Research guides: BUS 360: Global Business Strategies: Selected websites

Canadian websites

Global Affairs Canada
From the Government of Canada
Export Development Canada
Information for Canadian companies involved in the export of goods or services.
Canada's agri-food trade service
Includes market information, country profiles, industry overviews and many market research reports

The World Bank
This website focuses on recent and on-going research on international trade in the Bank - especially on developing nations.
World Bank Open Data
The ILO, WHO, and others also contribute data to this site.
World Trade Organization
The official website of the WTO includes news, legal documents, statistics, and information about the members of the organization.
UNiLibrary
Publications of the UN system from
50+ UN departments and agencies from around the world.
United Nations - Trade statistics
OECD Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Financial, economic and country data
Global Reporting Initiative
GRI is an international independent organization that "helps businesses, governments and other organizations understand and communicate their impacts on issues such as climate change, human rights and corruption".
International Monetary Fund
Country information. The reports, which contain charts, graphs, data tables, and statistics, can be viewed in a number of different languages and can be downloaded in PDF.

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business, marketing, economics, some Canadian content. Journals, magazines, some online books, company profiles, and market, industry and country reports. Includes over 100,000 videos on management, business and economics.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 22,000 sources. Find statistics, marketing information, digital markets, country reports and industry studies.

World Fact Book - from the U.S. CIA
Includes country economic and social profiles, country comparisons, and more.

International Business Etiquette, Manners & Culture.
You can research the cultures of 32 countries and six regions around the world.
The Culture Group - Hofstede Insights
A comparison tool that allows you to compare cultural values.
Centre for Intercultural Learning (Global Affairs Canada)
Request an electronic copy of one of their publications - will be sent to your email.
World Business Culture
This site covers Doing Business in select countries - but choose your pages wisely - after viewing 2-3 pages you will be prompted to pay for continued access.
Commisceo Global: Country and culture guides
A commercial site, but the country guides are freely available.

Doing Business - the World Bank (legacy site; discontinued in 2021)
Doing Business "provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level"
UHY International - Doing Business Guides
These "doing business" guides are created by a U.K.-based association of consulting and accounting firms called UHY International Ltd. Its member firms have offices in 78 countries.
United Nations Conference on Trade & Development
Has Foreign Direct Investment Statistics.
WTO | International trade and tariff data
Links to UN bodies dealing with international trade, including the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), UN Environment Programme, and International Trade Centre.
more...less...
Access to the WTO statistics database, annual International Trade Statistics editions, and other comprehensive tariff data.

UN Human Development Reports
Provides details on 4 main human development indices.
Coface: Country risk and economic research
Coface evaluates the credit risk of individual countries.
Freedom House index
Freedom House supports democratic change, monitors freedom, and advocates for democracy and human rights.
Economic Freedom of the World Project
Includes country and regional reports.
Transparency International - Corruption Perceptions Index
CPI ranks 180 countries by their perceived levels of corruption, as determined by expert assessments and opinion surveys.
Web index (from the World Wide Web Foundation)
"The choice of specific details within the 80-plus indicators (economic, political, social), in conjunction with the country profiles (web readiness, web use/content, impact), builds an understanding of the true interactivity of the web within each of the 86 countries". Data sources include Freedom House, World Bank & the CIA handbook.

World trade statistical review
From the WTO - latest developments in world trade, covering trends, patterns, and goods and services statistics.
World Trade Report
From the WTO

National statistical agencies - by region & country
Just as we have Statistics Canada, other nations have their own statistical agencies. Some websites will provide an English translation.

GlobalEDGE
From Michigan State U; a portal site to "a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities".Create a free account if you want access to the member only section.
Foreign and International Government Statistical Agencies
A list of international statistical agencies, arranged by country. From Purdue University.