Research guides: BIOL 228: Ecology: Home

Ecology research tips

Search tips

Go beyond Google. Use library databases, advanced search strategies
Start early! More time = more options.
Be persistent. Don't just choose the first article or website in your result list.
- try different keyword or subject combinations
- consider multiple perspectives
Keep track of your sources. Avoid plagiarism by citing your sources.
Ask for help. Librarians are information experts, available to guide you.

"Cedar Hill Camas" by gbryan is licensed under
CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 Creative Commons License

Getting started

Before deciding on a topic, you may want to do some preliminary searching, or "pre-search".

Read your textbook or other reference sources to define unfamiliar terminology.
Scan newspaper articles for recent developments.
Make note of related concepts and keywords that come up in Wikipedia or Google searches.

Pre-research (2:26)
This video will introduce you to the purpose of research and present strategies to successfully begin your research journey.

Featured resources: Ecology

BIOL 228 Textbook

There is 1 copy of the BIOL 228 course textbook on Reserve in the Library. Course Reserves are available for short-term loans, with no holds or renewals:

Ecology, 5th ed. (2020) by William D. Bowman; Sally D. Hacker
Call Number: BIOL 228 (Course reserves)
Ecology is an easy-to-read and well-organized text for instructors and students to explore the basics of the field.

Reference sources

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources are great for getting background information about your topic. Although they are not considered scholarly sources, the reference sources provided by the library are trustworthy and reliable. They provide basic facts or information such as:

definitions
major dates
key contributors
suggested readings

Some general reference sources include:

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
A collection of science and technology encyclopedias and dictionaries. Includes an image & multimedia gallery.
Credo Online Reference This link opens in a new window
A good general reference source that covers a wide variety of subjects. U.S. focused. Many articles include short videos and images.
KnowBC This link opens in a new window
Includes major reference works: Encylopedia of BC, Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest, Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names & Where the Mountains Meet the Sea: A History of Coastal BC.To see a full title list Searching KnowBC

New to the library

Effective Conservation by Ignacio Jiménez
Call Number: QH 75 J5613 2022
This highly readable manual, newly translated into English after successful Spanish and Portuguese editions, provides a groundbreaking and time-proven formula for successful conservation projects around the world that bring together parks, people, and nature.
The Heartbeat of Trees by Peter Wohlleben; Jane Billinghurst (Translator)
Call Number: QK 475 W57 2021 Interurban
In an era of cell phone addiction, climate change, and urban life, many of us fear we've lost our connection to nature--but Peter Wohlleben is convinced that age-old ties linking humans to the forest remain alive and intact.
Elderflora by Jared Farmer
Call Number: QK 477 F37 2022 Lansdowne
The epic story of the planet's oldest trees and the making of the modern world. Taking us from Lebanon to New Zealand to California, Farmer surveys the complex history of the world's oldest trees, including voices of Indigenous peoples, religious figures, and contemporary scientists who study elderflora in crisis. In a changing climate, a long future is still possible, Farmer shows, but only if we give care to young things that might grow old.
Held by the Land by Leigh Joseph
Call Number: QK 98.5 N57 J67 2023 Lansdowne
The beautifully illustrated Held by the Land guides you through the traditional uses and properties of a selection of indigenous plants.

BIOL 228: Ecology

Related guides

Want to learn more? Refer to these related library guides:

Territorial Acknowledgment

Bookmark

Subject Librarian