Research guides: CFCS: Community, Family and Child Studies: Home

This guide supports students and faculty of the CFCS program and contains information and links to resources related to community, family and child studies including article databases, ebooks, websites, citation help and more.

Some of the online resources included in this guide are licensed for use by students and employees of Camosun College and may require you to log in with your student or employee number.

See the other subject guides listed below for additional related content:

Camosun Single Search

Online encyclopedias

Monique Gray Smith

Best bets

The following databases provide a variety of resource types including academic and magazine articles, newspapers and public documents on a variety of topics related to community, family and child studies.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
All topics, academic focus, some Canadian content.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA Complete) This link opens in a new window
CBCA Complete includes scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Considered the major psychology database, APA PsycInfo is a resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The largest education journal and curriculum database.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Contains citations and some full text for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of Canada and the United States.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
All social science topics (anthropology, sociology, political science, psychology, criminology articles); mainly journals, some magazines.
Canada Commons Documents collection This link opens in a new window
Publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, etc. Part of the Canadian Electronic Library, hosted on Canada Commons platform.

Social justice glossary

ABC's of Social Justice
A glossary of working language for socially conscious conversation. Created by the Department of Inclusion & Multicultural Engagement. * This is not intended to be a comprehensive glossary of all the language used in conversations regarding social justice, diversity, and allyship. In every context, the meaning of these words may change and evolve.
--Lewis & Clark College

Remote access

The off campus login for library resources is the same as your Camosun domain account login (also used for D2L).

You can reset your Camosun domain password at https://password.camosun.ca.

For other problems accessing library resources off campus, please submit a trouble report.

Logging in to library databases
Shows how to log in to Camosun Library databases from the Databases A-Z page.