Library Databases are organized collections of articles, ebooks, and other digital resources. Databases allow you to search through hundreds of publications at the same time using key words based on your topic.
Why use library databases?
1. All articles have been edited and reviewed.
2. Everything is acceptable for your research at Camosun.
3. Faster searching AND results may be more trustworthy than some information found on the open Internet.
4. Articles are free unlike many scholarly resources found on the Internet. Never pay for articles—come to the library and ask for help.
Nursing & Health Databases to search...
CINAHL Ultimate provides more than 1,300 full text journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments. Includes Canadian and international full-text non-open access journals
Useful for alternative and complementary therapies. Includes journals and magazines.
Scholarly journals in nursing & allied health.
Access to over 60 journal titles specific to the subject of nursing and public health. To find journal articles, search within individual subject titles or use "Advanced Search" and select "Only content I have full access to."
General information databases
All topics, academic focus, some Canadian content.
A full-text reference database of popular magazines and ebooks covering many subjects, including history, science and health. Articles are assigned a Lexile reading level indicator.
Canadian databases to search...
Cross search these two major Canadian sources to discover magazine, journal and newspaper articles. See also the individual links in Databases A-Z to search them individually.
Evidence-based Nursing Nursing
Nursing History
Nursing Law and Legislation
Nursing Leadership
Nursing Methodology
Nursing models
Nursing Research
Nursing students
Nursing Theory
Philosophy Nursing
Family Nursing
Geriatric Nursing
Pediatric Nursing
Perioperative Nursing
Psychiatric Nursing
Cross-Cultural Comparison
Cultural Competency
Culturally Competent Care
If Camosun library does not have a specific article or book that you want, library staff can request it from another library.
Interlibrary loan service is provided to support research and study undertaken at Camosun and is available free to registered students, instructors and staff.
To place a request
