Research guides: GEOG: Geography: B.C. geography

Articles & Databases

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA Complete) + Canadian Major Dailies (Combined search)
Cross search these two major Canadian sources to discover magazine, journal and newspaper articles. See also the individual links in Databases A-Z to search them individually.
Canada Commons
A collection of ebooks (most with multi-user simultaneous access) and public documents from Canadian scholarly and independent publishers.
If you have a question about gaining access to a specific title, please contact the library.
ScienceDirect

Journal articles from Elsevier in health & life sciences, physical sciences and social & behavioral sciences. To limit results to Camosun's subscribed content only, first conduct your search, then from the left column, limit to Subscribed journals
Single Search
Search for articles, books, DVDs and more in a single search. EBSCO's Discovery Service helps you find books and ebooks from the library catalogue, articles from many of the library's databases, as well as content from dozens of encyclopedias and other digital resources.

lək̓ʷəŋən and W̱SÁNEĆ Territories and beyond

Songhees Nation
Website of the Songhees Nation. Provides information about Songhees governance, community, services, news, and more.
Songhees Nation website – lək̓ʷəŋən Traditional Territory
Information about lək̓ʷəŋən Territory and the Signs of lək̓ʷəŋən site markers, which designate culturally significant sites to the Songhees and Esquimalt Nations.
W̱SÁNEĆ Leadership Council
W̱SÁNEĆ Leadership Council Society is a unified, legal governing body comprised of three W̱SÁNEĆ First Nations: Tsartlip, Tseycum, and Tsawout.
Malahat First Nation
Website of the Malahat Nation.
Pauquachin First Nation
As Pauquachin people, we seek to build a healthy, self-reliant and economically strong community where every family is learning from and honoring each other.
Tsawout First Nation
The Tsawout First Nation is one of five bands that constitute the Saanich Nation.
Tsartlip First Nation
Tsartlip First Nation is one of five communities that constitute the W̱SÁNEĆ Nation.
Tseycum First Nation
Tseycum (Union Bay Indian Reserve No.4) is one of the four Saanich villages of Southern Vancouver Island, we are at the centre of Patricia Bay on the Saanich Peninsula. In the Sencoten langauge Tseycum is spelled Wsikem and means Land of Clay.
Naut'sa mawt Tribal Council
Naut’sa mawt Tribal Council (NmTC) supports its eleven Coast Salish member Nations in their efforts towards self-reliance, self-governance, connection to culture, and quality of life, now and for future generations.
T'Sou-ke First Nation
Website of the T'Sou-ke First Nation.
Union of BC Chiefs (UBCIC)
The Union of British Columbian Indian Chiefs is the go-to resource on Indigenous issues in BC. This includes latest news and press releases, online resources, plus our 4th floor private library collection.

ebooks

Coasts under Stress by Rosemary E. Ommer.
Call Number: Online (unlimited users)

A unique interdisciplinary analysis of the social and environmental forces affecting local communities on Canada's east and west coasts.
The Land of Heart's Delight (print + online) by Michael Layland
Call Number: GA 475 B7 L39 2013 + Online

With 130 maps, dating between 1593 and 1915, this cartographic history tells the story of how Vancouver Island and the surrounding area came to be mapped.
Chasing Clayoquot (2010) by David Pitt-Brooke; Robert F. Kennedy (Foreword by)
Call Number: Online

First published in 2004, and now with a new introduction by the author and a foreword by Robert F. Kennedy Jr., this book of natural history, environmentalism, and politics explores one of the Earth's last primeval places: Clayoquot Sound.

Books

British Columbia by Derek Hayes (2012)
Call Number: G 1171 S1 H39 2012 (LAN)

Publication Date: 2012

A colourful and wide-ranging history of Canada's most western province illustrated with over nine hundred contemporary maps.
Landscapes and Social Transformations on the Northwest Coast by Jeff Oliver (2010)
Call Number: FC 3845 F73 O45 2010 (LAN)

The Fraser Valley in British Columbia has been viewed historically as a typical setting of Indigenous-white interaction. Oliver reexamines the social history of this region from pre-contact to the violent upheavals of nineteenth and early twentieth century colonialism.
Geography of British Columbia by Brett McGillivray (2000)
Call Number: FC 3811 M33 2000 (LAN)

Focuses first on the combination of physical processes that produced a spectacular variety of mountains, rivers,lakes, islands, fjords, forests, and minerals. A concise examination of B.C. historical geography follows. The second half of the book contains a detailed description of the economic geography of the province.