Donations

Camosun College Library accepts donations of books that will enhance the collection and support the college's learning, teaching and research needs.

The acceptance, acknowledgement and disposal of donations is subject to the following guidelines:

1. It is the responsibility of the donor to deliver items to the library, and pick up any items not accepted. Donors are asked to contact the library in advance of delivering any materials. For donations of more than 10 books, the donor must provide a title list (with edition and publication date information) for review.
2. Donations must enhance the library collection and support the college's learning, teaching and research needs. Gifts must be in excellent physical condition and align with selection criteria.
3. Donations are reviewed by a librarian who will determine whether the item will be added to the collection or not.
4. The library will dispose of donated books not accepted for the collection, unless the donor specifically requests return of the item(s)
5. Donations approved for the collection will be catalogued, classified and processed based on established procedures. 
6. Once a gift is accepted, the item becomes the property of the library. The library determines how long the item is retained.

A donor may choose to request a tax receipt for items the library adds to the collection.

Donors must indicate their desire for a letter of acknowledgement, a tax receipt and/or gift plates at the time of donation by completing the Library gift in kind form below. 

Donors who choose not to complete the form give the library authority to accept or dispose of the items.

For tax receipts, books are evaluated by a librarian using standard in-print and out-of-print bibliographic sources to determine value. A purchase receipt issued within one year of donation may be provided as evidence of the gift's value.

In accordance with Canadian tax regulations, collections valued at more than $1,000 must be evaluated by an external appraiser. The cost of an external appraisal is borne by the donor.

Tax receipts are issued by the Camosun College Foundation.

Financial donations to support the purchase of collections are coordinated through the Camosun College Foundation.