This digital archive contains the original correspondence between the British Colonial Office and the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia covering the period from 1846 to 1871.
Website is principally about the history of Vancouver Island in British Columbia, but it is also a vehicle for exploring the larger field of Canadian history during the late 19th and early part of the 20th centuries.
The BC Archives is the archives of the Government of British Columbia, and provides research access to records of enduring value to the province for both the provincial government and public researchers.
The City of Victoria Archives is a valuable resource for researchers, students, and anyone who wishes to find out more about the rich history of our city.
This site is a fully searchable digitized collection of 144,000 contemporary newspaper clippings that report on the events of the Second World War as that great conflict unfolded.
Free online access to 126 years of B.C.’s oldest and most respected newspapers: the Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), the Times-Colonist (1884-2010) and The Province (1894-2010).
A collection assembled by UBC Library's Rare Books and Special Collections from various donors beginning in the 1970s. While the JCPC documents a wide range of the experiences of Canadians of Japanese descent in British Columbia, the resource is particularly strong in chronicling their treatment during World War II.
The Louis Riel Collection consists of letters, papers, notebooks, and a single glass plate negative. For well over a century, this cache of original materials was in the safe keeping of descendants of Louis Riel’s immediate family members. Transcribed and translated by Joëlle Y. Sevigny.
Peel's Prairie Provinces assists scholars, students, and researchers explore western Canadian history and the culture of the Canadian prairies. The website contains a searchable full-text collection of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies, as well as a bibliography of many more items.
The Multicultural Canada digitization project grew from the conviction that the cultural groups that make up our country have little-known stories that need to be researched and told. Through newspapers, interviews, photographs, print and material culture, people tell us who they are.
HIghlights the many projects, research, and databases undertaken by the University of the Fraser Valley South Asian Studies Institute and its partnerships.
Includes major reference works: Encylopedia of BC, Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest, Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names & Where the Mountains Meet the Sea: A History of Coastal BC.To see a full title list Searching KnowBC
The BCHF encourages interest in the history of British Columbia through research, presentation, and support. Access to the Federation's publications is available from this website.
The directories may be used to track the history of communities and individual homes, and research the history of companies and institutions. Advertisements and illustrations also provide insight into prevailing social norms, fashions and attitudes.
Read stories and view photographs of the earliest generations of Chinese-Canadians, from 1850-1950. This website will also link you to the digitized holdings of the Wallace B. Chung and Madeline H. Chung Collection at the UBC Library, and the Yip family and Yip Sang Ltd. fonds at City of Vancouver Archives.
Scholarly research grappling with the history of the dispossession of Japanese Canadians. Personal narratives, primary resources, research findings, GIS mappings, activities, etc. are available.
The Simon Fraser University Library digitized collections include over 130 collections, with more than 1.3 million digitized newspapers, photographs, documents, sound recordings, and other objects.
