Research guides: PN: Practical Nursing: Finding Background Information

Finding background information

eBook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO collection featuring 550 selected, quality materials that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Written for students and professionals in the field. Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.
Merck Manual of Medical Information (Professional Version)
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated.

Statistics Canada - Health Reports
peer-reviewed journal of population health and health services research. It is designed for a broad audience that includes health professionals, researchers, policymakers, and the general public. The journal publishes articles of wide interest that contain original and timely analyses of national or provincial/territorial surveys or administrative databases. New articles are published electronically each month.
Credo Online : Health & Medicine
Searches nearly 200 Health & Medicine related online reference books, including the Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, Black's Medical Dictionary, SAGE Key Concepts in Nursing, Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, & Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications.

Nursing Leadership : A Concise Encyclopedia
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence.