Assignment source criteria
Students in HIST 116 will be submitting both a movie review and a research paper assignment. The resources below are designed to help you locate the films, primary sources, and secondary sources, needed for your assignments. For the full guidelines for the HIST 116 movie review and research paper assignments, refer to the detailed instructions available on the HIST 116 D2L course site.
Once you have selected the topic for your assignments, keep the following in mind:
Films at the Camosun Library and beyond
Camosun library subscribes to a number of databases containing streaming media. In addition, films in DVD format can be found through the library's Single Search and catalogue search tools.
Streaming video database of popular and classic feature films and documentaries. Films available in multiple languages. Includes Disney, Pixar, MGM, Universal, Sony, and more. Over 700 titles included.
ACF does not currently support playback on iOS devices including iPhones and iPads
Streaming video database of popular, classic and documentary films in a variety of categories including Canadian Films, Indigenous Studies, Literary Adaptations and Black History. Includes Paramount Pictures, DreamWorks, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance, Miramax, Warner Brothers, and more. Over 5,500 titles included.
Streaming video collection of the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) including short and feature-length films by Indigenous filmmakers produced from 1968 to this year. Features playlists and filmmaker biographies. Over 400 titles.
Includes films that are freely available on the NFB site, plus exclusive access to over 500 films in the education collection, teaching guides, interactive projects and other resources. On campus viewing does not require an account. To access the education collection, you must create an account and follow the instructions. To create playlists and chapters of films, see the Quick Start Guide.
Additional sources of films
There are a variety of free and paid video resources available beyond the Camosun Library. These are just a few.
Open access primary source newspapers
Accessing primary source newspapers at UVic Libraries
Academic resources at the Camosun Library
Camosun library subscribes to a number of databases containing collections of scholarly articles, book chapters, and other resources related to history topics. Use the databases below to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles and book chapters.
All topics, academic focus, some Canadian content.
An archive of over 200 academic journals in the fields of Arts and Humanities. Often this is the only place to find these journals. Quality resource for historical research. Includes ARTstor content as of July 2024.
To cast your research net wider, start by using the Single Search search tool. Use the advanced search option to add and experiment with keywords. Refine your search using the publication date, source type, and subject tools located on the left hand side of your search results.
