Visions: BC's Mental Health and Addictions Journal
General Rules
When searching a phrase put it in quotes e.g. "psychosocial rehabilitation"
Academic Search Complete
Keyword:
* psychosocial rehabilitation
* "strengths based" or "strengths model"
(Use the whole statement so you find either phrase)
Subject Terms:
* dual diagnosis
* comorbidity
* recovery movement
* addictions
More specific terms:
*substance abuse
*alcoholism
*drug abuse
*mental illness
*mental health
PsycINFO
Subject Terms:
* dual diagnosis
* comorbidity
* psychosocial rehabilitation
* addiction
More specific terms:
*alcoholism
*drug addiction
*mental disorders
*mental health
*community mental health
*recovery (disorders)
Keyword search:
"strengths based" or "strengths model"
(Use the whole statement so you find either phrase)
Access from Home
If prompted, login with your student C# and password (same as the one used for D2L login) to access library resources including databases and eBooks from home.
Considered the major psychology database, APA PsycInfo is a resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Comprehensive medical index. Finds different fulltext than Medline via OVID.
CINAHL Ultimate provides more than 1,300 full text journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments. Includes Canadian and international full-text non-open access journals
All social science topics (anthropology, sociology, political science, psychology, criminology articles); mainly journals, some magazines.
Useful for alternative and complementary therapies. Includes journals and magazines.
CBCA Complete includes scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, book reviews, newspapers and magazines.
Publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, etc. Part of the Canada Commons collection.
Peer-reviewed articles, sometimes called scholarly or academic articles, are written by academics and reviewed by other experts in their field before being published. Watch the following video and complete the self assessment quiz to learn more about the peer review process.
Many databases allow you to
limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. For example, when searching Single Search, the main search tool of the library, filter your search results to peer reviewed articles by checking the box on the left-hand column.
Other terms for peer-reviewed articles include:
You can order any articles that are not available online through the library's free interlibrary loan service.
Journal articles usually arrive in 3-5 days. Visit our Borrowing from Other Libraries page for more information.
