Research guides: ENGL 164: Indigenous Literature: Find Articles

Indigenous Newspapers and Media

Ha-Shilth-Sa Canada's oldest First Nation's Newspaper
Ha-Shilth-Sa newspaper digitized issues
First Nations Drum
Canada’s largest Aboriginal newspaper, reaching communities all across the country. Distributed to Native Bands, Friendship Centres, Tribal Councils, Schools, Colleges and Universities, Libraries, various aboriginal businesses and organizations from east to west.
Turtle Island News
NAtional weekly paper published at the Grand River Terrritory of the six Nations in southern Ontario.
The Nation
Cree and James Bay-related print content in northern Quebec and Ontario.
Anishinabek News
more...less...
Anishinabek Nation current affairs, culture, political objectives and accomplishments, published by the Union of Ontario Indians (UOI).
Wind-speaker Website/Current Issue
Wind-Speaker Archive

Camosun College Library Databases

For a comprehensive list of the electronic resources subscribed to by Camosun College Library see the Article Databases by Title & Type

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA Complete) This link opens in a new window
CBCA Complete includes scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.

Academic SearchComplete
All topics, academic focus, some Canadian
Best used for Indigenous authors in the United States.

Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
History, literature, philosophy articles.

MasterFILE Premier
Magazine articles, reference books, images, source documents.
Best used for Indigenous authors in the United States.

Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
All topics; covers major daily Canadian newspapers including the Times-Colonist.
iPortal - Indigenous Studies Portal research tool This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The "vision of the Indigenous Studies Portal is to provide one place to look to find resources for Indigenous studies". The focus is on electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc.

Search Tips

See the Indigenous Authors tab for lists of individual authors.

Subject Terms:

First Nations OR Native peoples AND writers
(finds articles about literature BY First Nations)
Native peoples AND literature
(finds articles about literature ABOUT First Nations people)
Indigenous people and literature or Indigenous peoples in literature
Search for an individual author e.g. Jeannette Armstrong
First Nations literature
Authors, Indigenous
oral tradition

Search Terminology:

If you're looking for information on a specific people, search for that group: Haida, Salish, Métis, etc.

Be careful about alternate spellings: for example, Nisga or Niska or Nisga'a. Find the most resources by searching for all the different spellings together using "or": Niska OR Nisga OR Nisga'a

Words that many Indigenous people consider outdated and offensive (like 'Indian) were inherited with Library of Congress Subject headings system which was created in the 1890's.

Libraries, Catalogers and Librarians across Canada and the USA are updating the terminology and language used to catalogue items created by and about First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples.

Indigenous Links

Indigenous Studies Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, etc. Topics covered include Indigenous authors, literature, oral traditions, languages, media and more.
Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance (IPAA)
Sense of Place Series: Indigenous Perspectives on Earth and Sky
This video/speaker series from Indigenous Education dot org. Learn about indigenous science education, with an emphasis on astronomy. USA based Native American created, The Indigenous Education Institute (IEI) was created for the preservation and contemporary application of ancient Indigenous traditional knowledge
BC BookWorld
"the wikipedia of B.C. literature"
History of Aboriginal Broadcasting in Canada
The People and the Text: Indigenous Writing in Northern North America to 1992
"The People and the Text" is an open-access bibliography of Indigenous texts. Secondary materials including a curated blog, author interviews, and related texts are featured.
Contemporary Indigenous Authorship
University of Washington Library research guide providing information about a variety of Indigenous authorship including contemporary writing, oral histories, author spotlights, and more.
Indigenous Theatre Resources
Links and more from the librarians at Alberta Theatre.

Interlibrary Loans (ILLs)

If Camosun library does not have a specific article or book that you want, library staff can request it from another library.

Interlibrary loan service is provided to support research and study undertaken at Camosun and is available free to registered students, instructors and staff.

To place a request:

article
book

NOTE: There is a limit of 10 ILL requests per student per semester. There are also cost limits for individual items requested should there be a fee attached. Please review our policy should you have any questions.