Library Databases are organized collections of articles, ebooks, and other digital resources. Databases allow you to search through hundreds of publications at the same time using key words based on your topic.
Why use library databases?
1. All articles have been edited and reviewed.
2. Everything is acceptable for your research at Camosun.
3. Faster searching AND results may be more trustworthy than some information found on the open Internet.
4. Articles are free unlike many scholarly resources found on the Internet. Never pay for articles—come to the library and ask for help.
All topics, academic focus, some Canadian content.
Useful for alternative and complementary therapies. Includes journals and magazines.
Biomedicine, health sciences, health care and pre-clinical sciences. Limiting to fulltext in Medline(EBSCO) will also locate these journal articles.
Cross search these two major Canadian sources to discover magazine, journal and newspaper articles. See also the individual links in Databases A-Z to search them individually.
CINAHL Ultimate provides more than 1,300 full text journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments. Includes Canadian and international full-text non-open access journals
Covers many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health; meant for the general public.
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine. In addition to MEDLINE articles, you have access to PubMed Central papers (full text articles deposited to promote open access), articles that are “in process” i.e., prior to being indexed with MeSH terms, and articles submitted by publishers, “ahead of print.”
Journal articles from Elsevier in health & life sciences, physical sciences and social & behavioral sciences. To limit results to Camosun's subscribed content only, first conduct your search, then from the left column, limit to Subscribed journals
Cognition
Metacognition
Metaparadigm
Discipline
Positivist research
Post positivist research
Evidence-Informed Practice
Profession Informatics
Qualitative or Quantitative Research Inquiry
Research Knowledge
Knowledge exchange
Research Methodology
Knowledge synthesis
Theories
Knowledge translation
