Research guides: NURS 111: Discipline of Nursing: Nursing Theory Resources

Strategies for finding theories

Strategies for finding Theories:

1. Find a book on nursing theory in the library and review the chapter titles. Such as:

2.Go to CINAHL

CINAHL Ultimate (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL Ultimate provides more than 1,300 full text journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments. Includes Canadian and international full-text non-open access journals

Choose CINAHL Headings from the tabs below the search boxes.

Routledge Handbook on the Global History of Nursing NIP
Call Number: RT 31 R68 2016 (Interurban)
This collection explores new directions, methodologies, and the profound impact of nursing on society worldwide.
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice
Noted nursing scholars explore the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today.
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists a Creative Beginning by Kathleen Sitzman; Lisa Wright Eichelberger
Call Number: RT 84.5 S53 2017 (Interurban)
Understanding the Work of Nursing Theorists, presents the difficult concepts of nursing theory through the use of art.

Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research
Updated and revised dictionary presents up-to-the-minute definitions and discussions of terms commonly encountered in nursing literature
Middle Range Theory for Nursing
A vital resource for nursing education, it introduces two new theories, revises existing content, and provides clear guidance on theory application.
Pioneering Theories in Nursing
Pioneering Theories in Nursing traces the origins of nursing theories through their founders. Unlike other nursing theory texts, this book provides the personal story on some of the greatest nursing leaders, clinicians and theorists to date so th...
Nursing Theories : Conceptual and Philosophical Foundations
Call Number: RT 84.5 N8795 2006 (Interurban)
Delves into the conceptual and philosophical contexts, offering insight into international perspectives. Ideal for advanced nursing students, educators, and theory enthusiasts