Research guides: NURS 110: The Profession of Nursing: Background Information

Finding background information

Nursing reference sources

Use these reference sources to look up background information on a condition, drug, or other topics:

eBook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO collection featuring 550 selected, quality materials that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Written for students and professionals in the field. Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.

Health Reports - from Statistics Canada
Health Reports, published by the Health Analysis Division of Statistics Canada, is a peer-reviewed journal of population health and health services research. It is designed for a broad audience that includes health professionals, researchers, policymakers, and the general public. The journal publishes articles of wide interest that contain original and timely analyses of national or provincial/territorial surveys or administrative databases. New articles are published electronically each month.

Recommended Research Guides

More background information can be found on Disease, dosage, statistics & more

Nursing Leadership : A Concise Encyclopedia
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence.
Merck Manual of Medical Information (Professional Version)
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated.
A Dictionary of Nursing
Offers over 10,500 entries covering nursing theory, practice, and key vocabulary aligned with the 2018 NMC Standards of Proficiency.