Research guides: Victims of Crime: Books, eBooks and film

Catalogue search

A library catalogue search looks for physical books, DVDs and some ebooks.
For a more comprehensive search that includes digital content such as articles, please use Single Search.

Finding Books and Videos

Keyword	Subject
Victims	Victims of Crime
Statistics for victims of crime	Victimization - statistics
Prevention of child abuse	Child abuse - Prevention
Violence in Canada	Violence - Canada
Help for victims	Victims - Services for

Ebook Collections

EBSCOhost academic ebooks
Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary titles; subjects covered include art, business & economics, literary criticism, technology & engineering.
Canada Commons Documents collection
Publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, etc. Part of the Canada Commons collection.

Mental Health eBooks subset in Canada Commons Document Collection

Books eBooks and audiovisual materials

Understanding Violence and Victimization by Robert J. Meadows
Call Number: HV 6250.25 M43 2019
ISBN: 9780134868257
Publication Date: 2019
Understanding Violence and Victimization explores the various forms of violence and their profound impact on victims across settings -- at home, in the community, or as a result of personal assault or abuse.
No Visible Bruises by Rachel Louise Snyder
Call Number: on order
ISBN: 9781635570977
Publication Date: 2019
"A seminal and breathtaking account of why home is the most dangerous place to be a woman " An award-winning journalist's intimate investigation of the true scope of domestic violence, revealing how the roots of America's most pressing social crises are buried in abuse that happens behind closed doors. Through the stories of victims, perpetrators, law enforcement, and reform movements from across the country, Snyder explores the real roots of private violence, its far-reaching consequences for society, and what it will take to truly address it.
Victimology : a Canadian perspective by Wemmers, Jo-Anne M. 1964-
Call Number: HV 6250.3 C2 W46 2017
Publication Date: 2017
"Victimology is a relatively new and emerging interdisciplinary area that crosses the fields of criminology, law, sociology, and justice studies. This book, written by one of the world's leading experts, is designed to offer a broad, interdisciplinary introduction to the subject. Unlike other texts that are organized around different types of victimology, this book is informed by a victim-centered approach that treats victims' rights as human rights.

I'm the Girl Who Was Raped by Michelle Hattingh
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9781771334457
Publication Date: 2017
That morning, Michelle presented her Psychology honours thesis on rape. It began: "A woman born in South Africa has a greater chance of being raped than learning how to read..." That evening, celebrating her degree, she and a friend go to the beach, where they are both robbed, assaulted and raped. Within minutes of getting help, Michelle realizes she'll never be herself again. She is now "the girl who was raped." This book is Michelle's fight to be herself again. Of the taint she feels, despite the support and resources at her disposal as the chilld of a succcessful middle-class family. Of the fall-out to friendships, job, identity. It's Michelle's brave way of standing up for the many women in South Africa, and around the world, who are raped every day.
Crime Victim Assistance Program counselling guidelines, by British Columbia Victim Services and Crime Prevention Division
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2018
The Psychology of Teen Violence and Victimization by Michele Antoinette Paludi
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780313393761
Publication Date: 2011
This compilation of original essays does more than just illuminate the serious problem of teen violence and victimization; it also provides resources that parents and teachers can use to address issues of violence with their teens and make a difference. * Contributions from 70 internationally renowned authors and advocates,.
Violent Victimization and Discrimination, by Religious Affiliation in Canada, 2014 by Ibrahim, Dyna.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2018
Canada's Criminal Justice System : Getting Fair Outcomes for Victims in Canada’s Criminal Justice System
ISBN: 9780660236919
Publication Date: 2017
The following document is one in the series of Getting fair outcomes for victims and survivors papers that present what was heard, along with research, best practices and options for change'--Context.

A deathly silence : black crime in Toronto. by Director: Alison Duke
Call Number: LANDSDOWNE HV 8290 D438 2003
ISBN: A deathly silence [videorecording] : black crime in Toronto.A deathly silence [videorecording] : black crime in Toronto.
Publication Date: 2003
Highway of tears by Loewen, David, et al.
Call Number: LANDSDOWNE HV 6535 C32 B745 2015
Publication Date: 2015
. In Canada, over 600 Aboriginal women have been reported missing or been murdered since the 1960s. Viewers will discover what the effects of generational poverty, residential schools, systemic violence, and high unemployment rates have done to First Nations reserves and how they tie in with the missing and murdered women in the Highway of Tears cases
The hunting ground by Dick, Kirby, and Amy Ziering.
Call Number: LANDSDOWNE LB 2345.3 R37 H86 2015
Publication Date: 2015
From Academy Award-nominated and Emmy Award-winning director Kirby Dick, and Academy Award-nominated and Emmy Award-winning producer Amy Ziering comes a startling expose of sexual assault on US campuses, their institutional cover-ups, and the devastating toll they take on students and their families. Weaving together cinema verite footage and first person testimonies, the film follows the lives of several undergraduate assault survivors as they attempt to pursue both their education and justice.

Curio.ca

Curio.ca
Streaming audio and video content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Provides access to thousands of programs and documentaries with English, French-language and Indigenous content.

You have several options to locate or link to videos in this collection. You can:

1. Go directly to the Curio.ca site to search for content by CBC show, collections or channels.

2. By Subject categories: Arts, Health, Math, science & technology, Business, etc.

3. By the 'News in Review series' for the classroom. Curio selects the top 4 news stories and crafts a 15-minute documentary for each -- drawing on news reports from recent months.

In addition to providing links to individual Curio titles in D2L, you can also create a Curio account and build a shareable playlist. If you have questions about how to do this, reach out to Will Meredith at meredithw@camosun.ca

Try CBC Gem if you cannot find what you are looking for on Curio!

National Film Board of Canada Education (subscription)

NFB Education
Includes films that are freely available on the NFB site, plus exclusive access to over 500 films in the education collection, teaching guides, interactive projects and other resources. On campus viewing does not require an account. To access the education collection, you must create an account and follow the instructions. To create playlists and chapters of films, see the Quick Start Guide.
To see a list of subscription films only: access Education from the home page. You can sign into your CAMPUS account from this page.

Directions for adding NFB Education videos to D2L sites This guide is designed for faculty wanting to embed NFB Education videos and playlists into D2L course sites.

NFB Campus User Guide

NFB Campus User Guide
For Faculty who want to create a Campus account to create playlists