collaborating Centre. This site includes useful resources for professionals, information on concurrent disorders and bibliographies and guides.

CASP is a pan-Canadian organization that provides advocacy, communication and education on suicide prevention and life promotion through providing resources, guidance and information.

Centre for Suicide Prevention is an education centre, a centre of excellence, based in Calgary, Alberta and a branch of the Canadian Mental Health Association.

he B.C. Government provides British Columbians with free information and resources to support informed choices and healthy behaviours with respect to gambling participation. Free treatment and support services are also available for anyone struggling with their own or a loved one’s gambling.

Definitions and descriptions of types of eating disorders.

Definitions and descriptions of types of eating disorders

Eating disorders prevention and awareness