Database Tips:

• CBCA and Canadian Major Dailies are the best databases for Canadian content. The Times Colonist is full text in Canadian Major Dailies
• Add “Canada” or “British Columbia” as a geographic search term when searching in Academic Search Complete or NCJRS
• Remember to try synonyms, plurals, similar concepts, narrower or broader terms e.g. juvenile delinquency, youth crime, young offenders, gangs, etc.

The following are the best databases for researching Criminal Justice topics:

• Academic Search Complete

  All topics, academic focus, some Canadian

• NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service

  Contains article summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources from the U.S. Dept. of Justice.
• PsycINFO

  Includes topics related to criminal justice. Search limiters for resources include "peer-review" and "empirical."
• Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA Complete)

  BCA Complete includes scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
• Canadian Major Dailies

  All topics; covers major daily Canadian newspapers including the Times-Colonist.
• Social Sciences Full Text

  All social science topics (anthropology, sociology, political science, psychology , criminology articles); mainly journals, some magazines.

Medline via EBSCO

Comprehensive medical index. Finds different full text than Medline via OVID.

Google Scholar

Search scholarly literature as a Camosun user. Use the "Find it at Camosun" link to access licensed full text. (Off campus users may need to adjust their "Library Links" under Google Scholar Settings.)