Skip to main content

Media sources at Camosun Library: Films & Streaming media

Camosun Libraries have hundreds of DVD's that you can borrow and streaming database subscriptions to give you access to thousands of documentaries, movies, and instructional films. Most of this content cannot be found by searching the library catalog or Single search. Links to open content from select websites are also listed below.

National Film Board of Canada Education (subscription)

Videatives

Ed.Flicks Exchange Training Videos on Demand

Digital Films

Some independent film-makers may offer a Digital purchase of their film if it is only used in a login protected LMS.

If this is the case the purchase should still be handled by the library to make sure other instructors and students have access to the film.

Camosun Library has purchased 2 documentaries as digital files, listed below, to add these to your D2L course contact Media Librarian Ally Flynn

Freightened: The True Cost of Shipping (Trailer)

Us & Them (Blog post with preview)

Audio Cine Films ACF

Streaming access to over 700 popular and classic feature films and informational media. with Educational Public Performance Rights included.

  1. Instructors can show films in class or link to them in D2L
  2. Students can watch at home with your Camosun Log-in
  3. Films are available in multiple languages
  4. New films are added often
  5. ACF media cannot be used for public events including free outdoor shows

Audio Cine Films Streaming service logo

Please contact Ally Flynn, Media Librarian with any questions. 

NOTE: Chrome is the recommended browser for viewing; Adobe Flash must be installed, and Swank Media Player is required for viewing on mobile devices (free through app store).

For more information please read these instructions:

Curio.ca

 

You have several options to locate or link to videos in this collection. You can:

1. Go directly to the Curio.ca site to search for content by CBC show, collections or channels.

2. By Subject categories: Arts, Health, Math, science & technology, Business, etc.

3.By the 'News in Review series' for the classroom. Curio selects the top 4 news stories and crafts a 15-minute documentary for each -- drawing on news reports from recent months.

We recommend that you link to a Curio.ca video in D2L. You can also create video playlists by registering using the Camosun Access Code HJUV-MBFZ.  See PDF handout below for instructions.

Kanopy

Our subscription to Kanopy includes an array of feature films, documentaries, and other instructional content. The option to purchase 1-year subscription access to additional media is also available.  'Free' content changes without warning

Please contact Ally Flynn, Media Librarian with any questions or to submit a request for purchase. 

Please note requests for additional media are:

  • limited due to budget constraints,
  • must be for instructional purchases (e.g., assigned course content)

Sport Medicine and Exercise Science in Video

Collection of streaming videos on fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.

Persistent links

Persistent links (also called permalinks, stable URLs, or document URLs) point to specific articles, journals, ebooks, or searches within library research databases. They allow authorized users to access licensed resources on or off campus. Persistent links can be used within teaching materials, SharePoint, D2L, email or reference lists. Open Access articles do NOT require the proxy prefix.

 

Camosun proxy prefix

Persistent links to Camosun's licensed e-resources should start with the following string of characters:

https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=

NOTE: Not all databases provide persistent links in the correct format. Be sure to TEST permalinks on and off campus before sharing them!  Please contact library staff or the Systems & Discovery Librarian if you have questions.

If you have questions regarding Copyright and Media please see the Copyright Guide.

Films Media Group

         Films on Demand

A small streaming collection of films on the English Language, Autism & Inclusion purchased by Camosun Library.  

Credo Reference

 

Credo reference logo

 

Links to a page of subject specific background information sources (reference ebooks) that contain video on diverse topics and areas of study.

The Earth Revealed series

This series that has long been popular with Geology, Geography, and Engineering faculty is available online; Please bookmark the page linked here.

The "Ice" video is only available from a non-legitimate source, Daily Motion, you may want to check with our copyright expert, Young Joo, before using it in class.

Free Public Domain media

MIT Global Shakespeares

MIT GLOBAL SHAKESPEARES

A collaborative project providing online access to performances  of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays  and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.

Prelinger Archives

Hosted by the Library of Congress (USA): Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division: over 60,000 "ephemeral" films, 5,000 digitized titles, home movies, amateur & industrial films. Preligner Archives public domain streaming films are free to download, mashup, and reuse.