History resources at the Camosun Library

Welcome to the Camosun College Library History Guide. This guide provides links to a variety of resources for students conducting history-related research as well as course-specific mini-guides to help with your research assignments.

Where to find books, e-books, & scholarly articles

Use the tools on this page to start your search for books, e-books, and academic articles on history-related topics.

Single Search tool

A tool that searches the Camosun catalogue and majority of Camosun databases. Use the "advanced search" function to increase the complexity of your keyword search or to limit your results to print and electronic books. 

A-Z Database list: History

Tailor your search to humanities and history-specific databases by searching the A-Z Databases list. Access the list from the library homepage, clicking on the "Articles & databases" tab, and selecting the "Databases - search for articles, e-books, media" link. 

Once at the A-Z Databases list, you can search for databases by name alphabetically, or use the "filter by subjects" drop-down menu to search by discipline. Select from databases including JSTOR, Humanities Abstracts with Full Text, and Academic Search Complete.

E-books and more from Canada Commons

The Canada Commons collection provides content from Canada's scholarly and independent publishers as well as public policy papers from think tanks and government sources. It features a variety of e-resources by Indigenous authors and information on Indigenous topics.

Canada Commons collection content is not always represented using the library's Single Search tool. You can access Canada Commons using the links below, or using the A-Z database list to search for the latest holdings in this collection of Canadian e-resources.