Assessment: Examples from a range of disciplines

Psychomotor Domain

Sample Learning Outcome - Students will be able to…

Sample Assessment

Sample Instructional Activities/Learning Experiences

Manipulate

Safely operate a lathe.

Students practice in pairs until they are able to safely and skillfully operate lathe.

Instructor observes and provides corrective feedback as needed.

Instructor demonstrates setting up a lathe. Discuss safety considerations. Students practice in pairs.

Instructor demonstrates operating the lathe.

Each student practices under supervision of instructor.

Instructor provides handout with step-by-step diagrams.

Cognitive Process

Sample Learning Outcome - Students will be able to…

Sample Assessment

Sample Instructional Activities/Learning Experiences

Remember

Identify methods of producing electricity

Describe electrical quantities in circuits

True/False questions

• Lecture on methods of producing electricity
• Videos showing various methods of producing electricity
• In-class exercises/quizzes on electrical quantities in circuits

Understand

Describe structure of matter in relation to electric charge and current flow

Describe features of resistors and electrical meters

Matching items questions

Restricted response essay question

• Students write descriptions of resistors and electrical meters and peer assess using instructor-generated rubric

Apply

Effectively install cables, fixtures and fittings

Think-Pair-Share with a partner about how to organize the list

• Re-order procedure list quiz (students put a disordered procedure list into the correct order)
• Students assemble a complete electrical circuit

Analyze

Differentiate when to use grounding and when bonding following the Canadian Electrical Code

Write a report: explain the objectives of grounding and bonding

• Construct a graph illustrating the positioning of overcurrent devices and the current path in a fault condition
• Discuss with a partner how this relates to their electrical circuit

Evaluate

Validate the application of the Canadian Electrical Code in your circuit design

Make a list of the CEC rules you had to follow in your design

• In groups of three, students explain the purpose of each rule they had to follow

Create

Develop a guide for a similar installation

Design a flow chart showing each step of your new circuit installation.

• Class discussion on the application of CEC rules pertaining to the two installations
• Students share personal work experiences relating to similar installations

Affective Domain

Sample Learning Outcome - Students will be able to…

Sample Assessment

Sample Instructional Activities/Learning Experiences

Responding

Speak effectively in front of an audience and actively respond to others.

Students present their reading to small groups, and answer questions from peers.

Students participate in final report-out to the whole class of key themes.

Jigsaw: divide class into 4 groups and assign each group a different reading topic. Have each group summarize their topic. Mix the groups so that each student speaks to their reading and answers questions.

Groups determine common themes across readings, report back to class.

Cognitive Process

Sample Learning Outcome - Students will be able to…

Sample Assessment

Sample Instructional Activities/Learning Experiences

Evaluate, apply

Present information and ideas orally using effective language in formal situations.

Student groups deliver presentations (including visuals) on topic of their choice.

- Instructor shares assessment criteria (rubric) with students and provides ongoing feedback

- Instructor and students review key terms, elements, and stages of formal presentations

- Instructor and students co-create peer feedback task

- Students work individually and in pairs to prepare presentations, including visuals

- Students work in small groups to practice presenting information on topic of their choice

- Students peer-assess presentations

Cognitive Process

Sample Learning Outcome - Students will be able to…

Sample Assessment

Sample Instructional Activities/Learning Experiences

Remember

Recall marketing theories and models

Students write questions based on their notes and mind-maps to quiz each other and themselves

• Instructor provides overview of marketing theories and models via case studies
• Students take notes and create mind-maps

Understand

Explain the stages in the marketing process

Jigsaw activity: working in groups, students share information about each stage in the marketing process with each other in order to complete a graphic outlining the stages.

• Instructor presents a broad overview of the stages in the marketing process. Students are given information on the different stages in the form of handouts.

Apply

Design holistic sustainability marketing programs.

Students complete reflections around their own sustainability concerns and the readings. Students are given a choice re type of reflection (e.g., written, video, audio, or image).

Students complete a case study.

• Instructor reviews the concepts of sustainability as it impacts marketing
• Instructor provides case studies  around sustainable decisions in business
• Students and instructor discuss sustainable decisions and the impact on business
• Students practice analyzing cases in small groups

Analyze

Analyze marketplace trends and changes to determine how they may be impacting the current sales environment.

Students debate different predictions on the impact of social media on the retail industry.

• Students analyze a series of case studies illustrating the potential effect of social media on different areas of the retail industry
• Students discuss the case studies in small groups and form arguments for and against the predicted outcomes

Evaluate

Assess how media in Canada operates and specify the different requirements of electronic, internet and print media including focus, timelines and audiences

Student presentations on requirements of different media

• Case studies, lectures, video interviews
• Students work in small groups to research and compare buying behaviour of different businesses

• Students work in small groups to research the specific requirements of electronic, internet, and print media
• Student groups create a poster display comparing the requirements of different types of media
• Instructor presents an overview of how the media in Canada operates

Create

Participate actively in and contribute to a team project

Create an effective marketing plan

Student groups create a marketing plan including: a team charter, SWOT, target market and marketing mix.

• Instructor provides Charter, SWOT, Target and Mix template and example before each deliverable due date
• Instructor reviews the key terms and meaning behind the elements of each project item
• Librarian presents key research terms
• Students work in their small teams in labs
• Instructor provides written feedback for each submission
• Instructor meets with each team twice per term
• Students complete peer and self-assessment

Cognitive Domain

Sample Learning Outcome – Students will be able to…

Sample Assessment

Sample Instructional Activities/ Learning Experiences

Apply

Demonstrate competency with mathematical drug calculations related to medication administration in peri-operative patients.

Drug calculations test.

Instructor reviews content on drug calculations.

Instructor demonstrates several examples with input from the class. 

Students practice drug calculations using worksheets.  Compare answers with a peer.

Analyze

Evaluate lab values related to the perioperative client.

Exam questions to assess knowledge and ability to apply this to more complex scenarios.

Instructor teaches typical lab values for perioperative clients.

Students work through scenarios to identify abnormal lab values.

Comprehend

Identify potential complications and treatments related to general, spinal, regional and local anaesthesia.

Exam questions.

Think, pair, share common complications.

Synthesis

Generate a postoperative care plan based on preoperative assessments.

Exam questions – case study format.

Instructor presents theory on post-op care plans.

Students work in small groups to develop a care plan based on a case scenario.

Instructor provides feedback to each group.

Psychomotor Domain

Sample Learning Outcome – Students will be able to…

Sample Assessment

Sample Instructional Activities/ Learning Experiences

Demonstrate

Demonstrate the nursing management of a perioperative client, with considerations to client diversity and cultural safety.

Instructor observes practice and provides feedback.

At end of course, students participate in Integrated Lab Assessments where instructors assess student’s ability to integrate their learning during a case scenario.

Instructor reviews the theory behind the skills.

Instructor demonstrates the skills.

Students practice in pairs using a variety of case scenarios.

Demonstrate

Demonstrate the nursing management of a client returning from the post-anaesthetic care unit (PACU) including principles of medication administration.

Demonstrate

Demonstrate postoperative client teaching.

Cognitive Process

Sample Learning Outcome - Students will be able to…

Sample Assessment

Sample Instructional Activities/Learning Experiences

Evaluate, apply

Determine appropriate stress methodology to address a research question.

- Lab report: requires students to reflect on specific elements of their “experiment”, including a comparison to the methods used by other groups.

- Groups informally report on their experience to the class.

-Lecture: instructor outlines basic principles of stress methodology

-Group work: groups discuss pros and cons of experimental stressors

-Stress lab: instructor divides class into groups with a “participant” and “experimenters”.  Using methods discussed in class, experimenters expose participant to a stressor (e.g., scary video), and group monitors and records physiological and psychological responses.

Understand

Explain the opponent process theory of colour vision when asked.

-iClicker quiz questions: Every 3-5 slides, class must respond in real time to short multiple-choice questions posed by instructor.

-Video: introduces the topic, outlines the key issue, and outlines historical perspectives

-Lecture: Instructor highlights key details, contrasts with competing theories (e.g., trichromatic theory), and situates topic in larger context (Vision).

-Demonstration: Instructor demonstrates opponent process illusion effect using an image with opponent colours.