Nicole Kilburn's ANTH 290 (Anthropology of Death) class hosts a mock Egyptian Funeral at the Royal BC Museum. Image from Pathway to the Afterlife: An Interactive Event, November 2018.
If Camosun library does not have a specific article or book that you want, library staff can request it from another library.
Interlibrary loan service is provided to support research and study undertaken at Camosun and is available free to registered students, instructors and staff.
To place a request:
NOTE: There is a limit of 10 ILL requests per student per semester. There are also cost limits for individual items requested should there be a fee attached. Please review our policy should you have any questions.
Camosun library subscribes to a number of databases containing collections of scholarly articles, newspapers, magazines, and other resources related to anthropology and its sub-disciplines.
Use the databases below to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles.
Core Databases
All topics, academic focus, some Canadian content.
A digital archive of over 200 academic journals and primary sources in the fields of Arts and Humanities. Often this is the only place to find these journals. Quality resource for historical research. Includes images from ARTstor content as of July 2024.
All social science topics (anthropology, sociology, political science, psychology, criminology articles); mainly journals, some magazines.
Archaeology
Biological & medical anthropology
Considered the major psychology database, APA PsycInfo is a resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Covers biology, environment & biochemistry.
Cultural & linguistic anthropology
Journal coverage in the fields of communication, mass media studies, linguistics and film.
Indigenous
Covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Contains citations and some full text for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of Canada and the United States.
To find journals on your subject, search using the "Journals & Magazines" link on the "Articles & Databases" tab from the library home page, or use the publications link at the top of the page in your Single Search results.
Below is a sampling of online anthropology journals available at Camosun:
