Skip to Main Content
Library
Research guides
Library Research Guides
English Language Development
Online dictionaries & encyclopedias
Search this Guide
Search
English Language Development
This guide is intended for ELD students. The guide has resources and information for your courses.
Welcome to the English Language Development Guide
Types of resources
Online dictionaries & encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Bilingual dictionaries
Canadian encyclopedias
Find books, ebooks, audiobooks
Find articles (newspapers and magazines)
Suggested websites
Activities
Academic Integrity and Citation courses
Dictionaries
Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary Online
Webster's Word Power Essential English Words
Webster's Word Power English Dictionary
Canadian Oxford Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary
Bilingual dictionaries
Collins Chinese dictionary
Spanish English visual bilingual dictionary
Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary
French English Bilingual Dictionary
Kodansha's Furigana English-Japanese Dictionary
Barron's French-English Dictionary
Canadian encyclopedias
Canadian Encyclopedia
This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive and authoritative general reference work ever produced in Canada. It contains more than 20,000 articles.
KnowBC
This link opens in a new window
Includes major reference works:
Encylopedia of BC, Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest, Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names & Where the Mountains Meet the Sea: A History of Coastal BC.
To see a full title list
Searching KnowBC
<<
Previous:
Types of resources
Next:
Find books, ebooks, audiobooks >>
